Coronavirus - Here come the variants

People in the real world are commonsensical in general, don’t you find?
I don’t know anybody at all who is following Covid restrictions religiously to the point that they could seek to look down on others that are also being sensible enough.

But my astonishment is in seeing the younger forumites viewing some of Ireland’s most right wing public figures being viewed as heroes to lead them, McGurk doesn’t give a fuck about them

You’re astonished very easily. Young people are very unlikely to have ever heard of McGuirk before the pandemic so I’d say they’re taking him just on his views on Covid

The Tusla social workers are cleared to travel but the burly Gardai aren’t able to travel because of a risk assessment.

Look, I know you have a very optimistic and benevolent view of people. That’s obvious from your posts. It reflects well on you and I’d say you’re a very decent man but listen to me now.

NEVER, NEVER, underestimate the stupidity of the masses. I’d attribute that to the right person if I knew who it was. But anyway, just consider that. I mean 70 million people voted for DJ Trump just a few months ago.

I do not deal in blunt acronyms, either way round. The need to do something and the need to do something competently are related but separate issues. Nor do I believe in ‘zero Covid’. To see masses of young people gathering recently, when a fair percentage of their parents must have a business affected by lockdown, attests to a terrible failure in communication by the government.

I do not have any answers. I am just hoping, like everyone else, the vaccines sort out, largely, this affliction.

This is what I’m seeing here lads as we approach end game and it’s not coming from the lidtf crew.

f7d02754d5bd215747d62beaffcf1189

How should the government have communicated the message that young people shouldn’t have the right to free association, in order to save their parents businesses?

Again, it’s not the point I was making in reply to @Heyyoubehindthebushes
My generation are not in the main ‘virtue signalling woke cunts who would seek to have you cancelled’
The people I know take a common sense approach to this whole experience, and I suspect that that’s where the vast vast majority stand on it. I would suspect that many people who post here are typical of my generation,

What would you expect the young to do? Honesty? You were young once. You are only young once.

I think you were asked the question earlier @backinatracksuit in relation to children under 16 being all vaccinated,

Be interested to hear your view on that given these are novel vaccines and anyone under 16 is not at risk here,

Genuine question, will add @Malarkey to that also as your piece that you shared from the Guardian had Neil Ferguson suggesting same.

Mcguirk is a cunt of a man, while I agree with him on this viewpoint, it an exception to the rule.

Any young person who look up to him is very naive considering his positions on the recent referendums, that brought about social change massively backed by the same young people. His support is worrying but I’m more worried that the people who typically would be on the side of protecting rights are the ones pushing for zero covid

Look, how many times does it need to be said… There is no point in going round in circles. For every sort of reason, there is no way forward via “natural infection” or ‘natural herd immunity’ or whatever it is called. You cannot have a normal society where a large percentage of that society is either infected or a close contact in quarantine – is effectively caught, therefore, in a rolling lockdown. That craic is a video game fantasy.

India was meant to be approaching ‘herd immunity’ around six weeks ago. Now…

This fantasy of a silver bullet via ‘let it rip’? A fantasy. I will not bother to attach the appropriate adjective. Nor will I get back into the issue of risk.

The Irish policy on airport quarantine, which is beyond the beyonds, constitutes another matter. No one sensible is saying otherwise.

The vaccinations are Godot. SĂŠ sin.

I have no interest in keeping on making the same points.

You’re being tested tonight kid.

He’s a cunt because he has different beliefs to you? I haven’t seen any other evidence yet of his cuntishness

Your generation is not (I am assuming you fall into 35 to 45 bracket). Its prevalent in the 20 to 30 bracket. I can’t put my finger on it as I am in that age bracket but my close social circle is common sense etc but I know many who are woke virtue signalling etc.

From outside this bracket what do you think it is driving this? Personally I think it’s either sense of entailment, lack of maturity or lack of having to deal with real personal difficulties.

Good point. I have no beef, by and large, with young people. They have had an incredibly difficult time.

Young people, in my view, should have had the realities of this situation made much clearer to them much earlier – via a government ad campaign. While the vast majority of them are not at much risk as regards serious illness, the government should have communicated far better the economic implications of this situation – for their parents and wider family.

Ongoing access to testing should have been made a priority for young people as well. If a couple, or everyone in a friendship group, tests negative, staying negative becomes much easier to achieve. This approach is in line with the general ‘bubble’ approach. There are common sense aspects to this process that were badly neglected.

There is an inherent problem with crowds and Covid, because crowds by definition contain strangers. So universities and entertainment are a seriously difficult nut to crack.

Can someone with a sub throw this up.for us tight basterds

I sense your coming round to some type of reality of how tough it is for young people.

I have my doubts whether you would have avoided house parties etc aged 16-25 also. It’s good in my view that older people eventually realise that life is for living not surviving, then again everyone paddles their own boat.

If most young people were told this a year ago they would have left straight away.

That’s a failure of the political parties I’d say. You have to worry about the long term effects.

The reason I posted that article was because of its factual content about Brazil, which I think people would want to know. The modelling stuff would be well down the ladder of my interest.

But to answer your honest question: I think ultimately everyone, more or less, will have to be vaccinated, if infection rates are to be brought where they need to go. You cannot have a normal society if infection rates rise above a certain level.

Arguing for ‘herd immunity’/‘natural infection’ while being somehow against mass vaccination is a rather strange one to me.