O’Shea didn’t do anything to get dropped in the first half.
I would have Whelan in there myself too, and that was obviously an issue, but MON was never going to do that.
O’Shea didn’t do anything to get dropped in the first half.
I would have Whelan in there myself too, and that was obviously an issue, but MON was never going to do that.
He visibly tired in every game around the hour mark, in fact his legs seem to go even earlier today. There has been talk of a niggling injury but given that he played all season for Everton I would’ve thought he’d have more in the tank. He has very little confidence in his passing, almost always preferring the easy option over the attacking option. He hasn’t really pushed on much over the last season or two, which is a pity because there is a fine player in there trying to get out, as evidenced in the first half today and the other night against Italy.
Duffy and Keogh were picked on merit…the panel are completely in what they’re saying.
I’d massive time for Wes, but he was poor.
I’d say he’ll probably go. I doubt he’d make a World Cup, might as well move forward with a new partnership.
Listen to these cunts. Can they not see McCarthy with his thumb up his hole watching on?
Sheasy shouldn’t retire.
Even if he doesn’t make it to Russia, he can still contribute something to part of the qualifying campaign, just by being there.
A great influence.
I can see him being a fine coach.
Yeah what might have been especially when you consider how shit all the teams looked yesterday. If we could have held out for another few minutes I think we’d have done it. The lads gave it their absolute all though, can’t ask for any more than that. A lot to build on looking to the World Cup in 2 years
The subs were poor, I thought taking McClean off was a big mistake as he had the engine to keep going and we had no real outball at that time - it should have been McCarthy or Hendick at that stage as they were shot and Brady could have moved infield.
In hindsight, bringing Whelan or Quinn in earlier might have been a better idea.
I do think our whole team tired visibly today, Hendrick & Brady too, Murphy up front. McClean was probably the only one who still had the legs for closing down constantly.
Ryle Nugent can shove this shite up his hole.
Shame on Brady for letting these cunts continue to extort their bile unchallenged.
I hate this craic micro-analysing a defender’s decision making while ignoring everything else about how a chance developed. And this shit about O’Shea is way over the top.
In fairness pal, McClean played a material part in the concession of the second goal.
Ward threw the ball into him and his sloppy past back to Ward caught out our midfield and ultimately our defences shape.
He lacked composure at key moments in this tournament. I love the guy…but he’ll know himself that was a simple pass back to Ward instead he gave it to Griessmann who knocked it forward to Giroud.
And we were savagely punished as a result.
It’s just typical Dunphy - he always needs a scapegoat and a tale of injustice against another player - Today it’s Shane Duffy and John O’Shea.
I’m done with negativity.
The last two weeks and particularly the last five days have been great.
We believed again, and while we have ultimately been disappointed, we have regained pride in ourselves in spades.
Martin O’Neill MBE is a great manager.
Roy Keane has ably backed him up as assistant.
The players, while limited, have done everything they could and more and I’m proud of their peRformances.
Positivity, it is the way for me now.
Fuck off, you hipster cunt.
Hopefully he picks up something from Big Sam. Not too many have learnt much at United.
Agreed. Boring as fuck analysis. They’d be better off seething about the different rest periods that both teams got in the lead up and the atrocious decision by the referee, lino and extra official lad when they awarded a goal kick to the frogs instead of a corner to Ireland that led directly to the French goals.
Why does Dunphy assume if Long had scored that it would be game over?
Yeah that’s exactly what it is, Always taking a marginal call, on the field or off it, and blowing it out of all proportion.