Cork weirdo/sicko thread

Druggies scum

GardaĆ­ arrest man for alleged ā‚¬500,000 old age pension fraud spanning 33 years

Detectives believe suspect collecting fatherā€™s pension since he died in 1987

Barry Roche

GardaĆ­ in Cork have arrested a 57-year-old man for questioning about a ā‚¬500,000 old-age pension fraud after he continued collecting payments every week for both his deceased parents for about 30 years.

Department of Employment Affairs and Social Protection officials became suspicious when the man was asked to produce proof his father was alive in order to qualify for the Centenarianā€™s Bounty.

The Centenarianā€™s Bounty involves a 100-year-old receiving a payment of ā‚¬2,540 and congratulatory letter signed by President Michael D Higgins on their birthday once the department is satisfied about the veracity of the claim.

Post office

Detectives arrested the man from Corkā€™s northside just after 9am yesterday when he went to collect the pension payments for both his dead father and mother at the general post office on Oliver Plunkett Street in Cork city centre.

The man was arrested and brought for questioning to the Bridewell Garda station, where he was detained under section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act which allows gardaĆ­ hold suspects for up to 24 hours.

GardaĆ­ believe the man continued collecting his fatherā€™s pension every week at the GPO after the pensioner died in 1987 and that he similarly continued collecting his motherā€™s pension after she died some years later.

GardaĆ­ believe the man collected approximately ā‚¬520,000 in total in the pension fraud which, stretching back some 33 years, is believed to be one of the longest of its kind ever uncovered.

Manā€™s arrest

The manā€™s arrest follows a joint investigation by An Garda SĆ­ochĆ”na and the department, which notified gardaĆ­ of suspicions about the manā€™s claims.

GardaĆ­ and department officials carried out a follow-up search of the manā€™s family home on the northside of Cork yesterday and seized some ā‚¬9,800 in cash, which they believe are the proceeds of his suspected fraud.

Det Insp Danny Coholan of Anglesea Street Garda station said: ā€œGardaĆ­ and the Department of Employment Affairs and Social Protection have a long standing relationship which aims to target those who attempt to defraud the State.ā€

Three years ago, a Dublin man was jailed for 18 months after he admitted stealing almost ā‚¬160,000 in benefits.

Brian Bobey from Walkinstown Parade in Dublin began claiming his motherā€™s pension after her death in May 1997 and was only caught in October 2013 when the then Department of Social Welfare began an investigation.

Mr Bobey, then aged 64, offered to repay the money at a rate of ā‚¬50 a week but Judge Patricia Ryan at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court jailed him for 18 months after hearing it would take him 63 years to repay the debt at such a rate.

Apparently thereā€™s a hostage situation in Kanturk. Family issues 3 dead Apparently and press black-out as on going

Coast Guard chopper from Dublin was that side earlierā€¦

2 deaths I was told , father v 2 sons , by all accounts its true

A land/will row by all accounts

Mental health issues all over the country and we can expect more of the same upcoming as a lot of folk are suffering seriously atm ref COVID , ppl have been bating drink n drugs into them much more during COVID than before

Donā€™t know tbh got the Garda media blackout screenshot an hour back

I wouldnā€™t expect you to know, but go handy with your theories in the meantime

I heard 3 dead and it was a son how shot the other then himself the mother was found in a field alive. But thatā€™s all whats app rumours, the lockdown is sending mentally unstable people over the edge. Very sad

Land and right of ways cause some hassle terrible it came to this if true

This shite happened before any lockdown. Fuck off worh your shite

Iā€™ve not got any theories ref this only fact
Anyone who shoots another family member over anything has obviously got mental health issues, I didnā€™t mention anything else and wonā€™t , I was generalising ref COVID, the whole lockdown and itā€™s adverse affects mentally on folk and not helped by drink/ drugs

Iā€™m speculating but thanks for your tuppence

Youā€™re a screaming Nuala

No excuse for it whatever the reason NONE

You have no facts about this story, or any qualifications in that area, no more than the rest of us. You should stop floating your theories in the meantime

This is more of it

Blaming this on Covid mental health issues is not in the least bit helpful, it doesnā€™t even seem to fit the argument in this case in any way, people have suffered from these issues forever

Its Brenda, or Karen get it right.

Thatā€™s true but I wasnā€™t blaming just COVID itā€™s obviously mental health issues