There was less holes in the GPO after 1916
You should have just super glued the whole fucking thing.
I’m the same, stone useless at diy. We are nearing 6 years in the house and there are still a big pile of pictures in drawer waiting to be hung.
Anytime the missus mentions IKEA I tell her, what it looks like in IKEA isn’t going to be what it looks like when I put it together. One of the wardrobes upstairs is resting straight on the ground, while the legs of it are hovering uslessly two inches in the air at the top because I put the two side pieces in upside down at the start and by the time I realised I’d made a fuck of it I was 4 hours in and there was no fucking way I was turning back.
IKEA is only a fuck of a thing anyway, no joints means its never going to last. You’d be as well paying the extra for something that will stand up to a bit of scrutiny.
A hairy mini roller for kitchen cabinets you say… that’s interesting. Instinctively I would have reached for a 4-inch foam jobbie. The bubble free finish in your photo is impressive, I’ll give it a turn. Quick high-grit sand first? Between coats too?
I’m not one for picking out the furniture or anything, but I spotted a fancy TV unit in one of the furniture shops. A statement piece I called it. Like something you’d find in @StoneCold’s gaff I’d imagine. I said to the Mrs I could go off to IKEA or Jysk and get some job for about half or a quarter the price. I think she got visions of me marking a new floor, getting pissed off and smashing a hole in the unit (this kind of did happen with something before where I fucked a hammer at it with absolute anger) and told me to just buy the fancy Dan unit that will come made up and delivered.
It’s water based satinwood he’s using now mind. If you were painting kitchen units I’d be using oil based but it’s a personal thing. The 4” foam roller is the job with oil based.
Ditto I came from a house where a “man”’was needed for the most basic of DIY tasks passed on to me but fortunately avoided my eldest he’s a dinger around the house for bits and pieces no idea where it came from
Fact the guy that fitted our kitchen we got him back to put in fitted wardrobes in the bedrooms expensive but built to last and worth it in the long run
My auld lad is/was a suit and tie man, but basically along with his brothers and my grandfather built the home house. In comparison I’m the most useless cunt that ever lived. There is just nothing tidy about me when it comes to DIY. The old maxim about measure twice cut once, is more I cut it two times and its still too short when it comes to me
Would have been a superb post, but for the plea for sympathy. Definitely worth a ‘like’ though
You’d be amazed what you could do if you had to, in terms of DIY.
The population are probably just too well off at the moment, mate
Nah. I laboured for a block layer one summer and I’m grand at the pulling and dragging, but I don’t have the precision or patience in me required to be tasty. A good tradesman is like an artist.
If it mattered to you at the time financially - you’d master it and ace it.
That’s the difference nowadays I reckon anyway.
Lesson learned ![]()
Kilmallock lady recently asked me to assemble 3 ‘Elizabeth’ beds here in a rental in Bishopstown
Took the bit’s n pieces out
Looked at the bag of bolts screws etc and legged it
Fuck that life’s too short
Medium sand- undercoat
Light sand - undercoat
( clean surface with white spirit between and after sanding)
I used sugar soap to degrease the units beforehand.
![]()
![]()
Met a chap in carrigaline on a job a few years back and his full time job last few years is putting ikea stuff together in houses
Watched him work and not a bother
I’d sweat at the thought of doing it
I’ve no bother tiling- plastering/ wiring plugs etc but the actual thought of assembling fuckin units kills me
Did a few but just not a technical brain cell in me
Rather chance root canal
That’s me in a nutshell. I was as strong as an ox when I was young and a great labourer but the precision was way beyond me.
My father is very tasty, would build a stone wall out of shite auld stones up the field that even the Galway lads would envy.
If he was a younger man, I’d take on more of these jobs under his supervision/ assistance.
Jesus, you’d fret for the direction men have gone over the past generation or two. Good times really do make weak men. Building IKEA furniture is about as difficult as building Lego. I doubt there’s a person here that hasn’t taken a wrong turn building a flat-pack wardrobe, but you simply take a deep breath, disassemble, and go again.
Zen Buddhists believe that how you do anything is how you do everything. If that’s the case, there are an awful lot of people out there getting questionable book-keeping services, and a lot of women being subjected to “pulling and dragging” in the bedroom.
Your advice to young lads today would really have to be something along the lines of “marry a couple”. At least that way there’d be a man about the house for DIY and other jobs. “What’s that dear? You want a picture hung? OK, I’ll get Keith.”