Sky wont show the replay of what happened. Looks like a broken leg. Must have been bad if they aint showing it. Arsenal players look in shock.
It actually completely broke off. His leg ended up 30 yards away from the rest of his body.
You bring the class of the forum down with comments like that.
Wenger’s take on the tackle from the BBC below. Sky only showed replays from a long range angle that made it impossible to decipher how bad the tackle was. I think I’ll pluck up the courage to have a look at the other angles and pictures available on the web. Either way, it’s a shame to see a good player like Eduardo who’s never been malicious or dirty himself suffer an inhury like that. He’s almost certain to miss Euro 2008 now too:
Wenger fury after Eduardo injury
Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger said Martin Taylor should “never play football again” after the Birmingham captain’s tackle broke Eduardo’s leg.
Eduardo went down after the challenge in the third minute of the Premier League encounter at St Andrew’s and Taylor was shown a straight red card.
“The tackle was horrendous and this guy should never play football again,” Wenger told BBC Sport.
“That kind of tackle was waiting to happen to one of our players.”
He added: "I’ve seen some bad ones but they’re not always punished with broken legs. You only need to kill one person one time. You cannot accept that on a football pitch.
“It was a massive shock for the team. Eduardo is a fantastic guy and for the players to see him in such pain and to see his leg in such a shape had an effect.”
Eduardo, 24, remained on the pitch for seven minutes as medical staff attended to him before he was stretchered off and taken to Selly Oak Hospital.
The seriousness of the injury was apparent as both sets of players and medical staff looked shocked while Eduardo was treated on the pitch.
Speaking on 5 Live, ex-Everton captain Kevin Ratcliffe said: “Looking at the players, especially (Cesc) Fabregas and Adebayor, realising the seriousness of the injury their heads went down immediately.”
The Brazilian-born striker looks certain to miss out on Croatia’s participation at Euro 2008 in June.
That looks very nasty.
Tackles like that can end careers when the victim, like Eduardo in this case, has their foot planted in the ground. The leg has nowhere to go and basically snaps.
At least if a player’s leg is off the ground they’re generally able ride the tackle and take an impact knock rather than the horrific outcome Eduardo experienced.
I can see now why Sky didnt show it but perhaps they should show this as a way of saying this type of challenge should be stamped out. I can see Taylor getting a very serious punishment for this. Maybe a 5 match ban would be seen as leniant.
http://img120.imageshack.us/img120/2579/1963628uj6.jpg
Christ thats fooking sick
[quote=“Bandage”]Wenger’s take on the tackle from the BBC below. Sky only showed replays from a long range angle that made it impossible to decipher how bad the tackle was. I think I’ll pluck up the courage to have a look at the other angles and pictures available on the web. Either way, it’s a shame to see a good player like Eduardo who’s never been malicious or dirty himself suffer an inhury like that. He’s almost certain to miss Euro 2008 now too:
Wenger fury after Eduardo injury
Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger said Martin Taylor should “never play football again” after the Birmingham captain’s tackle broke Eduardo’s leg.
Eduardo went down after the challenge in the third minute of the Premier League encounter at St Andrew’s and Taylor was shown a straight red card.
“The tackle was horrendous and this guy should never play football again,” Wenger told BBC Sport.
“That kind of tackle was waiting to happen to one of our players.”
He added: "I’ve seen some bad ones but they’re not always punished with broken legs. You only need to kill one person one time. You cannot accept that on a football pitch.
“It was a massive shock for the team. Eduardo is a fantastic guy and for the players to see him in such pain and to see his leg in such a shape had an effect.”
Eduardo, 24, remained on the pitch for seven minutes as medical staff attended to him before he was stretchered off and taken to Selly Oak Hospital.
The seriousness of the injury was apparent as both sets of players and medical staff looked shocked while Eduardo was treated on the pitch.
Speaking on 5 Live, ex-Everton captain Kevin Ratcliffe said: “Looking at the players, especially (Cesc) Fabregas and Adebayor, realising the seriousness of the injury their heads went down immediately.”
The Brazilian-born striker looks certain to miss out on Croatia’s participation at Euro 2008 in June.[/quote]
Thought that was a bit much from Wenger but he retracted the statement last night and apologised for it apparently. Not always the best speaker after a game is Wenger so fair play to him for taking back his comments.
Tackle is below for anyone who wants it:
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x4hd3k_birmingham-city-v-arsenal-230208-ed_sport
My housemate (not Jugs - the other one) split up with his girlfriend in the wake of Eduardo’s injury. Not shitting you at all here but it’s actually hilarious. She was in college on Saturday morning and had suggested dropping by to the pub where he was going to be watching the football in time for the Ireland-Scotland game. Anyway, cesc4 takes all things Arsenal quite seriously and he was literally gutted about Eduardo’s injury and there was also a good bit of anger about conceding the late goal too. The bird rang him up mid-afternoon when she was finished in college, which was coincidentally enough pretty much just as the Arsenal game had finished too, and he was feeling quite emotional. He basically told her that he wanted to be on his own for the day and didn’t want to see her. She took that badly herself and because of this, along with a few other incidents lately where he’s put his friends or football or whatever ahead of her, she doesn’t want to see him ever, ever, ever again apparently. That’s gas.
do ya think any of these are worse than eduardo’s?
[ATTACH]18.IPB[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH]19.IPB[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH]20.IPB[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH]21.IPB[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH]22.IPB[/ATTACH]
That Luc Nillis one is pretty bad - think that ended his career too didn’t it?
Some pretty bad stuff below, not for the easily offended.
Matthias Lanzinger (Austrian skier - had to have his leg amputated). Wasn’t clear to me on the first viewing what happened but when you look at it in the replay you can see his leg twisting around 360 degrees. Think this only happened the other day.
This next one is fucking horrific. Got as far as the slow motion replay - not sure how many times they show it but Christ almighty.
This is the horrific death of Tom Pryce at the South African GP of 1977. Tom Pryce is the only Welsh driver ever to win an F1 race however he is remembered for his tragic death. Pryce’s team mate Zorzi retired on lap 21 and pulled aside on the long back straight. He was at first stuck and two marshalls came to his aid. However Pryce hit the second marshall named Frederick Jansen Van Vuuren who was carrying a 40lb fire extinguisher at 170mph causing instant death to the marshall and the fire extinguisher he was carrying hit Pryce’s head and then flung out of the racetrack over the grandstands. The impact with the extinguisher had wrenched Pryce’s helmet upward, and he had been partially decapitated by the strap. Death was almost certainly instantaneous. However the car didn’t stop and continued down the straight and then collided with Jacques Lafitte’s car putting him out of the race. As for Van Vuuren, the injuries to his body were so severe that he was identified only by exclusion after the race director summoned all of the race marshals and Van Vuuren could not be found.
Oh good fuck. I’m speechless.
I’m too chicken to watch these.
That fella who was killed instantly when hit by the car is probably one of the worst things i’ve ever seen. Then again, i saw a video on the internet one time of a 12 year old al queda member carve a fellas head off with a butcher knife. Horrendus stuff can be found on the internet if you’re that way inclined but in fairness i just stumbled across that particular thing accidentally.
Can’t watch these in work but think I’ll be morbidly curious. Mate of mine showed me all sorts of videos he downloaded from ogrish.com - beheadings, suicides etc. It was kinda creepy.
I did Larsson’s injury a couple of years back - it’s the sight of your leg flapping about that’s the worst part; took 2 operations and a year and a half to fully recover.
one of the lads puked on the spot when he saw me leg!
I follow Formula 1 quite a bit, not as much as I did a few years back, but had always known about legends in racing. Jochen Rindt who won the championship posthumley after being killed at Monza in 1970. Jim clark dying in Germany, Gilles Villeneuve in Belgium.
I’d also heard or read about Roger Williamson, who was killed in a race. This was one of the worst I heard about, as he crashed and David Purely, another driver and friend, stopped his car and tried get him out. Williamson wasnt hurt badly and was shouting to be helped out of his car, but there was nothing Purely could do to get his friend out and he stood there as the flames killed Williamson
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YyzzCiT6qSc
Ronnie Peterson was also killed in this crach, altho not at the scene, it was later in hospital due to complications and bone marrow getting in his bloodstream or something like that.
Here’s a video of Nacho Novo’s red card from yesterday. It was meant to be an absolutely horrendous tackle in the vein of the one that Eduardo received. Paatelainen gave him a piece of his mind as he went off and then Walter Smith got involved with Paatelainen and was sent to the stand. Vile hun bastards: