Euro 2016 - Ireland v Italy

Oh my god, it wasn’t a dream!!! We are the best small nation in the world.

Iceland have every chance ofbeating ingerland as ingerland are shit.
Having said that, I would love to get ingerland. We could beat them handy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xJY7JSHA3SY

Roy giving Robbie his instructions before the goal :blush:

We changed our team significantly. Duffy was starting for the first time. Thats an outrageously big play from a normally conservative coach.

They played Immobile, Insigne and Florenzi. They are all serious players who would make many top level International teams.

I think their problem was Irelands physicality. We picked a huge team. We pinned them back and that also meant we got to play the ball around a bit and retain possession.

Field position is a huge thing in tactical sports. We got it totally wrong against Belguim and gave a team of individuals (ralented no doubt) a free reign.

The manager completely changed it. He mived players around, changed tactics significantly and brought in 4 players. To do that in 4 days is not fucking easy. Ireland overall changed more than Italy who at least were similar in style.

Was it a help the best guys were out, of course it was. But that actually doesn’t matter. Its a tournament, just take what you can get. Its been the most even tournament i can remember, you just roll with it.

@Rocko or anyone whats your view on McCarthy playing well when Whelans not there? Remember this being discussed in the past but didn’t think of it last night. It cannot be a coincidence.

And what about the mobility of Greizman for Sunday. Can we go with 2 huge bastatds again? He is a step up from Zara.

Waking up to the mother of all hangovers. Thank fuck I don’t have to work today.
Great reaction and analysis to the game lads. It really picked up on the mood of the nation. Great fun in Cork last night. Washington St was closed off for a few hours as the place was going apeshit. Fair dues to the Gardaí for doing that.
Just to see Ireland play, that’s all I wanted. Okay Italy had the B team out but it’s still Italy and they are still Conte’s men and would have wanted to impress.
Ireland fronted up, played the ball well, good possession football and of course came up with a peach of a goal.
Fenians to a man, fantastic and brave management, bring on the CESM’s!!!

Good post @caoimhaoin

We did the old “full court press” in basketball parlance. Not easy maintain that as long as we did

McCarthy when played in his best position has always been good for Ireland. He’s a dm and nothing else.

In same boat.day off and hungover. Going to spend the day putting bunting up in the neighbourhood

That is beautiful.

I’m balling my eyes out here.

I have to drive to leafy Fingal for a wedding at 3! At least I’m bulletproof for it

Beautiful inserts on Ireland AM this morning, latest was a video of World Champion Sheamus celebrating the win. Also a lovely interview with the great Davy Keogh.

Is that not a fucking fantastic attitude? I’m not into the back slapping, but that should not take away from the reality.

Its a tournament.
Its a festival.
We don’t go wrecking businesses and acting like macho clowns.
People are there for fun. Fucking imagine that. Fun. Try it. Its awesome. Work hard (or go to credit union and work hard later) and play hard.
Make another nation(s) fall in love with your attitude.
Those fellas crying in the stadium were clearly not into it.

Jesus those Irish fans are cunts. I fucking hate all those cunts having “the best time of their lives” and having stories forever. I fucking hated it myself when it was my time. Hated it. Never talk about the best times of my life.

You are a grouchy cunt. Enjoy it for fuck sake. I was slow enough into it to be honest, but these lads gave us something. If you can watch Robbie Bradys interview after the game and not be emotional and think “i know 20 lads exactly like that lad” then you are living in the wrong country. Mate.

Cracking post.last night lifted the mood of our country

Huzzah

Shortest 3 hour hungover drive ever ahead of me.
Fuck yeah

I’m going for a walk down the Prom lads.

Fair play to McClean, had a great game after a poor start and proved me wrong anyway. McCarthy did well but him never ever looking for the ball is a big problem

Just packing the bag and getting ready for home after a week in France.

I’m tired but content

I have to uphold the night standard of truth and facts on TFK. I’ll step in when I see someone spouting utter shite as you do