The thing is, it’s not true. The World Cup I experienced when I was 10 was 1990. It had the best popular culture of any World Cup and this is objectively true. The Panini album was nearly an afterthought because there was Wor;d Cup '90, the big ring binder yoke which is objectively a work of art.
It had Put 'Em Under Pressure and World In Motion and Nessun Dorma and the ITV theme which was as good if not better than Nessun Dorma and it had the Star sticker album and the coins. And Ireland were in it. It had Italy as the host nation. The kits were incredible. Like you could scarcely have a better non-football everything.
But the tournament was objectively pretty shit and the World Cups I lust after are Spain '82 which I have no memory of and Mexico '86 which I have a recollection of being on but which completely passed me by.
World Cups are about colour and daylight and sunshine and stadiums without big shadows, in Spain or Mexico. They’re about big shades of yellow and blue and light blue and green. You would have thought Italy could sort of match that and it did in some ways but not in the most important ways.
If I had my way, there would be a permanent rota of World Cup hosts. It would be Spain, Mexico, Italy, and grudgingly, France, Brazil and Argentina. World Cups should be played only in countries which speak one of the Latin family of languages. But really you need a Mediterranean coastline or be Mexico.
I bought the 442 one online as I’ve done for the past few tournaments for the youngsters. Think it was €20+ but it’s a right piece of kit and a lovely little tradition.
If anyone finds a FREE & printable World Cup wall chart then please let me know. It’d be nice to actually make use of my office day this week by availing of the printing facilities. I refuse to turn my home into an office environment so my couch remains my desk, my garden is my break out room & my kitchen is my kitchen. I don’t have ancillary items such as a printer or things like this.
Portugal playing their last warm up game here and Martinez takes off every outfield player at half time apart from Ronaldo. I’d say he slipped one of the Nigerian lads a few grand to injure him