Two of us in there, minding our own business when about four uniformed Gardai barged in and headed straight for the toilets down the back. They pulled out three gurriers and proceeded to interrogate them in the pub. The three scumbags gave them plenty of lip, one of them whipped the phone out and was recording the Guards.
After about five mins of a stand off all three of them were frog marched out the front door. Absolutely surreal.
Finished our drink and fucked off sharpish. Soho is a bit uppity but I must confess I like it.
Thatâs not a thing mate, good humoured banter is all. Most of the Cork posters here are country boys anyway except meself and former poster @ChocolateMice
Did you ever go to any of the combinations of Barrs/Rockies v. Glen/Na Piarsaigh in the 80âs or 90âs???
Or i believe there was an element of it woven into Hibs-Celtic back in the day too.
Its a thing alright.
Norries are woefully sensitive about somethi gs. Southsiders generally not as much so. 99% is banter. But its talked about every day in various places of employment or pubs around Cork
My own grandmother lived on Barrack street without a pot to piss in for most of her life and used to talk about the âhungry northsidersâ in an ancient form of banter, neither side would want it any different but itâs almost 100% craic
Possibly the worst slums in Europe about 100 years ago and for a good bit thereafter were in Limerick City, Cork City was bad and Dublin was terrible too. Incredible to think how far the country has come really. Weâre only a generation removed from peasantry really in truth.
Would Waterford and Galway have the same history of poverty and slums in the city lads would ye know, genuine question. Interested in in that type of social history. @Fagan_ODowd@ChocolateMice or anyone else?
There were slums all over the City Centre. When I was growing up the granny of a friend of mine lived in what could only be described as a hovel off of New Street. Then there were bad slums up off Ballybricken near the jail. This was where the famous child soldier Johnny Condon came from. And further out the Yellow Road there was a slum where Barrett Place is now.