Coronavirus Thread (sponsored by Anthony Fauci & Pfizer) (Part 5)

People are sick of it. Iā€™m sick of it.

Iā€™m also sick of dimwits deliberately misunderstanding why we are in this endless cycle and thinking they have cheat codes to end it.

Yis donā€™t. Yis only have ā€œsolutionsā€ that will end up being a final one for a lot of people and will perpetuate the cycle ever more, and worse.

What is the end game other than zero COVID which is not possible?

If only more people watched Prime Time. Job would be oxo.

The end game has to be effective elimination and that can only be done by saturating the population with vaccines and using whatever other non-pharmaceutical interventions are necessary.

Otherwise the likelihood is we go around and around and around and around like a merry go round, making the same mistakes again and again and again.

That is a recipe for the end of functioning society, the end of democracy and a turn towards a new age of stupid, and tyranny.

Can that be done WITHOUT lockdowns?

Right now I donā€™t think it can. Or should. Either practically or morally. Lock it down now, roll out the boosters to everybody as fast as possible, and start again in the new year from a better place in terms of immunity and a more informed place in terms of knowledge.

Ok.

Looking over at UK with full normality itā€™s really weird. Just know my own group of friends they wonā€™t be abiding by lockdowns and will drink in shebeens. I suppose there will be only 20-30 of us from the same bubble so technically it slows down the spread but it also means we are being robbed of some of our peak days.

Media love lockdowns and make big profit from it.

I think we need to lock this thread for 48 hours

covid wankers, Iā€™m drinking pints all day today in a normal country with no face nappies or fuckall, Ireland is fucked

Cc @ironmoth

I told you and you nearly had me cancelled.

There is no conspiracy. If people were desperate to look for a conspiracy the obvious candidate was the one to try and get everything open when it wasnā€™t safe. But that wasnā€™t and isnā€™t a conspiracy either. Itā€™s just groupthink and pollyanna thinking. Itā€™s normality bias.

There are countries which do seem to be doing things pretty well. Japan would be an example at the moment - down to around 150 cases per day - and they have done it without the sort of loss of life that most countries in Europe have had. They have a total population of 125 million and have lost a total of 18 thousand odd over the course of the pandemic. Thatā€™s not nothing but it is considerably better than most of Europe.

Iā€™m not familiar enough with the ins and outs of their situation to say exactly what they are doing but I know at least a couple of relevant things about them, they have a total vaccine roll out so far of 76.7%, which is similar to us (though they were later in rolling it out).

And they locked down for the Olympics. Which must have been an extremely painful policy decision for them.

Weā€™re keeping everything open because of Christmas, we apparently must have a meaningful Christmas. This seems folly.

If you graphed the number of pubs I that same time frame they will be dropping. Coincidence, I think not

why is life normal in the UK compared to craggy Island? Why is Ireland fucked up beyond belief? ā€œbest in the classā€ auld shite when it comes to the experimental vaccine takeup. Covid terrorism propagated and encouraged by the instruments of the state, RTE and Newstalk pumping out shit 24 hours a day. Walk up ffs lads

ā€œcancel the Christmas party lads, someone might get a coughā€ ffs you disgraceful cunts

Guys, whatā€™s the official definition of a close contact

The HSE site isnā€™t helpful

anyone get today deaths figure?

That never happened.

Just accept that public health has to go. It isnā€™t possible in the 21st century.

Get a job and get health insurance.

Strange post. You donā€™t seem to understand the difference between the concept of a public health system and the discipline of public health?

The father in law is afraid to leave the house more or less. Theyā€™ve the fear of god put into him