Drink Driving

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]I can’t condone that Gman, and I wouldn’t try to, but would you not accept that there are tolerable levels in these sort of things? Like I mentioned about breaching the speed limit by 10 kms, how is that different than drining with two pints.

The thing about drink driving is that a lot of people have seen the ads and automatically associate it with something really evil when speeding is a far bigger killer on the roads.[/quote]

my reply was to Link farmer, and his talk of how he tries out manouvere the gardai so he can drink and drive. and I’d know the area he is on about well enough, and having drank nearby on a couple of occasions and seeing fellas have 10 pints or so and whiskeys and stumble out into their cars is, IMO, absolute bullshit.

I take your pint on the aul lad with 2 pints, not much harm, and also your point on speeding. but you look at the times of the majority of road deaths, early hours of the morning. no doubt speed could be involved, feck all on the roads, so speed on home. but I’d wager that a good number have drink involved too. As I said, people have this perception that if they can get away with drinking and not let the guards catch them, all is good. Yeah, all is good until they hop off another car or person.

I think ye should all give up drink and accept the Lord Jesus into yere hearts.

Once he’s in there he never goes away.

[quote=“Watch The Break”]I think ye should all give up drink and accept the Lord Jesus into yere hearts.

Once he’s in there he never goes away.[/quote]

Thats what I’m worried about. You and locke can fuck right off :pint:

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]I can’t condone that Gman, and I wouldn’t try to, but would you not accept that there are tolerable levels in these sort of things? Like I mentioned about breaching the speed limit by 10 kms, how is that different than drining with two pints.

The thing about drink driving is that a lot of people have seen the ads and automatically associate it with something really evil when speeding is a far bigger killer on the roads.[/quote]

That isn’t true.

Excessive speeding is a factor in 40% of deaths. Alcohol is a factor in 33% of deaths - both estimates obviously because you can’t tell conclusively.

When you take motorcycles out of the equation you’ll find that alcohol kills more pedestrians and car drivers than speeding does.

[quote=“Rocko”]That isn’t true.

Excessive speeding is a factor in 40% of deaths. Alcohol is a factor in 33% of deaths - both estimates obviously because you can’t tell conclusively.

When you take motorcycles out of the equation you’ll find that alcohol kills more pedestrians and car drivers than speeding does.[/quote]

Ok. So speeding kills more than alcohol, maybe not far more but more. Based on statistics that is.

Do you overspeed on the motorway? We all know that if you do then you are increasing the chance of an accident by virtue of time reacting, length to stop etc etc.

I just don’t see how drinking and driving is a big no no but speeding slightly can be viewed as being ok.

The reason why the drink driving limit is so low I think is to stop people from drinking altogether as once they have two pints it is very hard to stop. But some people do stop and make the conscious effort of not taking anymore. What real harm are these people doing but according to some they should be hung up from the nearest lightpost. Oh my God, they are drink driving, they are scum.

That said, there is no justification whatsover for what Link said about getting tanked up and driving home but I feel that there is the need for a distinction to be drawn between serious drink driving and minor drink driving. A lot of people don’t recognise that there is a difference.

[quote=“Gman”]

I take your pint on the aul lad with 2 pints, not much harm,.[/quote]

But you are six times more likely to be involved in an accident with one pint taken than with none.

Are you sure of your figures this time?

Anyone that gets in a car to drive it after any kind of drinking is a cunt.

End of Story.

[quote=“tipptops*”]Anyone that gets in a car to drive it after any kind of drinking is a cunt.

End of Story.[/quote]

Even though they are within their rights and obeying the law?

Rintin,

Yes and Yes.

Why should one person take a chance, even it is a miniscule one, with someone elses life?

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Ok. So speeding kills more than alcohol, maybe not far more but more. Based on statistics that is.

Do you overspeed on the motorway? We all know that if you do then you are increasing the chance of an accident by virtue of time reacting, length to stop etc etc.

I just don’t see how drinking and driving is a big no no but speeding slightly can be viewed as being ok.

The reason why the drink driving limit is so low I think is to stop people from drinking altogether as once they have two pints it is very hard to stop. But some people do stop and make the conscious effort of not taking anymore. What real harm are these people doing but according to some they should be hung up from the nearest lightpost. Oh my God, they are drink driving, they are scum.

That said, there is no justification whatsover for what Link said about getting tanked up and driving home but I feel that there is the need for a distinction to be drawn between serious drink driving and minor drink driving. A lot of people don’t recognise that there is a difference.[/quote]

I used to drive home a fair bit but only do it an odd time now,its two miles,1 mile uphill and theres no taxi people out my way,id have 6 or 7 pints maybe,other times less,i havent been caught yet anyway thank god.

[quote=“tipptops*”]Rintin,

Yes and Yes.

Why should one person take a chance, even it is a miniscule one, with someone elses life?[/quote]

Every time you sit in to a car to drive there is a miniscule chance of taking someones life, should we ban driving altogether so?

In the stitches here.

You’re a gas man Link.

[quote=“tipptops*”]Anyone that gets in a car to drive it after any kind of drinking is a cunt.

End of Story.[/quote]

Did you ever break the speed limit TT?

You are enhancing that chance by choosing to drink and drive. Most car journeys are bourne out of necessity. Drinking and Driving is a choice.

[quote=“tipptops*”]You are enhancing that chance by choosing
to drink and drive
. Most car journeys are bourne out of necessity. Drinking and Driving is a choice.[/quote]

The same way as you are enhancing that chance by increasing your speed by 5kph.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Ok. So speeding kills more than alcohol, maybe not far more but more. Based on statistics that is.

That said, there is no justification whatsover for what Link said about getting tanked up and driving home but I feel that there is the need for a distinction to be drawn between serious drink driving and minor drink driving. A lot of people don’t recognise that there is a difference.[/quote]

Well again it’s not as straightforward as you’re portraying. People aren’t breaking the speed limit for 40% of road deaths, rather they are using inappropriate or excessive speed. So you can be driving within the speed limit, but recklessly, and be part of that 40% statistic.

In terms of actual law breaches there’s no discernible difference between the impact of speeding and the impact of alcohol as far as I’m aware.

In fact, as I’ve said previously the speed statistics are distorted a bit by the presence of motorbikes which are really a separate phenomenon.

Take them out of the equation and evaluate them separately and then alcohol isn’t a secondary cause of road deaths, it’s then the primary cause.

This isn’t to say that speeding issues are trivial or that there are grades of offences within alcohol offences and speeding offences but it isn’t right to understate the relevance of alcohol in Irish road deaths.

In fact your argument on different grades of drink driving is one that the government are planning on supporting with the new laws because they’re now specifically legislating for lesser punishments for smaller excesses. So you should be welcoming the changes.

Yes I probably broke the limit from time to time which was cuntish behavior. That still doesn’t make drink drivers not cunts. I don’t see yere point?

Link calling the Garda “sneaky cunts” for possibly preventing a lad from drink driving :rolleyes:

Cuntish?

Come off it - that would make everyone in Ireland cunts.