Faldo's DIY General thread

A couple of video cams and a gopro on site and they want us to believe they dug that out with 2 home made shovels :rofl:

Some lads….

The only DIY on show was the acting

Flat packs are my nemesis

They’re better these day. You were probably put off by the poor quality years ago. Screws missing, holes in the wrong place, Polish instructions.

Have another go.

Exactly but life’s too short
I avoid at all costs

Washing machine drain hose extendions lads. Talk to me. Our old washing machine packed it in. Its last act was a flood which has bent the utilty eoom floor boards. Seems like i got to it quick enough and the kitchen isnt affected. But i had to hit power city roday and get a new one. And the fucking drain pipe isnt long enough. And we had fitted type unit shite so my access is fucked. So, for anyone who knows, tell me about extending washing machine outpipes.
Ta in advance.

You can buy connectors, I had to do it

A good start.
Pitfalls and dos and donts please. Ive ordered a connectoer Nd 1.5m pipe off screw fix. Presume i can cut to whatever length i wish?

I just bought a second extendable hose thing, like what is on the end of the drainage, and connected it to the one on the machine. It was a piece of piss really.

Cable ties came in handy to keep it in postion

Access is my problem. The pipe goes throuvh the top hole above and down into a pipe attached to the wall behind those panels. Id to drill a hole in the unit to get to it today.

Can you get it to come out the bottom hole might get you closer.

No. You need the height so the machine doesnt constantly drain apparently.

Explain how your access if fucked… looks like grand space for a machine there

You not have one of those plastic u-bends no?

The machine fits snugly. A couple of mills each side and above. The pipes however go throubh those holes to the water pipe, drain and plug. I drilled a hole in the cabinet that i can put my arm through to the other sides of those holes but thats it.

I do. It doesnt make the pipe any longer though.

Disappointing show of maturity from the board here with a poster looking to make his pipe longer.

Its only @Juhniallio
We never believe his stories.

If you had a leak I’d be inspecting the drain pipe for any contribution. The oul Lidl inspection camera is a Godsend at times like this.

Have you the washing machine above a cabinet or the tumble dryer maybe? Be very careful with lack of air circulation particularly at the intake of a dryer. They are a huge fire hazard if they overheat; heat source, dried fluff, lack of adequate ventilation…

If you can’t get at the pipe to eyeball it try get a string into it with a weight (like a nut) so that you can tie an old rag onto it to pull through it a few times to clear it out. You’d be amazed the amount of hair and gunk that sticks to the sides.

Awful grinding and scraping noise coming out of the dryer. I was delighted that she couldn’t use it for a fortnight as we’ve probably saved a fortune in electricity. Opened the cunt of a thing up there and found this yoke wedged in the front of the drum :smile:

If I brought it to a repair shop they’d tell me the rollers were gone and charged me 200.