Saw on the Limerick Leader there that he scored a try for the Munster Under 20 team in rugby playing as a full back.
Former Cork hurler???
Saw on the Limerick Leader there that he scored a try for the Munster Under 20 team in rugby playing as a full back.
Former Cork hurler???
Quit spamming the board fucko
See the Cork GAA thread for discussion on this. Same lad yeah, wouldn’t call him former Cork hurler just yet!
No one knows what he is planning to do. Would be a big loss to Cork hurling.
As an aside, he is one of about four lads involved who would play hurling in Cork, Sweetnam (Dohenys), Jermyn (Cloyne), Fitzgerald (Rockies) and Madigan (Charleville). Fitzgerald and Sweetnam were Minors last year.
Ah SLR good to see you made it here after the demise of your former haunt, afraid you maybe right about Sweetnam though, he is probably gone the way of Tómas O’Leary now.
Was he accepted into the Munster Academy?
Couldnt access this site for a couple of years. Would probably have discovered it
As for Sweetnam getting a contract, as far as I know there is an offer on the table. However the way Munster operate they can keep lads on the academy well into their 20s and then when they make it, there isnt much of a career left. Very few players will be on big money at 19 and still be on it at 35.
Nah he’d be well off that yet. There is a sub academy as well that he might be into but Doubt hes even in that yet. He’s in development squads only at this stage. Had a look at that 20s side he was on and at first glance none of them are in the academy. Be interested to see if he plays AIL. is he in college do ye know?
Wouldn’t be getting over excited about his being lost to hurling at this stage. He has a long way to go before he would be thinking about his pro career
He was listed as Bandon Grammar School on the Limerick Leader which suggests that he may be repeating the Leaving Cert.
How much is it worth to be on the sub academy? Donnacha O’Callaghan was still on IR£30,000 in 2002/2003 despite being a Heineken Cup Player since 1997
I’d say the sub academy lads are on fuck all. Equivalent of college scolarship maybe? Few grand. Prob get expenses and match fees but as they would only be playing A games at best this wouldn’t add much.
If he’s repeating the leaving he won’t be in sub academy anyways and is probably killing his chance as I’d say the double sessions at this stage I’d development both skills and conditioning are vital
Not an easy game to make a killing in and mentally it must be very challenging.
Take Mossy Lawlor for example, played in the miracle match, but never really played in that many high profile games after that. If I was a Cork Hurler at 19 with a bright future, I would nearly stick with it unless I was a cast iron certainty to make it as a professional player. Its all about gametime at the end of the day.
Yeah hard to argue with that. Mossy has made a decent career for himself but, pro for the guts of a decade and full time director of rugby with UL bohs now. Tough gig scratching around once your playing days are over and there won’t be huge money in it but doing something you want to do every day is an attraction.
See the likes of Denis Fogarty playing div 2 in France now picking up a decent paycheck with a nice lifestyle. Tough reality to face that your a second tier player but I’d have given my right fucking arm for it
What would a Division 2 player make in France??
30-40k maybe more for the likes of Fogarty as he’s a decent player with a good CV, albeit anyone who’s seen a lot of him might question that, but I’d say accom car etc all thrown in too.
Would it have been different for Fogarty if he wasnt injured when Flannery started a long spell out??
Sometimes if a guy gets a break and a run of games it can create a different player
Maybe. He’s a case in point of a lad who the academy system failed. If he had played AIL non stop for a few seasons would have benefited him hugely, as it did with Varley. His basics are poor, probably due to a lack of game time.
Games even at AIL level are a huge thing, mightn’t be pro standard but you can be sure for most of the opposition it’s a big game and the intensity is there. Fogarty has relatively little miles on the clock considering how long he’s around. Throwing always let him down when he got a chance though
Ya the AIL is often underestimated. In any game in any code, you are better off getting gametime than sitting on a bench. I think people underestimate the influence of the AIL (albeit a stronger AIL) on the Heineken Cup success of 2006. Horgan, Kelly, Dowling, O’Gara, Stringer, Horan, Flannery, Hayes, O’Connell, O’Callaghan, Leamy, Wallace and Foley all played a significant amount of gametime in the AIL. 13 of the starting 15 and thats not forgetting Quinlan and Mick O’Driscoll who went on as subs.
Would those players have achieved what they did from an academy??
Speaking of France Division 2, what became of Timmy Ryan???
Timmy is with the Dragons after a season inItaly. Brother Dave with Zebre now
Ryan is now at the Newport Gwent Dragons. Had an unsuccessful spell with Newcastle after Toulon