Favourite night of the Christmas period

I find Stephens Day, and New Years to be well overated. Christmas Eve is my favourite. Drinking all day. Into mass drunk. Back to the local till eleven then stumble into bed. It also helps to allay the pre santa jitters and assure me a good nights sleep.

What say ye.

Poll to follow

December 23rd

I voted for Christmas Eve but I have since had a change of heart. The closing of pubs at midnight is a load of shite.

Stephens Day defintely. It is just a day for overindulging in drinking capers.

[quote=“Julio Geordio”]I find Stephens Day, and New Years to be well overated. Christmas Eve is my favourite. Drinking all day. Into mass drunk. Back to the local till eleven then stumble into bed. It also helps to allay the pre santa jitters and assure me a good nights sleep.

What say ye.

Poll to follow[/quote]

I couldn’t agree more on this one. Christmas Eve is a noble night. Used to love it when in college, down home, meeting up with all the lads, out with the family, session on, trying to get late drinks in the local, stumbling home. Stephens night and New Years Eve always turned into balls of shite in comparison.

The one thing I hate about Christmas Eve is meeting the “onceayears” they sicken me.

The way Christmas is falling this year I reckon the day after stephens day and the two days after new years will be excellent drinking days :pint::pint:

Always found stephen’s day a cunt of a day, a load of cunts in the pub talking shite and not able to hold their drink…New Years eve is an awful anti climax…

New Year’s Day is always a good day for the session out my way…

In Kilkenny, Christmas Eve is the day.

All day drinking and stumble up to midnight mass.

Ah lovely.

23rd for me too, but alot can be dependent on the day it falls on. It works best if it falls on a Friday, as nearly everybody has returned home and are usually down the boozer, without it being as packed as Christmas Eve. I’m not really one for a lot of drinking on Christmas eve. I love the eve of Corn na Feile as well. Always a great night.

Always felt this was more of a Stephens day thing?

Sure they’re the same cunts that ruin every day over Christmas.

Ah yes but there is a far higher concentration of them on Christmas eve. I like the random days in between christmas & new years better.

Ah no these are the boys who come out for one or two pints Christmas Eve and no other night of the year, they walk in as if they own the place and expect everyone to be greatful they showed a face. Fuck off, onceayears, fuck off!!

always thought Stephens day was way over rated too to be honest. Prefer Christmas eve, and didnt even realise there was a midnight closing hour. the local certainly doesnt anyway!

Our local boozer can hardly accomodate the regulars on Christmas eve, let alone the once a year cunts hogging precious bar space.

Ah yes, can we get this option added to the poll?

I do like the 23rd myself aswell, the ultimate in messiness I find, anything goes on this night. A mixture between young lads and auld lads all out on the beer early and a few crowds out on break up sessions with free drink means mass levels of drunkeness and general bollix acting that are rarely seen outside of this night.

:pint::pint:

[quote=“manaboutdog”]Ah yes, can we get this option added to the poll?

I do like the 23rd myself aswell, the ultimate in messiness I find, anything goes on this night. A mixture between young lads and auld lads all out on the beer early and a few crowds out on break up sessions with free drink means mass levels of drunkeness and general bollix acting that are rarely seen outside of this night.

:pint::pint:[/quote]

Three years ago I came a cropper on this messyness, being let go from your job and having the Christmas break up on the same day tends to push you over the edge.

Christmas Eve for me too-usually get late drinks In one of the pubs in enniscorthy. Stephens night can be shite alright but the better of the nights out over the festive period. Havent been out for New Yearss eve in a few years now as I hate it.
Our work Christmas party is on the 23rd here in Dublin-23rd is usually a good night too.

ah yes, remember it well, some comedy gold moments on that particular night

Used to love Christmas Eve but I now love waking up on Christmas Day with a clear head even more. Last year I got up early and went down to the pitch to put in 10 laps. A cold, crisp, blue-sky morning. Beautiful stuff and I enjoyed my booze and food a lot more the rest of the day.