If McClean had have looked up and pulled that ball back to Slab…we would have won this.
Awful pity.
If McClean had have looked up and pulled that ball back to Slab…we would have won this.
Awful pity.
Both top, top guys.
Sheasy’s unbridled celebrations on Wednesday showed how much of a team player he is despite the personal disappointment of not being selected.
It was a tap in from Murphy if he played the right ball. Was that at 1-1?
Well used to it
O’Shea is just a better defender at the moment. It was a big call to drop him, for the set-piece threat but we looked nervous against Italy and Duffy made a big error today.
Agreed. Easy blame the centre halves for the second goal and sending off but they were left wide open.
He was nearly MOTM up to that point. He is a young player who made a tired mistake. We have someone for the future.
They can blabber on about the goals we conceded until the cows come fucking home but the major issue i would have was why when in decent postions near the end the ball was not delivered into the French area. Wes had at least 3 good chances to either cross it in or alternatively pass on one occasion to Coleman outside him in space.
Wes is getting off scott free here despite being fresh in comparison to players they are picking on freely here.
Bunch of cunts.
I heard an interview with McCarthy after the Italy game, and he does not seem like a self-confident guy at all. He is a lot of talent, but sometimes does go missing. But I think tiredness was a factor today aswell, he was excellent in the first half.
First one was made easy by Duffys poor positioning. A much maligned player
He had a meltdown for about 10 minutes, lack of experience against that level of opposition being the reason. Hope he gets a good move for himself this summer and continues to learn.
O’Shea is the new stick to beat MoN today.
The team from Ireland gave us 60 special minutes today and for that I’m grateful to them.
Fuck the begrudgers, like me.
Retirements for
Robbie
Shay
John O
Thanks lads. Outstanding servants. Shay shouldn’t have come back though.
Typical treating the symptom and not the root cause abalysis by the lads. It was a pressurised mistake.
I think dropping 2 points against Sweden and our goal difference after the Belgium game cost us in the end when you think about it.
Could have had a far easier opponent in the last 16…and more time to recover potentially.
I’ve no doubt he will be a fine player for us in time, and he is very brave, good for a last-ditch block. But O’Shea organises that defence and is a calm head.
Hopefully he’ll learn from the experience though, and grow to be a better player.
O’Shea can contribute another year anyway, I think he has probably played his best football for Ireland in that last two years.
Utter bullshit. You could not change the center halves after their effort against Italy.
The lack of a defensive MF with instructions to protect his CB’s is far more galling you fucking dimwit.
As good a time as any to go. I’d agree he could, but I could see him going.