I packed it in âŚfucking 9pm on the first Saturday of the yearâŚpitiful effort.
Fucking horrific kid. Just off the train from Dublin full of young Munster cunts pissed and singing their heads offâŚlucky bastards
4 years sauce free today
Fair play to me. Iâll stay going.
I did dry January but am going to get absolutely smashed tonight to make up for it
What was the motivation, and howâd you do it?
Youâve earned it pal
Motivation was my mental health or lack of. I had a lot of things going on, was attending counselling. I would be going great and then crash. Decided drinking at home 7 nights a week, extra on Friday and Saturday because it was the weekend, needed to change if my life was going to improve. As I said a lot of shit happening together, so I just took responsibility for the shit I could control and had to let go of other stuff. Anyways, I always treat the women here on Jan 6th, we go out or get a takeaway or I cook. There was 6 cans of Guinness in the fridge. Opening the last one I made a toast that it was my last one and ââweâll see how it goesââ. This was coupled with starting on a mild dose of meds for anxiety.
I still drink Guinness zero, I sampled all the non alcohol beers and found the Erdinger one the best before Guinness 0.0. Guinness had a lager too, it was very nice but I havenât seen it in a while.
Now I just couldnât be arsed. Giving up alcohol allowed me tune into me own head and gut feelings. Itâs difficult to explain without reaming off paragraphs here. Bottom line is Iâm better for it, my family are better for it and my marriage is too.
That Erdinger non-alco is absolutely sensational.
Congrats on the aul sobriety too scan!
Fair play kid.
Taste aside, alcohol is boring. The erdinger non alcoholic is not bad at all.
Two massive problems in Ireland today, mental health and obesity
Packing up the drink should be the first step in both
Fair play to you
Great post. Stick with it. Didnât drink hardly anything in Jan apart from a blow out last weekend for planned events. Will stay off it again for this month. Itâs a curse really.
Must be awful to have no willpower bud.
The success of Guinness 0.0 especially is how near it is to the real stuff. I have got all the going down on your sister jokes and jibes and fuck them
I was pulled at a check point one morning. I began to sweat, doing a tot in my head how many cans had I, how long did I sleep, had I slept them offâŚfs like, almost any reading is automatic suspension for a commercial driver. Anyways, soon after we were invited to a wedding on a Friday and I had to work the following day⌠it was torture. I had calculated off drinkaware.ie a couple of days before the event that if I drank like I usually would I couldnât get behind the wheel until the following Tuesday . So, I think that was the beginning of the end, another approach was needed.
Cheers bud. Had the middle ones 21st Saturday night. Mrs. B and I a bit edgy about the young crew and how they might behave. She even stayed dry to drive anyone home etc or be on hand for a disaster. Little did we think it was the oul crowd weâd have to mind Iâve had great craic this week recounting antics and things said by them under the influence.
Fannies
Great work!! Fucking awesome stuff. The lack of mental health infrastructure and the stigma that still remains in Ireland means we self medicate, and every human experiences anxiety to a degree. Take an emotionally stunted culture, rigged with inter generational trauma and weâre fucked from probably six weeks from conception. Alcohol takes that edge off, until we engineer our lives that we can take the edge off as often possible. We veer toward friends who drink hard, industries where itâs acceptable, women whoâll put up with it until it comes back at us like a boomerang and threatens to cut us to ribbons. I was in my local LIDL for the first time a few days ago and was taken aback by the fact that there seemed to be more 0.0 than regular beer. Things are changing. Giving up the booze gives the mind space to breath. Therapy will help ease the anxieties. Trying to help a human to make progress on mental health issues when theyâre heavily dependent on alcohol is a a fruitless endeavor. Iâm not anti-alcohol in any shape or form, but I know that there are some people who can have a healthy relationship with it, and one of those people isnât me. Keep up the good work.
That was me with me. Peaks and troughs then crash. I didnât think I was dependent until I looked at how my days were organised around getting home in front of the telly with my stash in the fridge.
It can be insidious. I had a mate who used to have a few cans on her balcony every evening. Usually one or two, never more than four. She ended up in hospital for an unrelated blood clot and ended up in shock from alcohol withdrawals. The doc remarked that most cases he seen in Ireland of having to bring people through the alcohol detoxification process was people who used it to have a decent nightâs sleep and not people who weâd traditionally view as being addicted to or dependent on alcohol.
Drinking is like anything, grand in moderation.
If youâre better off without it then great, if you enjoy a pint then fine.
I just see some lads who go off it who didnât have any drink problems and they turn to be shit craic fellas, socially they limit themselves also.