FAO Balbec

balbec what is normal polish wedding attire? It’s gonna be plus 30 degrees this Friday and the thoughts of a suit…

They will wear suits but the jackets will get dropped fairly sharpish. You will see a fair few short sleeve shirts I reckon. Wouldn’t worry too much about the tie after all you are a foreigner :). Put one in your pocket just in case. It is 38 degrees here today, savage heat though it is supposed to drop to mid twenties by the end of the week. Mind the fluid intake though I suppose you do not need to be warned about that. An Irish guy marrying a Polish bird is it?

and it is customary to bring flowers to the wedding. give em to the bride like.

Only 22 degrees here today, Mouse.

Wedding is in Opole … My mate is marrying a polish wan.

balbec - any tips on the best way on getting from Opole to Krakow? Google maps saying it is a 1 hour 55 min drive while the train website is saying it’s 4 hours 30m by rail :eek:

I’m guessing the rail route means getting a regional train and stopping at a town every 15 minutes?

[quote=“Phil Leotardo, post: 809074, member: 197”]balbec - any tips on the best way on getting from Opole to Krakow? Google maps saying it is a 1 hour 55 min drive while the train website is saying it’s 4 hours 30m by rail :eek:

I’m guessing the rail route means getting a regional train and stopping at a town every 15 minutes?[/quote]

There are quicker trains than that. Sure I saw 3.5 hrs.

[quote=“Phil Leotardo, post: 809074, member: 197”]balbec - any tips on the best way on getting from Opole to Krakow? Google maps saying it is a 1 hour 55 min drive while the train website is saying it’s 4 hours 30m by rail :eek:

I’m guessing the rail route means getting a regional train and stopping at a town every 15 minutes?[/quote]

It is a very good road. Has a toll on it but 1:55 is about right. Trains can be 4-5 hours even for the more direct ones. Problem is that in Silesia around Katowice there are a lot of mines and there are speed restrictions on the tracks.

Quality stuff here from balbec. Proper advice.

Hello. JA chciałby dwa popierają klasowe bilety do Krakowa sprawiać przyjemność (proszę)!

From what I can gather train takes about 3 hrs?

[quote=“Mark Renton, post: 809406, member: 1796”]Hello. JA chciałby dwa popierają klasowe bilety do Krakowa sprawiać przyjemność (proszę)!

From what I can gather train takes about 3 hrs?[/quote]

Why not just fly directly into Krakow? Have a look around the Old Town-beautiful, beautiful place.

The wedding is on in Opole, you jackass… I’ve been to Krakow, looking forward to seeing it in the summer tho.

Good stuff-was there in the winter myself too. You bringing the bird?

Indeed… An old mate getting married so it will be the first time the gang have been together in a while, coming from far and ever futher afield to attend.

Are you giving presents individually or did anyone try to co-ordinate a joint present from you all?

Good stuff-sounds like ye will have a ball. Make sure none of the lads start telling loads of stories about your previous life as a man whore-I don’t think herself would appreciate them as much as we did.

absolutely, it is the little cultural things like this that will help the mouse get his hole at the wedding.

[quote=“Mark Renton, post: 809406, member: 1796”]Hello. JA chciałby dwa popierają klasowe bilety do Krakowa sprawiać przyjemność (proszę)!

From what I can gather train takes about 3 hrs?[/quote]

4 hours plus. but you can drink away in the restaurant car.

I sent out an e-mail alright looking for 200 per head but some couples only gave a joint 200. Cheap bastards. I mean if they can afford the flight and hotel they could afford 200 each.

There’s one that is 4.10, seems to be the shortest… Are there any buses at all in Poland?