Cycle, crash, cycle, crash, cycle thread

Day 1 of the Tour de Munster over. Head wind all the way to Limerick. Rain when we hit Limerick too. Small tip with 5 riders tangling on the way to Killaloe on the Clonlara side. Hammered the last 7km to Killaloe, was nowhere. Serious cyclists here this year. Maybe 40th out of 120 :unamused:.

Did you survive it this year?

Fao any of the regular cyclists here - Where do ye get yer gear from? I’m doing a warm-weather trip next month (500k cycle over a week) and need to get a couple of extra sets. Looking at stuff on Amazon but dunno what the quality is like.

Did indeed @Raylan. found the cycling 2016 thread and put the rest of the 4 days up on that.

As for gear, go onto Wiggle, get some really good stuff off that. Amazon can be hit or miss, especially for shorts.

Always buy Santini. Accept no substitutes.

Scott make nice gear. Have a look at sport pursuit.
Don’t skimp on the bib shorts, and if it’s hot, try for a full zip jersey. Get gloves with gel inserts.

Got out for my first training spin this eve, just after getting the bike serviced, new tyres and a good tuning. Grand evening for it. 35k in about an hour and a half, no records broken but good to get miles into the legs.

Fair play, mate. Great to get some exercise and fresh air into the lungs. As you say, no shame whatsoever in cycling so slowly.

You’re the fella that just broke 25 mins for 5k aren’t you? I’m obviously out of my depth here

67km this evening. Lovely out but the evenings are bate

Any cure for road burn? Came off the cunting bike a km from home this morning. I’m fucking raw down my side and I made clean shite of my new garmin :cry:

Aloe Vera I think helps. But really just time and keep it covered. Ouch on the garmin :grin:

Just have to grin and bear it. How did you manage to crash?

Amazing the way your gear can be completely unscathed, yet you’ve no skin left under.

There’s new cycle paths installed around here, was trying to come up off the road onto it and missed the dip in the kerb, clipped it and went sideways. Completely avoidable to make it worse. Fuming with myself, and not helped by my mate pissing himself laughing at me. Bib shorts ripped too, along with a layer of skin.

Caught a bit of the Vuelta today just outside Suances in Cantabria:

The lead pack at the time

Were later reined in by Movistar who were protecting the pink jersey of Quintana

Before that utter cunt Froome won the mountain top finish.

@balbec, I’ve been catching a bit of the Vuelta since moving to Spain. What’s the story with this Simon Yates character? Son of Seán? He powered up a couple of mountains on his own today between the leading group and the pink/red jersey group. I found it incredible and unbelievable.

No relation. He has a twin brother Adam Yates who finished 4th in the Tour this year. Simon was very impressive today for a lad who has asthma. Unfortunately for him he tested positive for a banned substance during the Paris-Nice race this year. That pesky doctor had failed to apply for a therapeutic use exemption for an asthma inhaler used by Yates which triggered the positive test. Good rider though.

Great stage today actually.

No highlights on Eurosport :unamused:

All US Open Tennis this week. Though they do have the lovely Barbara Schett on with Mats in the evenings.