Coronavirus thread - 19/10/2020 - The Day Ireland Died

A solid young lad, I had big shoulders.
I marked Ian Fitz and kept him scoreless.

Sure you are talking about rates per 100k in counties with relatively tiny populations.
One family getting an outbreak in a small county can skew the whole thing.

Some counties have no cases and are still level 2.

Havenā€™t they stopped using ventilators months ago as they were basically a death sentence with covid?

Theyā€™ve medicine now that helps avoid all this ā€¦

Wasnā€™t Dr Valerie one of the early OIUTF crew? It all seems so long ago now

Pure alarmism, I believe that they now give people in icu oxygen tubes to help breathing

It pays to be an independent thinker these days

Professor Paul Moynagh from Maynooth (be quiet) was very much OIUTF on the Tonight Show earlier. Havenā€™t seen as much of him as others, but think heā€™s held that stance from a long way back. Not a herd immunity merchant, just thinks that some restrictions arenā€™t evidence based and the overall package will be detrimental to society.

Junior Minister Peter Burke then citing Bressieā€™s idea to employ influencers to reach younger generations with the public health messages.

Some other odd aspects to the show. A segment with the Cabra girls from Gogglebox about the restrictions, a weird Michael Healy Rae piece on TD pay increase (he wouldnā€™t say whether he would accept the increase or not, as he only became aware of it in the DĆ”il today and hadnā€™t thought about it yet) and tabloid journalist Siobhan Oā€™Connor on at the end to ridicule and pillory teachers.

The OIUTF professors donā€™t tend to get as many media appearances as the lock everything down forever set

Yer wan Siobhan on at the end was definitely on the vino before going on air.

Slowly but surely the wheel is turning towards OIUTF.

Am I reading this correctly. People are getting infected in hospital. So they are now going to ramp up PPE use in the emergency department. Should this not be happening anyway? And they only have a handful of icu beds. So 4/5 people in there means they are at capacity. So one or 2 covid admissions and were in the disaster zone. Was it not part of the plan to increase the amount of ICU beds 6 months ago? What exactly have the HSE been doing all this time?

i just turned on the television to watch a bit of news on the news now station
lead story - McConkey referring to the virus as a ā€œtiger in the roomā€ - this man has zero credability, how and why are the national broadcaster allowing this nonsense that has no scientific basis to dominate the agenda? any man who needs to add emotive language like that to justify his point as he has no quantifiable data to support it has lost.
He is using his position to massage his own ego and RTE are giving him the platform as this ā€œfear pornā€ is good for ratings

This is a major scandal.

NPHET love to say ā€œwe want to follow Chinaā€™s approachā€. In China they built a massive dedicated Covid hospital in the space of days. 6 months into lockdown and we donā€™t have a dedicated Covid hospital yet. The whole of NPHET should resign. We used to have dedicated TB hospitals, why canā€™t we have dedicated Covid hospitals? Weā€™ve gone backwards over the century.

This is Sam McConkey in March. The emotive language again and totally ludicrous figures pulled straight from his arse which if true would have meant roughly 10% of world fatalities from Corona virus would have been Irish. Not alone has he been spectacularly wrong but his wild hypothesis has gone unchecked. Just the other day he reckons we will have 5,000 cases a day on current trajectory by end of October. It would be great in the absence of media in this country that a fact check body could test some of the assertions Nphet and other scientists with a platform are coming up with.

These lads are gaslighting us now. Iā€™d love for someone to ask them to provide a bit of evidence or at least point us in its direction of to back up their statementsā€¦

ā€˜An awful lot of young people might have to dieā€™ if we were to pursue herd immunity strategy, Prof Nolan says https://jrnl.ie/5213262

Theyā€™ve barely even increased ICU capacity since March. Let alone build a whole fecking new hospital.

McConkey extrapolated from the serial cheater Ferguson. They are academics, totally removed from reality and very few of them do any actual science (there are some notable exceptions). Statistician wankers with no common sense or humanity. Probably brought a slide rule for their first sexual encounter and actually tried to use it.

How did we get to this? Iā€™m ready to throw in the towel.

Wait am I correct in say approx 90% of deaths are above 65 years? All but 100 deaths had underlying conditions? Is there any law against misinformation to create public hysteria