FIFA World Cup Final 2010 - Holland v Spain

I get that you understand who won the World Cup which seems to be your main argument for more Spanish players in the side. Spain had the best side but this is a team of the best individuals. I’m not sure you will be able to get the second part of my point.

so you use opta or some fifa stats as your barometer of how good a player is?

I picked three Germans over them actually. Some others who understand football might say Sneijder or Robben were unlucky not to get picked aswell. Villa probably lucky to be chosen as the sole centre forward. He produced his best football when playing off a centre forward such as Torres or Llorente. But I made allowances.

The people running the best GAA club in Ireland are retards?

I think you need to go to bed. The internet is a dangerous place at this hour for simpletons such as yourself.

Useless statistic: the last time the dates fell the same way for a World Cup (1982) the final was on Sunday the 11th of July and the winning captain was a goalkeeper - Dino Zoff. Iker Casillas repeated the feat last night.

I would certainly consider it. But i know know enough about soccer, having played it all my life unlike you, that the kicking central midfielder will only go so far, as in De Jong, whereas someone with the skill, touch and vision of Iniesta, 9 times out of 10, will win through eventually, especially at professional level where the players tend to be mostly strong minded, i think the 2 lads have shown enough of this in all the trophies they have won in the past 4 years. De Jong was indisciplined, if you knew anything about soccer you would also know this is a vital part of the game, lose your discipline and your in trouble.

Also these teams are based on the best players, not exactly how they may line out together. Well Xavi and Iniesta beat both the Germans and the Dutch up a stick, and thats another bit of my criteria, the one on one battle, when it came down to it Spains midfield won both of the big ones.

Your beloved KIB is tearing itself apart man, if you had any real connection to the place you’d know that.

how do you know if I havent played soccer all my life you utter utter mong - not that it matters a fuck to this hairbrained discussion of yours. You grandstand because you are a little league GAA coach, referee, a Cork junior club footballer, a former dole bird turned self trader, labourer and now a Cork junior soccer player. You seem to think it gives your argument on anything greater credence but unfortunately anything you come up with after this initial grandstand, is the opinion of a simpleton. (The initial grandstanding is retarded also but keep it up) The above is typical horseshit for example. Yes Iniesta is a fine attacking midfielder but De Jong proved himself as a fine holding player in this tournament, well he also made the official EPL team of the year aswell. Sure he needs to cut the needless yellow cards out of his game but dont let that discount from the fact that he was every bit as important to Holland and probably even more so than Iniesta was to Spain. Xavi and Iniesta hardly beat the Dutch up a stick for a start. Spain won in extra time after the likes of De Jong was replaced. Spain struggled to create a single chance from open play in the 90 mins. Do you not think the player who held Xavi and Iniesta from creating chances deserves credit? Guess if you knew anything about football you would understand that but alas…

KIB are the best club in Ireland. First game out in the championship they smashed the shit out of last years county finalists. If that is tearing itself apart wonder what they would be like sticking together. A lot of strong personalities involved typical of any small area. Rows and rumoured rows part and parcel of the operation. What a thread to bring this up by the way.

K.IB, i played Senior soccer and football, so lets get that straight first, just cos i don’t play them anymore means f-all. Anyway i see your fairly rattled.

Few points;

What has De Jong getting on the EPL team of the year got to do with anything?

Spain destroyed Holland in the final bar about 20-25 mins of the game, they were in control. Granted they gave Robben a good chance, but they still had great chances from Villa,Pedro, Navas, Puyol and Ramos off the top of my head.

You say he needs to cut out the needless yellow cards, but its too late for that if we are judging the WC 2010. That is what we are picking this team on ya? :rolleyes:

De Jong didn’t stop them creating chances, so thats a lie, and Iniesta scored you muppet, where was he for that? :lol:

Thye bolded part isn’t true.

But i’m done here, you’ve been shown up.

On the KIB thing, i couldn’t really give a fuck, but thought it was funny you knew nothing of it seeing as your such a club man. The trouble has come after the 1st round i am led to believe, but anyway…

Jack Charlton won a world cup, managed Ireland in a world cup, doesnt mean I’d listen to his opinions on a game of football. The same goes for many many other in soccer and other sports. David Batty wouldnt strike me as the most articulate of minds on the game, Jason McAteer either for that matter.

Anyway, here’s Cesc being unveiled by Barcelona

How can anyone compare Spain of 2008 to 2010? Not one team, maybe bar Chile, came out and actually played spain in this world cup. Everyone else came out to stifle them and the fact they prevailed through the kicking and negative tactics, without their main striker in form is even more credit to them.

I have only glanced over the above, but Kib has his usual EPL blinkers on again.

Good of the Spanish to acknowledge Paul

Its ridiculous the way KIB judges football.

He’s actually not that far off sometimes, and when he studies it he gets some good points, but its his unwillingness to judge players on present form, or to disregard old mistakes, or look at Intermational football different to club football, or to stop thinking the whole world revolves around the EPL. Or indeed his unwilling ness to change his opinion on a player, even when its glaringly obvious he has got better/worse or whatever. And then picks out points from games to suit his own predictions.

Picking De Jong for team of the tournament is retarded, he wasn’t even the best defensive midfielder for Holland.

Yeah I am only waiting for him to start posting more shite about how Senna should be in the team and that Navas is zero threat as a player :rolleyes:

Is this the same Navas who put in more crosses in 128 mins of football than anyone else in WC?

I rest my case.

Me thinks that the fact that he backed the Dutch before the tournament has a lot to do with this and is a small bit blinkered, I ask you, if he had backed the spanish from the off would his opinion be the same

Even some of my detractors are laughing at you KIB, stop now before you make an even bigger idiot of yourself.

Yeah, same lad that has been tearing up La Liga for the past few seasons

is anyone else absolutely and utterly perplexed by this statement? :blink:

Both of them perplex me. Utterly.

Not a chance Puke. There is no shame (and i’m not doing the sarcy mbb thing here) in admitting you are wrong about some of this tournament. There isn’t a man here who called it right, hardly even close in an overall sense. many said Spain to win, but along the way we all got things wrong, and lost some money, won some money (thanks puke).

using the EPL team of the year was the clincher though, then you know he’s clutching.

“Yeah, same lad that has been tearing up La Liga for the past few seasons”

KIB wouldn’t watch any Spanish league, and if he did, it would only be Barca and Real.

:unsure:

Only one KIB i’d be thinking.