Drink Driving

[quote=“tipptops*”]Er he was 83 mgs per 100.

Farmer is talking about it being lowered from 80 mgs to 50 mgs.

Get your coat and don’t let the door hit you on the way out.[/quote]

Clown, take another look at that…

EDIT Runty beat me to it.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Its a different matter entirely. Halvey drank for hours on en, piled into a car and drove to Dublin in the hard shoulder, his was a disgrace.

What farmer is referring to is entirely different, its about lowering an already low alcohol limit. It is not condoning what Hlavey done in any way shape or form. Had Halvey been caught on the road, he would have been taken from his car and arrested for drink driving, hence the law would have worked.

Poor effort, you’re off your game lately.[/quote]

You are being badly shown up here. Its some climbdown from “vile creature” and “ashamed of yourself” down to “you’re off your game lately”

Go on away with yourself before you embarress yourself any more.

[quote=“Gman”]yeah in spite of the fact I live in a rural area, I dont see the argument against it either. The only opposition I’d have is the morning after. But I dont see what the point is going ot the pub for one pint and then driving home. I’m either out drinking, or I’m not and driving.

I think one of the things, and it might have been something I’ve said on here before, being overlooked is the publicans whinging and moaning but doing nothing about it.

A very very siumple soloution, and one that doesnt cost much is to provide a free, or even charged for, bus service. Say you hire a bus for 2 hours at closing time, and bring your punters home. Maybe 200? Sure a few people will cover that, and you’d be more inclined to get punters in, so you;d be making money. Instead of publicans moaning, they should be doing something and be proactive about it. Instead they are looking for easy money.[/quote]

Good point, read that on here before so assume it was you alright. I think the government can do more to promote and fund rural transport initatives but realistically they’re not going to cover late night runs home from the pub. The pubs would be well able to cover a minibus - it’ll usually be far cheaper than the Dublin equivalent of a taxi - it just takes organisation and effort rather than complaining.

Any second now…http://www.smileyshut.com/Yahoo-Smileys/emoticons7/110.gif

Country pubs mid week trade is already descimated at the moment, this would be the final nail in the coffin. You might have 4 lads coming in and drinking 2 pints each then driving home, @ 4 a pint it hardly justifies a minibus. Plus country areas are spread over a wide distance, you could be talking of a fella sitting on a bus for 45 minutes waiting for people to be dropped off when he could drive home himself in 10.

[quote=“Rocko”]Ah lads I can’t believe what I’m reading here.

I don’t understand the social aspect to it at all really. You can still go to the pub and drive home, you just can’t drink alcohol when you’re there. I like a pint as much as the next man but I won’t pretend that part of that reason isn’t alcohol. If it’s alcohol I want then I know I can’t drive. Doesn’t matter if I’m living in Dublin or Drumshambo, the same restrictions apply.

The reason it isn’t zero is to cater for the morning after really and that’s the same reason why the punishments are lower for lower breaches. But there is overwhelming evidence to support the lowering of the limit based on results in other countries (usually coupled with random breath testing) and it’s impossible to support arguments to the contrary.

When you’re on the same side as Jackie Healy-Rae you know you’ve taken a wrong turn somewhere.[/quote]

Your showing a serious lack of understanding of rural life here Rocko. Drunk driving is certainly a no-no, but if the Government are going to take people off the roads, they should be coming up with some serious schemes for pubs having mini buses or the like. The pubs i know that did it off their own back are flying, people really appreciate the effort, and of course the lift home.

Agree 100% with this. Why waste time with this bullshit? The limit is allready low enough, we’ll have the same shit in 10 years time looking to bring it from 50 to 35!

80 is fine, enforcing it is the problem not the limit itself. Also hate to see people caught the morning after even though if someone stops drinking shots at 3.00 and then drives to work at 8.00 I have no sympathy.

Few pubs in my locailty do that, some charge others don’t. Its a great service. To be honest, most publicans will drive an auld fella home, its just some are set in their ways.

Again my grievance here was the morning after. I’ve heard stories of farmers being stopped on tractors and losing licenses as a reult of being over the limit by a miniscule level. To lower it even further would be a thundering disgrace imo for this reason.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Few pubs in my locailty do that, some charge others don’t. Its a great service. To be honest, most publicans will drive an auld fella home, its just some are set in their ways.

Again my grievance here was the morning after. I’ve heard stories of farmers being stopped on tractors and losing licenses as a reult of being over the limit by a miniscule level. To lower it even further would be a thundering disgrace imo for this reason.[/quote]

There was a local pub where the publicans wife would drop everyone home who was left at closing time but she would have to do it in a few runs. While the last crowd were waiting to be taking home the guards arrived and took all their names for after hours drinking even though they were doing right by waiting to be collected to be dropped home. The Gardai are idiots.

That’s what should be happening but they won’t do that because that costs money. It’s easier for the fianna fail back-benchers to blame those hoors up in Dublin and offer to have a word with the local Gardai. Gombeen politics at it’s worst. Giving out about this will secure them a few votes, while at the same time they won’t open their mouths about the deterioration of our health and educations systems. Sure that stuff is just fancy talk.

i drive over 50k kms a year and have never been bagged once, not once in over 15 years of driving, around Dublin and up and down to Limerick hundreds of times at all hours of the day and night.
who here has been bagged?

surely to fuck they should be enforcing the current limit with an iron fist as a first stop, its lazy to simply reduce the limit to what is practically zero as the alternative to enforcing an already reasonable limit.

i am anti drink driving but its very harsh on one section of society in particular, elderly country folk, that they must change their lifelong ways if they want to maintain a social life is harsh enough.
if they are over the limit get them off the road absolutely but let them have a pint and a small one once or twice a week, they have been doing it all their lives.

Lots of good anecdotal evidence here but not many are addressing the fact that you’re far more likely to cause an accident when you’re over the limit irrespective of when you consumed the alcohol or irrespective of how long a bus journey takes.

My Nitelink takes me an hour to get home (42N), I’d drive it in 20 minutes. It’s not relevant.

Kev, I’m all for rural transport schemes as I said but when you see the isolation suffered by many rural men in particular then I’d say that the resources have to go first and foremost into bringing fellas into the town during the day. Bringing them to/from the pub at night is a secondary concern. Ideally the government would help but the pubs need to initiate it or even call for it in the first place.

No point complaining about the price of a minibus not warranting two pints either. It’s not going to be more than a taxi and if there aren’t enough people to get a bus then use a car instead.

I haven’t been tested either ever and I do agree that the primary concern should be enforcement.

[quote=“Rocko”]Lots of good anecdotal evidence here but not many are addressing the fact that you’re far more likely to cause an accident when you’re over the limit irrespective of when you consumed the alcohol or irrespective of how long a bus journey takes.

My Nitelink takes me an hour to get home (42N), I’d drive it in 20 minutes. It’s not relevant.

Kev, I’m all for rural transport schemes as I said but when you see the isolation suffered by many rural men in particular then I’d say that the resources have to go first and foremost into bringing fellas into the town during the day. Bringing them to/from the pub at night is a secondary concern. Ideally the government would help but the pubs need to initiate it or even call for it in the first place.

No point complaining about the price of a minibus not warranting two pints either. It’s not going to be more than a taxi and if there aren’t enough people to get a bus then use a car instead.

I haven’t been tested either ever and I do agree that the primary concern should be enforcement.[/quote]

Ya i agree with you on it being secondary, getting guys involved in other activites are more important. GAA, Macra Na Feirme and all these help, but there are others not looked after.

I just met a bank the other day with a busines idea for the minibus/rural pub problem, i’ll let ye know how i get on.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Ya i agree with you on it being secondary, getting guys involved in other activites are more important. GAA, Macra Na Feirme and all these help, but there are others not looked after.

I just met a bank the other day with a busines idea for the minibus/rural pub problem, i’ll let ye know how i get on.[/quote]

I don’t fancy your chances, Dancarter’s a cunt when it comes to lending.

No - he doesn’t want a fiver to buy a pint, he wants to be lent money to start a business.

[quote=“HBV*”]i drive over 50k kms a year and have never been bagged once, not once in over 15 years of driving, around Dublin and up and down to Limerick hundreds of times at all hours of the day and night.
who here has been bagged?

surely to fuck they should be enforcing the current limit with an iron fist as a first stop, its lazy to simply reduce the limit to what is practically zero as the alternative to enforcing an already reasonable limit.

i am anti drink driving but its very harsh on one section of society in particular, elderly country folk, that they must change their lifelong ways if they want to maintain a social life is harsh enough.
if they are over the limit get them off the road absolutely but let them have a pint and a small one once or twice a week, they have been doing it all their lives.[/quote]

I was breath tested for the first time in 16yrs of driving on the roads of Ireland for the first time 2 weeks ago in the city centre of Dublin. Not bad going that all things considered.

Completely on the side of Rocko and Gman here. I’d nearly be all for the level to be zero but for the problem of the morning after.
If oul lads or whatever are going for a few in the pub, could they not arrange it in turns to drive home on the dry. No one wants to be the one not drinking but they’d only have to do it now and then, theyd still be out socialising and having the banter.

[quote=“Rocko”]Lots of good anecdotal evidence here but not many are addressing the fact that you’re far more likely to cause an accident when you’re over the limit irrespective of when you consumed the alcohol or irrespective of how long a bus journey takes.

I haven’t been tested either ever and I do agree that the primary concern should be enforcement.[/quote]

What is your stance on next day testing rocko?

What do you mean? Do I agree with it? Yeah. Do I think the Gardai place too much emphasis on it given the statistical evidence on when and where accidents are most likely to occur? Yeah.

[quote=“Rocko”]What do you mean? Do I agree with it? Yeah. Do I think the Gardai place too much emphasis on it given the statistical evidence on when and where accidents are most likely to occur? Yeah.

Y’see this is my problem also with the next day testing thing. Rarely will you find a man causing an accident on a road at 9am due to teh after affects of alcohol. I’m all for the 6am early starters thing where a greater number of accidents do seem to occur or the night time bagging, but the practice of garda pulling outside hotels at 12 or so the day after weddings (which I’ve witnessed in parts of the country) or trolling rural farming areas from 9-12 of a morning is what truly sickens me. As someone above said, the laws that are in place are fine for the most part with regards to this issue, enforcing them properly in when needed most is what should be ensured.