Drink Driving

Typical fucking Dub attitude, its all about the coke with you lot isnt it.

They have crunched the numbers and thge stats and have deducted that should the new law not come in then 10 extra people will be killed on the roads in 2010.

AT LEAST 10 people will die on our roads over the next 12 months because of the Government’s climbdown on plans to reduce drink-driving limits, road safety chiefs predicted last night.

The stark forecast emerged after a major rowback by Taoiseach Brian Cowen and some of his Cabinet in the face of a revolt by backbench FF TDs.

The Government yesterday used a bizarre comparison with drink-driving regulations in the North as part of an attempt to kick the proposal to touch.

Transport Minister Noel Dempsey had earlier insisted there would be no delays in forcing through the new lower limit. However, following the fractious confrontation with party backbenchers on Tuesday night, sources said it could now be at least another 18 months before the limit is reduced.

Mr Dempsey insisted yesterday he wanted a change in the limit to be matched by a similar change in the North.

But there was no mention of any such north-south cooperation when Mr Dempsey was savagely criticised during his presentation to the backbenchers.

Road safety chiefs and the families of victims of drink driving reacted with fury to the delay.

The Road Safety Authority said lowering the limit would save 10 lives a year, and avoid more than 100 serious injuries.

The outcome of a public consultation exercise on reducing the limit in the North will not be known until mid-November at the earliest.

This effectively allows the Government to kick the divisive issue to touch until after the December Budget.

Mr Dempsey denied the new delay was a climbdown or an attempt to buy time. “That interpretation is complete, total and absolute nonsense,” he told the Irish Independent.

But government sources said it was clear the delay would take the heat out of the issue ahead of the Budget, when Mr Cowen needed all his backbenchers onside.

Mr Dempsey insisted the Department of Transport has been working with its Northern counterparts since November 2007 to bring about a coordinated response.

Setting himself up for further attacks from Fianna Fail backbenchers, Mr Dempsey vowed to pursue his reduced limit of 50mg.

“The Government has made a decision… that we reduce the blood alcohol content level from 80mg to 50mg. It’s my intention and the Government’s intention that that should happen,” he said.

Disgruntled

Aside from his own angry backbenchers, Mr Dempsey will also have to contend with government-supporting independent TD Jackie Healy-Rae who pledged to vote against the Government if the limits are changed.

“I’m sick of it, that’s all. I’m sick of it,” Mr Healy-Rae said.

“I’m not voting for it. I’m voting against it.”

Amid the continued fallout from the Fianna Fail parliamentary party meeting, Mr Cowen and Justice Minister Dermot Ahern moved to buy time and keep disgruntled backbenchers onside.

Both claimed the Government was looking to ensure cross-border cooperation.

And there remains no definitive date for publishing the controversial legislation or debating its contents in the Dail.

Instead, Mr Dempsey claimed it would be published “this session” – meaning between now and Christmas.

Road Safety Authority chief executive Noel Brett said it would be “fantastic” if the measure could be introduced on an all-island basis.

“However, right now, it shouldn’t prevent us from pushing ahead,” he said.

I hope a lot of the fools who were posting against this don’t personnally know one of the ten who die.

Ah i love the smell of bullshit in the morning :rolleyes:

[quote=“tipptops*”]Er he was 83 mgs per 100.

Farmer is talking about it being lowered from 80 mgs to 50 mgs.

Get your coat and don’t let the door hit you on the way out.[/quote]

[quote=“The Runt”]The legal limit at the time was 35 micrograms. Patrick Gageby, SC, for Mr Halvey, said there had been difficulties in establishing the exact circumstances of the collision. He said the DPP had changed his mind on three separate occasions and at one point had decided to withdraw the charges against his client.

how many lives would be saved if they aggressively policed the current limit?

bottom line with this is you can drive with as much drink on you as you like, the chances of you being caught are practically zero.

[quote=“HBV*”]how many lives would be saved if they aggressively policed the current limit?

bottom line with this is you can drive with as much drink on you as you like, the chances of you being caught are practically zero.[/quote]

Jesus i don’t know HBV. An awful lot of people have been caught around where i’m from, and its a rural area not far from Da Cidi.
They have been houding a few pubs around us for 6 or 7 months now. Massive bowling tradition around and we think they are after some of those lads and oithers are being caught in the cross fire.

[quote=“HBV*”]how many lives would be saved if they aggressively policed the current limit?

bottom line with this is you can drive with as much drink on you as you like, the chances of you being caught are practically zero.[/quote]

Eh, aren’t you the same chap who said forget about driving the next day on this thread only yesterday?

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Jesus i don’t know HBV. An awful lot of people have been caught around where i’m from, and its a rural area not far from Da Cidi.
They have been houding a few pubs around us for 6 or 7 months now. Massive bowling tradition around and we think they are after some of those lads and oithers are being caught in the cross fire.[/quote]

Whats bowling got to do with it? The lads going for pints after that or sipping away on the hip flask while it’s on is it?

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Jesus i don’t know HBV. An awful lot of people have been caught around where i’m from, and its a rural area not far from Da Cidi.
They have been houding a few pubs around us for 6 or 7 months now. Massive bowling tradition around and we think they are after some of those lads and oithers are being caught in the cross fire.[/quote]

my experience is different, both rural and urban.
who would catch you in Dublin City? you would see a checkpoint maybe once a a year and even then they only pull in one in the odd few for random testing.
where im from the main street you cant get parking after 10 on a saturday night, street will be empty by half one, guards turn a blind eye.

unless you are all over the road you could go your whole life driving home full of drink and get away with it.
you would count yourself very unlucky to be caught down our way.

[quote=“HBV*”]my experience is different, both rural and urban.
who would catch you in Dublin City? you would see a checkpoint maybe once a a year and even then they only pull in one in the odd few for random testing.
where im from the main street you cant get parking after 10 on a saturday night, street will be empty by half one, guards turn a blind eye.

unless you are all over the road you could go your whole life driving home full of drink and get away with it.
you would count yourself very unlucky to be caught down our way.[/quote]

In a drive across the city centre recently I came across 4 differing checkpoints, 3 for T&I and one for the bag, couldnt believe it.

thats what its coming to yes, eh, didnt say i was in agreement.

Ive done a fair bit of drink driving in my time but do it far less frequently nowadays,our local station Thomastown(5 miles away) was rebuilt and upgraded to some kind of regional traffic centre in recent Years and is alive with cops as a result,id still mooch home in the jeep after a few in the spots of a Friday night if a lift home didnt materialise but id be a lot more careful thesedays.

A good walkaround the village to check for sneaky cunts in unmarked mondeos is required followed by a walk down to the bridge to see if the coast is clear,this takes about 5 minutes but is a worthwhile exercise.Before getting into the Jeep id always have a good listen for oncoming cars before jumping in and away like fuck,this would usually be around 3am and you’d seldom meet the cunts but you never know the day nor the hour that they might come upon you at the same time.Around here theres a great comraderie amongst the community wherby everybody is on the watchout for them and letting fellas in the pubs know if theres danger outside,the phone regularly rings in the spots with a report of a sneaky cunt parked up below at the toilets for the past 20 minutes or a fella walking his dog might put his head in to let people know that they just drove through the village.

No they’d head in, well they used to anyway, for 2 or 3 quick handy ones before they headed into Togher or wherever they came out of for the day. Its killing a few traditions really to be honest. Most of these guys are over 35 at least and just want to get away from the wife for a few hours on a sunday before dinner.

I used to love the few pints and banter after the junior soccer or football matches when you played away. Every club used to arrange a feed (soup, sausages, etc) in a local pub after the game and you’d stay for a couple of pints, was a great start to a Sunday morning. Doesn’t happen anymore unfortunately.

[quote=“THE LINK WALSH”]Ive done a fair bit of drink driving in my time but do it far less frequently nowadays,our local station Thomastown(5 miles away) was rebuilt and upgraded to some kind of regional traffic centre in recent Years and is alive with cops as a result,id still mooch home in the jeep after a few in the spots of a Friday night if a lift home didnt materialise but id be a lot more careful thesedays.

A good walkaround the village to check for sneaky cunts in unmarked mondeos is required followed by a walk down to the bridge to see if the coast is clear,this takes about 5 minutes but is a worthwhile exercise.Before getting into the Jeep id always have a good listen for oncoming cars before jumping in and away like fuck,this would usually be around 3am and you’d seldom meet the cunts but you never know the day nor the hour that they might come upon you at the same time.Around here theres a great comraderie amongst the community wherby everybody is on the watchout for them and letting fellas in the pubs know if theres danger outside,the phone regularly rings in the spots with a report of a sneaky cunt parked up below at the toilets for the past 20 minutes or a fella walking his dog might put his head in to let people know that they just drove through the village.[/quote]

or like an innocent person on the road that you could hit. fooking hate this mentality of ‘ah sure, its alright to drink and drive as long as those cunts of guards dont catch me.’ bullshit. it’s not alright when people are killed because of it. and I know of people who were killed, who killed, and who killed themselves because of drink driving. but yet it’ll still alwyas be, ah sure I havenet been caught yet, so it must be grand.

Maybe Irish people could find another way top socialise that didn’t involve getting pissed. I know I don’t want to, but it might be the point they keep missing.

[quote=“HBV*”]my experience is different, both rural and urban.

you would count yourself very unlucky to be caught down our way.[/quote]

There is a blind eye being turned to it down the country certainly. I wouldn’t say that you need to be all over the road to be pulled, but the cops down my way will look for consistent offenders (they have an idea of most people anyway) and nab them. The guy who has two pints and goes home doesn’t fall under their radar. Sensible policing is how I would describe it.

I have to say that serious drink driving is not prevalent around Mohill, well at least not in the people I know.

And I think it is worth making that distinction between serious drink driving and not serious drink driving. If you do 130kmph on a motorway as I am sure many drink driver despisers on here do, then what is the difference between that and driving with two pints in you? You are breaking the law either way, a law in place to make the roads safer.

Fuck off with your crazy talk, we don’t want your kind around here. :guns:

I can’t condone that Gman, and I wouldn’t try to, but would you not accept that there are tolerable levels in these sort of things? Like I mentioned about breaching the speed limit by 10 kms, how is that different than drining with two pints.

The thing about drink driving is that a lot of people have seen the ads and automatically associate it with something really evil when speeding is a far bigger killer on the roads.

Same here, was what made the soccer such fun during the winter. Now our local team play saturdays, which is even better, you still get the whole sunday off to relax if you do want a few, or a good few, beers after the match.