Topic is going off topic here folks so just to clarify, Duignan never mentioned his wife or his girlfriend, he mentioned he had lost a lot the last 10 years incl a business and had to earn a living while he had kids in college and he felt it sinister that someone rang RTE trying to get him sacked just because he gave an opinion on the sweeper system.
i think he is correct, its extremely sinister andd doesnt reflect very well on Wexford hurling.
But he didnât ring RTE to get him sacked? Or did I miss that? He rang and said their analysis was shit.
Heâd have to go through Sheedy first and I donât think Davy would have the appetite for that
Did he ring rte or just say it in the press conference?
"He also said that he spoke to RTĂ and I donât know where he thinks he has this influence over RTĂ or anyone else. His job is managing Wexford as far as I know.
McGrath addressed the criticism perfectly.
He mentioned the wife in an earlier interview in reference to why he hadnât managed an inter county team.
Speaking to the media yesterday, Fitzgerald revealed that he spoke to someone at RTE about introducing a Monday Night Football-style analysis show like the Gary Neville and Jamie Carragher-fronted programme on Sky Sports.
âI said it to someone high in RTE recently, I said, âWill ye look at the whole thing of how we present it?â,â Fitzgerald said.
"Do we want fellas on to just be controversial and cutting lads? I personally now and I know there are a lot like me who would turn down the television because they want to learn about it. Then you have a certain amount of people who want to hear the controversy, thatâs fine.
âWhy do we want to cut? There are certain pundits and I will not read them. If I hear them say something I know theyâre only doing it to make headlines. Iâve no interest in that. I want the genuine stuff.â
Hardly ringing up looking for him to be sacked.
Yes, a bit of sinister conflation from Michael Duignan going on here.
Thatâs how the establishment gets their way. Cc @mauricemccabe. Watch your back Davy. These guys thrive on hurting the outsider down.
Yeah Davy didnât ring up trying to get anyone sacked. Heâs just your run of the mill narcissist who doesnât think anyone is qualified to criticise him. For his part Duignan is being a bitch. Crying to teacher when the other kid hit him back. Davy is also trying to make a living. Does publicly slating his managerial abilities not qualify as sinister in Duignanâs book?
The winner of the All Ireland this year will win it by playing proper manly hurling, not the tippy tappy spoiling shit that has been introduced to stop Kilkenny winning AI after AI. The fact is bar one other county none of the rest were able to put young lads through the grades coaching them in traditional ways using skill and strength and instead resorted to coaching teams to spoil a game and hope that they score a point or 2 more than the opposition. I know which way Iâd prefer my team to win the AI
Iâm surprised at you, taking the side of a bitter cunt.
Exactly. That Kilkenny team of 06-08 used their skill and strength to knock 7 shades of shit out of the Cork/Limerick/Waterford teams and used swarm defensive tactics to stifle the fast running game. Although using brute force and gang tackling would not be considered spoiling a game though
An embarrassing affair all round.
Fitz quest for media attention holds no bounds. His team is knocked out and here he comes kicking and screaming at rte pundits when he canât blame match officials. Heâs scheming is well calculated to propel himself front and center in the media again. You donât fool anyone davy the public can see right through you.
Duignan made it worse by reacting to him.
Every year, after every loss, itâs deflection time from Davy.
âItâs the RTE analystsâ
âOh the dark forcesâ
âI donât want to go into this now butâŚâ
âWeâll talk about this when the year is overâŚâ
Exactly, proper manly stuff. The stuff Jackie Tyrell was made for , the stuff youâd love to see your young fella doing in a match, not the type of stuff your young girl could be coached to do
I have had numerous interactions with Davy in the past & I can confirm he is an absolute gentleman.
Small fishes