Coronavirus - Here for life (In high population density areas)

John Bull really getting stuck in now

Hopefully John Bull gives us a hand when heā€™s done as it looks like weā€™ll need.

Did a run to Dunnes last night and the amount of alcohol being bought is unrealā€¦ my local shop, large enough Spar, doubled itā€™s drink section since last March. Every time I go in there seems to be a big restock going on and loads of ā€˜dealsā€™ in line with the tills.

There wasnā€™t a culture of home drinking when we were growing up. My father might have a couple of glasses of whiskey at Christmas but that was it. Pubs were for drinking.

and the smoking ban.

The one in Mount Oval? There would be plenty of wine o clock up thereā€¦

Yeahā€¦ itā€™s effectively an off-licence now that sells some groceries and confectionery.

Yeah nor with my parents either. My mothers twin brother and father were alcoholics so it makes drinking at home for us fairly uncomfortable. She abhors drink. The auld lad sees it as an impediment to winning a county title. They cant understand why anyone would want to drink at home.

The price of pints wasnā€™t as bad either tho.

Would have very little interest in drinking at home myself. All about the social aspect for me, a nice pint of Guinness is grand but if Iā€™m at home Iā€™d rather a glass of coke or something

We only had drink in our house for putting a drop in a trifle or lighting a pudding. The father had a set against drinkers.

What do lads mean by drinking at home? Getting drunk or having 2/3? I drink for the taste and to relaxā€¦ If youā€™re drinking at home solely to get drunk youā€™ve a serious problem.

The pint went over a pound a pint in 1983. ā‚¬1.27 in todayā€™s money. Iā€™d say it has leapt ahead of inflation since.

Edit. 1.27 in 1983 is 3.19 today.

During financial crash a lot of people started drinking at home due to cost and then continued it.

In Dublin the cost of going to pubs/restaurants had become ludicrous. Even with Covid you see restaurants charging restaurant prices for take away teams

And suckers like @Bandage lapping it up.

Whatā€™s the difference between a glass of coke (which is disgusting and far unhealthier than a beer) and a glass of beer/wine. To me alcohol is about enjoying the beverageā€¦ Drinking - having 4/5/6 - is indeed a more social thing

Iā€™d prefer the taste of coke to a beer/wine. Iā€™m a social binge drinker

Funny conversations had this morning,

Schull, West Cork
Young woman in College in Limerick has tested positive twice now and the second time she & family fairly poorly.
Young woman believes she picked up infection twice in Limerick on College scene.

Man in Donegal.
Gets notification to go for test as he is a close contact.
Goes to test centre, sees 40 odd cars in queue and fucks off home.
Gets notification from HSE afterwards he has tested positive for Covid.

I asked my informant was the Donegal chap a Tin Foil Hat wearer and he assures me he is not.

Hard to know what the fuck is going on.

Savage rumours going around regarding a temporary ban on alcohol sales. Started by breda on Facebook of course

Iā€™d be the same myself like a sow when out but no real desire at home. Its not the alcohol that I drink for its the craic