I loves me job so i does. I work for myself, well a pair of us, so it affords me ridiculous levels of freedom. I take a lot of holidays.
I’ve been working on a thing on and off the last year. Lots of trial and error, but a very good product if you like. Tough work but very enjoyable. Today is the first fully paid one. And I’ve as many as i want sold for the next few weeks. Lot of satisfaction in that…
The downside obviously is that you always have to keep driving on yourself, cos if that doesnt happen, the whole thing falls appart.
There is no job security. No sick pay if something did happen. And the bank laughs at you if you’re looking for cash.
There’s a real lack of support for entrepreneurs in this country sometimes. Government agencies will hype up how important entrepreneurs are but they don’t seem to ever plan any safety nets for them.
The running wanker market is at saturation point
I could earn a good bit extra by going to Dublin and the Mrs is putting pressure on me as she would like the extra few bob. The thoughts of going to Dublin 3 days a week fills with me dread especially doing the job I’m currently doing which is bearable as I’m working from home. Ambition in our place is treated as a weakness and I can only imagine the promises being made to those gullible enough to think theses promises will be realised. Every year there is uproar over the pay/bonus. I just tell them the same thing after my review, that I have no choice but to seek employment elsewhere. I plod along doing what’s needed but no more, take my hour’s lunch and finish on time. I don’t do sick days and my work is of a high standard. I’m useful but unrelisble (due to refusal to do overtime). They’ve got rid of people better than me and my day will no doubt come soon too but I won’t be leaving with the regrets of wondering why I put in so much effort.
There’s a massive opportunity for you here mate.
Run down the clock. Run it down so hard an Atlethi woof bastard would turn his face away in disgust.
Stay in that role to the absolute end. Go to management and say I am willing to be the last man standing figuratively and literally.
The higher ups will move on as the clock runs down and you might perhaps end up with opportunities to act up into those roles.
Then the beautiful part, when everyone has fucked off scared they’ll be left with no job, you’ll be the only one with the knowledge base.
The new crowd will end up hiring you in as a fucking consultant to help them figure out what the fuck is going on.
And worse case scenario if you stay as long as possible, get a few salary increases for your redundancy and maybe get another few months of the redundancy payment.
There’s going to be about 6 months of bliss there at the end where no one has fucking anything to do.
Joyus.
Not if you hired a hot shot banker named Bandage.
You could do beautiful things together
What’s the new snack idea?
One thing I would recommend if setting up your own business… You and your family being in good health.
You won’t get the support that a standard paid job provides
Fcuk that Mike.
Enterprise Ireland invest more seed capital than any other nation in the world i believe
The FAI have a few jobs up I saw lately. Might be a beautiful mix of love and bidness. And you could save Irish football. Or do fuck all like all the rest of them in there do
If you get the job I want access to the FAI box for directors. Under the premium, and under the corporate.
I tasted it once and I want to taste it again
The public sector calls
It’s pretty good i believe(we’re too small for them). As are the local enterpruse boards. It’s more the structural or societal issues around it as a form of employment. Getting bank/car loans, car insurance, even renting a gaff of skmeone who looks for all your work stuff and employer letters etc.
I saw it in my first 2 months therr. Team I was on were putting in crazy hours and were promised their efforts would be recognised in the next bonus. Their bonuses were less than the prior year. Uproar but they continued to do overtime and continued to wail at the end of every pay review. Race to the bottom. People accepting promotions without an increase in pay. A manager who encourages or accepts that for one of their subordinates gets places.
No fear of you there mate.
Working in an institution . Fair play lads, i don’t know how you do it.
If your plans are for national growth and possible entrance into the UK (they love that shit) and you can provide solid business case to support that, theyd be well worth a chat to irrespective of current size.
I’d love to see Bandage up before the PAC
Can you recall the events of February 25th Mr @Bandage?
I can. I believe that was the day @gman surmised variables which affect the results we wish to achieve shouldnt be included in the data Mr Stanley, so we omitted them entirely.
“I’m sorry Mr Stanley but I don’t have that information to hand. I didn’t attend that particular board meeting as it clashed with my 15k easy +1 run. Just for further clarification, I run marathons”
And can I add Mr Stanley, up the RA.