It really won’t
It 100% will. The current model is unsustainable
Okay, I will qualify the following by saying that I’m a traditionalist.
To me the GAA is/was all about community. People pulling together and giving of themselves and their time to better said community.
Somewhere, this has been lost with development squads which foster elitism right through to inter county squads.
There are whole load of vested interests in the gaa that are now milking the system for all its worth. Life coaches, specialist coaches, s and c, wellness, physios etc.
It does not sit right as these are funds that could be used to improve facilities for clubs and therefore communities.
Rock has a profile due to the success of Dublin. This is down to a squad of players. If he was from a non competitive county, no one would have heard from him.
He is well within his right to exploit his profile to better himself financially. However, it just wont sit right with a lot of gaa members.
Lads paying for golf lessons or tennis lessons from some dodgy club pro giving out about a chance to get a lesson from one of the world’s best GAA players.
Has anyone mentioned the taxman yet?
Money is not there for it to be fully pro. At best players would get a token stipend. 33 teams in men’s adult football if we leave out Kilkenny. Women would also have to be included. 30 on a panel. 2000 players. 5k a year is 10 million.
I’d accept that view if traditionalists were saying the same about club managers, county managers etc and agitating to do something about it. But really what traditionalists want is for everyone to just pretend it’s not happening while it is.
You ask a lad to give out medals, you’ll give him an envelope in it for say €200 for his time because you wouldn’t expect him to travel and give up his time otherwise.
You ask a lad to give out medals and he says no bother that’ll be €200 you blacken his name the length and breath of the country for wanting money.
He’s advertising it totally publically. Hell be paying tax I presume (not being sarcastic)
GAA won’t ever be fully pro at IC level but the current situation is not sustainable at all . This year could well bring things to a head .
Inter county Gaelic football is dying .
Hurling doing ok but there are fissures
How is football dying and hurling not when there’s only 8 or 9 counties who take hurling anyway seriously
Maybe football will go down hurling route and only be played competitively by the top 8 teams
I feel the same about clubs using outside managers, coaches etc.
If Jim Gavin was still in charge, I doubt this would be allowed to happen to be honest.
That’s a rather simplistic view of things.
It’s the truth mate.
There’s been lads given out about on here because they asked for a few quid for handing out medals
Football has 1 team well ahead of all others . A few more who are decent and the rest are whipping boys . The game is a poor enough spectacle in general ,
Hurling is probably in near as good a shape as it has been in a long time although there are worries . Attendances are decent . The product is in the main entertaining .
Overall there is plenty to be concerned about for the GGA
The Dubs will be stopped this year
County boards are in enough trouble without paying the players as well
It’ll be a sham of a championship and nobody cares, but yeah, I think the Dubs are done.
The only thing to stop them is CoVid