Eoin Kelly Tipp

Where was Pat Spillane when the chips were down against Offaly in ‘82?

He should never have been brought on is the consensus . He wasn’t fully recovered from a cruciate . He never got to the pitch of the game .

He was better than both Mullane and Brennan.

As a corner forward? Arguably. For a shorter period of time I’d say.

Probably the best corner forward in the time I’ve been watching hurling and even at that I think he could’ve achieved more. I think most hurling fans would recognise this and therefore i think generally he’s rated correctly

2001 to 2009 he was exceptional for the most part. I doubt even the most rabid Kilkenny fan would argue that Eddie Brennan was a better player and I would rate Brennan highly

Ah Kelly was class in fairness. Think he came on corner forward as a sub in Croke Park for his championship debut - or even in his first season at any rate. I’d say he might even have been minor still.

There had been a huge amount of hype about him. Anyway, first ball he gets he sticks it over the bar at the Canal End. He just had it.

Remember him scoring a few cracking goals against Cork early on in his career too.

He was better than Callanan and Reid. Of current players I’d rate only Canning better than him.

What position was @Bandage playing when he got all the scores. Surely cant be forgotten in this debate.

Didn’t he play most of his later years as a full forward? How many years did he play corner for the most part?

I watched the highlights last week of that match and saw he came on as a sub. Was wondering what injury he had. Did he play any another other matches in ‘82 - Munster final or A-I semi final?

Wonder will any of the current Dubs match his Celtic Cross or All Star records…

No relation

Don’t think he played any other games in 1982. He did his cruciate in 81 I think and he was the first player that I remember that came back from doing it. Think he was sent to Man Us medical team to be fixed up

Franco Baresi something something the World Cup 1994 something something Seamus Callinan

Informative rating.

That was a mighty unsound post.

Marked him last year in a club game. He still has it. His free taking is the best I have seen.
One of our lads was telling the referee that he was trying to steal a yard or 2 for a free from about 45 yard line out on the sideline. Upon hearing this he then brought the ball back 2 yards behind the sideline inches from the dug out and stuck it over. He’s pure class and would make time for anyone.

He only had the cruciate done in 83. He played 2 years with it in shite. His knee was in tatters in 82 but he started the final.

Could you imagine the soft cunts nowadays doing that?

Brennan had better pace & athleticism and could cover more positions but was nowhere near the same level of technique and skill as Kelly. It took a long time for Brennan to prove himself, Kelly was a star right from the off

Shur Kilkenny made Kelly.

Aesy now.