If you only pay peanuts then all youâll get is a monkey.
Irish soccer needs to give John Delaney more money.
It seems to be very easy get these coaching licences. Iâd say itâs very formulaic and if lads can regurgitate a few drills and buzzwords then they have no trouble getting the UEFA B licence
Thatâs the same across the board, these s&c coaches are the worst offenders
Ireland is one of the best teams in the world at rugby, Eire are an embarrassment at football, famous for a load of drunkards singing when they get the shit hammered out of them 4-0
The other thing that helps with qualifiers in particular, is that it seems that many of the big players at the leviathans canât really stir themselves for many of the games. It allows teams like ourselves to exceed expectations as we fight in every far flung concrete bowl for odd points.
People need to get off their arses and out from behind their computer screens and off their high stools and actually contribute to the game of soccer in Ireland.
How many tools can talk hours and hours of utter shit online about 442, 352, tactics etc etc etc with a superior condescending tone yet wouldnât bother themselves going down to the local club to share their vast knowledge with the people who actually need it?
To quote Gerry Thornley ânobody plays rugbyâ
We are a super power in rugby, widely respected, especially in proper counties like England, here on the mainland, Eire are the subject of ridicule in football, pure âoh thereâs the micks again, pissed out of their heads with no shoes onâ thats all hey contribute to the tournament, the court jester
I love it how these thick Micks are over in France having the time of their lives while conveniently forgetting they are only there because of Denis OâBrien s money.
They will be back next week then moaning and whining online about OâBrien being awarded mobile phone licences and getting worked up about one of his companyâs fitting water meters.
You literally couldnât make that up.
thatâs a great point actually
Weâre a rugby superpower in the same way Laois are a hurling superpower
you couldnât make it up.
Iâd say if Paul Murphy tried to organise a protest today heâd hardly get a dozen of the warriors out.
For the love of Jesus fucking Christ, this âwe are a small nationâ shite needs to fucking stop.
Croatia is a small nation. Uruguay is a small nation. Belgium is a fucking small nation.
Being a small nation is no excuse for not being able to produce players with BASIC technical skills. We are a fucking embarrasment in that department. No body expects us to win the Euros or WC.
Who claimed Laois to be a hurling superpower you prick? FOAD
With 23 qualification places up for grabs, it was a hell of an achievement.
The two points garnered from 12 against Poland and Scotland and two dreadful performances against Georgia (albeit just about picking up 6 points) was the true representation of where Eire were at. The ole ole best fans in the world brigade focused on the German results, an admittedly impressive haul of 4 points from 6 against the world champions, but wholly misleading.
And people saying âwe punch above our weightâ in Rugby. fffs.
We regularly get our holes opened by Argentina, where there are maybe a hundred or two Rugby players in the whole nation.
You literally couldnât make up some of the shite ye are spouting.
Jesus fairly touchy there mate
Iâll cut you you cunt.
Best of luck today mate
Ya its total nonsense.
And iâm talking about all sports. Rugby is generally ahead of the rest. @backinatracksuit
The approach is âgive a man a fish and feed him for a dayâ
Where it should be âteach him to fish and feed him for a lifetimeâ.
Rugby is the only sport with the 2nd approach.
I have given workshops on S&C and Fundamental Movement to clubs/groups. All prople look for are drills and mini games. I give none, and i find the real coaches emerge pretty quickly. What i do is take an actual practical session with one of the teams, still mostly driven by the actual coaches and i just chat to the group. I lead them to resources and encourage them to use their immagination. Teach them simple basics and fundamentals to work off and keep it simple. Its working from the feedback.
Most sports coaching courses are box ticking exercises, nothing else. Most people go out and do their own thing anyway. I see an awful lot of terroble coaching still week in week out across most sports. Am i am having horrific stories related to me every week as well.