'Facing the Haka'

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/rugbyworldcup/haka_get_438.jpg

I really hope Ireland don’t embarrass us all tomorrow when facing the Haka. It really gets my goat every time they play NZ when they all bind arms and line up like they’re facing a tidal wave or something. It makes them look yellow in my book. Much better off just standing there normally on their own with a sneeringly bored look on your face I reckon.

Yeah I think apathy is the way to go. I think it’s actually more intimidating then you’d think. I’ve seen it done up close and it’s the most intense human show of emotion I’ve ever seen. I expected it to be just a comic sort of symbolism but this means something to many New Zealanders. And that’s a very positive reflection on the country. There’s very few other ex-colonies (including Ireland) that have embraced their heritage as successfully.

The Haka is fine, it’s the way it’s faced I think is idiotic. They look like scared little schoolboys lining up like that arm in arm.

I think Ireland were one of the first nations to link arms and face down the haka. Willie Anderson was captain and he was in the middle of his men and made a V shape up towards the lead Kiwi. Was impressive at the time. They still bate the shite out of us.

You are correct Locke- nov 89 lansdowne road, my first outing as a schoolboy to an International. Prior to that the opposition just warmed up at the other end during the Haka. The next week ths BaBas stood in front of them without the Angry Anderson march.
We could make a mockery of the whole thing and have Michael ‘feet of flames’ Flatley reply through dance

WBY

I hope the crowd sing something during it, and I hope BoD doesn’t try to “honour” it in any way, just go about it like the All Blacks will treat Ireland’s Call

I disagree. This is part of the Maori culture that is being expressed by their representatives in a sporting theatre, far from their own shores.
The Haka is embraced for what it represents in all the major stadia of the Rugby world so why should we dishonour NZ traditions by following your suggestion.
I am unsure what the NZ approach to Ireland’s Call will be, personally, that “song” in conjunction with the National Anthem must make them think they are playing 2 different countries.

The last time BoD faced the haka he had a wee Welsh man beside him (am I right here Munster men?). Tomorrow he’ll have some warriors like Heaslip, Dempsey, Fitzgerald and Kearney beside him. Lads who’d put their neck on the line for him. I just hope the other lads don’t let him down. I’ll be in my usual spot on the hill anyway!

[quote=“Boxtyeater”]I disagree. This is part of the Maori culture that is being expressed by their representatives in a sporting theatre, far from their own shores.
The Haka is embraced for what it represents in all the major stadia of the Rugby world so why should we dishonour NZ traditions by following your suggestion.
I am unsure what the NZ approach to Ireland’s Call will be, personally, that “song” in conjunction with the National Anthem must make them think they are playing 2 different countries.[/quote]

I know its painful

But they are playing two different countries.

I think the paddies should sing “Do you want yer old lobby washed down” and do a little sway like jig in their huddle when that other crowd are sticking their tongues out.

the aura surrounding the haka disapeared when live matches and the rugby wc arrived. growing up you heard more about it but you only ever got a snip of a recording of it and it.
to be honest now id only see it as a bit of a song and a dance, no 19st rugby player would be intimidated by it and its a photo oportunity no more.
however i find it strange othe countries havent followed with requests to do their own thing before a game.
id like to see the paddies do the seige of ennis after the haka, and get those kiwi fuckers to face it and see how they react.
oconnell and quinlan to lead it out and the whole 15 to sow it into the fuckers, the crowd would go beserk.

What was that shit when Drico picked up the bit of grass and threw it in the air after the Haka. What was that supposed to represent? Personally I think the New Zealanders take this stuff a bit too seriously. “They disrespected the Haka blah de blah” Everyone is supposed to respect this cultural marvel, for me it’s histrionics. Do it if you want and fcuk off, stop shoving it down our throats.

[quote=“Mairegangaire”]I know its painful

But they are playing two different countries.

What do you mean by that???

I read a thing once (it was in an Australian newspaper, so it was forgettable) about teams facing the Haka and they said that a lot of teams face it arm in arm as a sign of respect for the All Blacks and the fact that the Haka is a Maori war chant.

Fuck that. Linking arms and showing any modicum of respect to the Haka is suicidal. Not so much a sneeringly bored look is necessary, just sneer at them. Fuck em, they’re not all that great.

What do you call 15 blokes sitting down watching the RWC final?

The All Blacks.

Welcome to the northern hemisphere’s house of pain. Fuck Dunedin, this is Croker.

Lads surely linking arms facing the Haka is just a sign of unity. You stand alone the fookers will focus on you. I think its magnificanet and am really looking forward to it later. Respectful silence and sing back at them then. Pity we dont have a song as good as bread of heaven or flower of sctoland to let em have after.

We do Dan, its called Amhran na bhFiann, we just don’t use it at the Rugby.

BTW, you may want to do something with that post.

[quote=“Fitzy”]We do Dan, its called Amhran na bhFiann, we just don’t use it at the Rugby.

BTW, you may want to do something with that post.[/quote]

Incorrect Fitzy. AnB will be played proudly today.

And if you mean it isnt sung during games, then correct, its not sung during any games, rugby GAA or soccer.

Fair enough Dan, didn’t realise it was sung at rugby games, it certainly wasn’t during the 3 Ireland RWC games I attended in 2003. Which I was fucking disgusted at.

Not sure what you mean with the second sentence, its certainly sung beore socc er and GAA games.

[quote=“Fitzy”]Fair enough Dan, didn’t realise it was sung at rugby games, it certainly wasn’t during the 3 Ireland RWC games I attended in 2003. Which I was fucking disgusted at.

Not sure what you mean with the second sentence, its certainly sung beore socc er and GAA games.[/quote]

AnB isnt sung at away games, only Irelands call. Away from home you cany get the tywo anthems played

I said during games Fitzy, like bread of heaven is. AnB is played before games but not during games

It’s this thing about you needing unity to face the Haka I’ve the problem with, Dan. It ends up looking like you’re bracing yourself and it looks like a real sign of weakness to me. I would much prefer to stand there on my own (without needing the support of some fella beside me) and just look disinterested in the whole charade. It’s given far too much respect in my book. The team facing the Haka end up looking like idiots to me. Forming a huddle while they’re getting on with their hokey mythology would be preferable imho. I’m really not looking forward to our ‘respect’ for the Haka later.

Fair enough, each to their own. I would have thought that a show of unity was common place in a lot of sports though, like the celtic huddle, loads of GAA teams stand together now for the anthem instead of going to there position.

A lot of teams that have tried to ignore it have just looked fucking stupid. I think in the 70s llanelli decided to go down and warm up in the in goal are while it was happening, the AB followed them down and did it in the in goal area. Campo fucked off out to the wing and started juggling the ball by himself, I think the english Rugby League team turned thei back on it the other day as well.

Personally Id respect it, but I am a sucker for tradition.