Coronavirus - Dig In, It's going to be a while yet

I believe that was the reason they gave for not implementing a travel ban (on holiday makers too, not essential travel).

There are still flights coming in

Leo the snake letā€™s Harris deliver the draconian measures while he sticks to movie quotes :joy:

Exactly.

Theres a reason they have introduced this, and its not the implementation of a police state. Its to save lives.

Unconstitutional bills are passed all the time and overturned when challenged in court.

If youā€™re doing the right thing youā€™re grand

You donā€™t value your freedom to conciously social distant correctly and do the right thing going for a 3km walk . Have a think about that?

@Julio_Geordio I assume youā€™re half cut here as I am. Donā€™t worry too much about this. Trying to stop house parties and people heading off for a long weekend, thatā€™s all this is.

Christ above, you really donā€™t get it. Itā€™s not about this time. I donā€™t think anyone is arguing this isnā€™t a good idea in theory.
Itā€™s about the next time.

Of course.

But this isnā€™t the massive derogation you think it is. The right is not absolute.

Passports can be seized. People can be banned by courts from going near areas etc and theres no constitutional issue there.and as i already said the right to life, and steps the government have to take to protect that is stronger than any right of movement.

2km radius. Can be a 12.5 km walk.

What liberty has been taken away from you here mate?

Galway and Tippā€¦ Arguably the most quisling counties in the country. Donā€™t expect them to get it mate.

Sure Iā€™ve little else to be doing. Iā€™m hear watching this Tiger thing on Netflix, as I feel a social obligation to understand all these memes.
Itā€™s fairly fucking bizarre

I assume the guards will be lined up in arrivals tomorrow. Few handy arrests for them with all the lads flying in automatically breaking the rules

Next time a bill is passed by government in all normal channels? Christ indeed

Weā€™ll agree to disagree, mate.

The next time itā€™ll be up to the elected representatives to oppose the bill.

As they had the choice this time to do.

But the measures were needed because we are in desperate times. Almost unprecendented times.

The next time theres a global pandemic?

Thereā€™s obviously lads here who would give up every right they had to be ā€œsafeā€

That sounds painful for Dermot

Thatā€™s Clare.