Dry January and February Thread

Fair play Mossy lad.

A nice selection of non alcoholic drinks at the Ratoath Inn for you the next time you’re up.

How did you negotiate weddings & the likes initially with no booze?

You just go and don’t drink mate

I don’t understand, could you elaborate on that?

That wedding I described was the last I attended, even though I was still drinking when invited to others, I just didn’t attend and don’t. Hate them. Money racket. Strictly family weddings now only. Anything else I have a zero or a coke. 90 mins max. I can’t do listening to shite talk and lads spitting into me ear over the DJ.
Even last weekend I was getting ‘‘are ya well’’ ‘‘what’s happened you’’ holding a coke. Told a couple fuck off and mind yer business

Tell the cunts you’re gone mad on the heroin. And then ask them do they have a loan of 500 quid till the end of month.

I went to a wedding of a brazilian chick I used to party with when I was 3 months sober. I knew it’d be my first big test. During photos on the steps outside church with her, I informed her I might disappear without telling them suddenly at some point without letting them know as I was 3 months sober. She told me that she was too, as she was 3 months pregnant. I’d no idea. I was the last lad to leave the dance floor that night knowing I wasn’t the only one at it. Otherwise, the self pity would be in danger of swallowing you up in those crucial early months. No harm to have another sober dude that you can call if things start feeling uncomfortable. A phone call can make a huge amount of difference, if it’s with someone who’s trodden the same path. Also, re Weddings and Funerals…I always had to be the last man to leave. Now, I leave when I feel I’ve stayed long enough. That could be an hour, or 12hr. Anyone that usually that starts pushing drink on me has been made uncomfortable by how they internally feel about their own drinking, and that’s their business.

:sweat_smile::sweat_smile::sweat_smile:

I remember work nights out where the company owners were asking me why I wasn’t drinking, and kept asking me each round. I should have told them to get fucked long ago.
Nothing better than waking up the morning after the night before with no hangover and no regrets.

Checking my bank balance and my sent messages/call log the second I open my eyes in the morning is something I have NEVER done since I stopped. It was oftentimes the first thing I’d do.

That reminds me, you owe me 500 quid, pal!

Looking in the mirror saying ‘‘you’re the cunt that spent all my money’’

We had a bit of a school reunion at Christmas this year for the first time in a good few Christmases.

Anyway one lad wasn’t drinking and was quizzed on it early on as to why, and he just said in a friendly but firm manner, ‘I just don’t drink anymore’. There was a silence for a few seconds but a total respect and it wasn’t mentioned again for the rest of the night.

Everyone has their own reasons and its nobody’s business.