Fitness XL- Your training routine

20 hr fast- ate a Banana and went to the gym and I have never felt so full of energy during a workout. Spag Boll and a Freddo bar post workout- I’ll eatagain at 6 and not again until 12 tomorrow.

Session today -
Pull ups 4x5 with 10kg strapped on to waist
Bench 8x60kg 6x80kg 4x90kg 2x100kg 4x90kg 6x80kg 8x60kg
Bent over rows 3x8 60kg
Push ups 3x10 with each set followed by 5 explosive clap push ups - 3 x 8 side step push ups
Single arm bent over rows 3 x 5 35kg
Single arm floor press 3x8 each arm 20kg

Is it bodybuilding you are into CM? that’s serious volume.

Just gonna go hard and heavy for a while, Kev. Build a bit of strength and size… No cardio motivation at present. Squats, deads, snatch, lunges and military press make the bones of the rest including specific arm and calf exercises too.

Cool, plenty eating so, which is always good. That fasting willfuck up you gaining size.

Also could I suggest throwing in a sprint session. A short 30 mins session, will do wonders for your lower strength & size ad will also help with cOndition.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 747393, member: 273”]Cool, plenty eating so, which is always good. That fasting willfuck up you gaining size.

Also could I suggest throwing in a sprint session. A short 30 mins session, will do wonders for your lower strength & size ad will also help with cOndition.[/quote]

Yeah, I’m lacking motivation to get out sprinting… I need one of Bandage’s world famous pep talks.

I’d almost forgotten the benefits over last few months as I have been a bit all over the shop and have been just tipping away myself. Now with the season approa hing I decided ti write a program leading into training as I can’t start with the rest of them (now). So I have taken some if Charlie Francis’s tips on sprinting and I’m also doing max strength, in 2 weeks I feel a whole lot better. That’s with a far smaller volume of work.

I have training in 20 minutes but just not feeling it this evening. I’ve a slight twinge in my back, not sure if a dose of tough circuits is the job for it

caoimhaoin

kev i’d like your opinion on what we were subjected to last night.

15 min warm up.
1 mile quick as you can
30 mins hurling drills
20min football drills

The folloiwing to be completed consecutively
6 runs as quick as possible from 14 to 14
4 backward runs from 14 to 14

short break.

then 4 sideline to sideline
walk one
3 sideline to sideline
walk one
2sideline to sideline
walk one
the 1 sideline to sideline
walk one
and then building back up to 4…

as ever your opinion is greatly appreciated.

[quote=“count of monte cristo, post: 752862, member: 348”]caoimhaoin

kev i’d like your opinion on what we were subjected to last night.

15 min warm up.
1 mile quick as you can
30 mins hurling drills
20min football drills

The folloiwing to be completed consecutively
4 backward runs from 14 to 14

short break.

then 4 sideline to sideline
walk one
3 sideline to sideline
walk one
2sideline to sideline
walk one
the 1 sideline to sideline
walk one
and then building back up to 4…

as ever your opinion is greatly appreciated.[/quote]

That sounds like an awful lot.
How long were ye on the field?

[quote=“The Runt, post: 752863, member: 181”]That sounds like an awful lot.
How long were ye on the field?[/quote]

an hour 30, seems like pure oxygen starvation for the muscles…lactic acid everywhere…

however since recent criticism of me being hard to coach i decided to tough it ut and refer to a higher power ie kevzilla and return to training the next night armed with the knowledge i need to combat this heresy.

[quote=“count of monte cristo, post: 752869, member: 348”]an hour 30, seems like pure oxygen starvation for the muscles…lactic acid everywhere…

however since recent criticism of me being hard to coach i decided to tough it ut and refer to a higher power ie kevzilla and return to training the next night armed with the knowledge i need to combat this heresy.[/quote]

What are ye training for exactly?? At this time of year would one 45 min session replicating match like conditions be enough? And then another night for jogging/ light trots and some intense stretching and then drills and ball work?

yeah, i would have imagine recreating match conditions would be where it’s at considering that we are out in chship in 3 frickin weeks…

i think our trainer is flying by the seat of his pants and making things up as he goes along…

Seems like a ridiculous session if ye are out in 3 weeks.

a stint in Portlaois prison would do you no harm at all CM, lads like Gilligan would really appreciate the effort you’ve been putting in lately and id say ye can play chase around the dorms. given that you’re a close associate of a well known Limerick IRA commander and only a few hours ago threatened to assasinate me if i return to ireland you may be in luck

Well whatever about the running forwards, the backwards running would need to be explained to me. As you have deducted yourself this guy is winging it. We all wing it in some fashion somewhere, you have to learn (outside the classroom or off the Internet) but that doesn’t make any sense.

But much much worse than that is trying to train hurling and football on the same night. You’ll get nowhere doing that. You are attacking 3 things in the one night, fitness, hurling skills and football skills. They will all blunt each other. Concurrent fitness training (I.e trying to build strength, endurance & speed in the same training cycle at the same time) is hard enough but doable, but I believe to truly improve hurling and football at ye same time ti the best of your ability is nearly impossible and usually counter productive.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 752953, member: 273”]Well whatever about the running forwards, the backwards running would need to be explained to me. As you have deducted yourself this guy is winging it. We all wing it in some fashion somewhere, you have to learn (outside the classroom or off the Internet) but that doesn’t make any sense.

But much much worse than that is trying to train hurling and football on the same night. You’ll get nowhere doing that. You are attacking 3 things in the one night, fitness, hurling skills and football skills. They will all blunt each other. Concurrent fitness training (I.e trying to build strength, endurance & speed in the same training cycle at the same time) is hard enough but doable, but I believe to truly improve hurling and football at ye same time ti the best of your ability is nearly impossible and usually counter productive.[/quote]

thanks for confirming my doubts… it seems the only way gaa coaches know how to get teams in shape is to run long distances…

kev, any advice for exercises, sprinting to imrpove anaerobic fitness?

[quote=“count of monte cristo, post: 752966, member: 348”]thanks for confirming my doubts… it seems the only way gaa coaches know how to get teams in shape is to run long distances…

kev, any advice for exercises, sprinting to imrpove anaerobic fitness?[/quote]

Well you have 2 choices. I’m looking at this for you to build strength an power to sprint and accelerate better. If you have 3 weeks, do one of theses and do it the next 2 weeks. Do the same one you pick both weeks. These will fatigue you big style, especially your CNS so allow for a bit of extra sleep and don’t do it too close to training or definitely not before a game. Monday morning is the absolute ideal time, but Monday night might be more realistic. Or Sunday if not playing a game.
You need a gym, and you need a field or track. You don’t have to one right after the other, but within 30-45 mins in option 1. Option 2 needs a gym and nothing else. I prefer option 1, but logistics and facilities might inhibit.
Option 1.

Warm up with mobility, jogging, dynamics etc. Heel flicks, high knees, A & B skips would be important.

2-4 x 60M - just stride out, 60-70%. do as many as it makes you to feel really warm.

3 x 30M slow start sprint. Basically start relaxed but then try and get to sprint within 30.

6 x 30M Flat out. Sprinter start (down low), take off fast and push hard, arms and feet top speed. Think like a sprinter. Full recovery, maybe walk 60-90M. I mean total recovery.

2-3 x 60M at Top speed.

Weights - Preferably within 30-45 Mins

Squat 3-5 x 90%1Rm
Bench 5 x 90-95% 1Rm
Chins 5 x 3 (add weight)

Massive stretch. 20 plus secs on everything x 2

Option 2

Potentiation Training

Warm up as normal but add 2-3 very light sets of the strength exercises before you do each multiple section. As in before squatting and squat jumping starts at all, do very light Squats first, bodyweight, then bar.

Set 1
3-5 sets (depending on How you feel)
Squats @90-95% followed by weights Squat Jumps @30% Squat 1RM within 1 min

Rest 5 Mins

Set 2
3-5 sets of
Bench press @90-95% with Speed Bench @30% - same way as above

5 Muns rest

Set 3
2-3 sets of
Single leg Romanian Dead lifts x 5 Each leg with Broad (frog) Jumps x 5

5 mins rest
2-3 Sets of
Chins x 5 with Supine Power Bar Pulls x 5

Cool Down

Supine bar pulls are you lying under a bar horizontal holding a bar that’s about waist height. You pull up hard, release slightly and quickle, hold, and drop down back slowly. Tougher than you might think.

I would only ever do sessions like this once a week, for 2 weeks and have at least a week off, sometimes more. Sessions like these need to be used sparingly. It seems like it will run into your championship well.

Set 4
2-3 sets of

One thing Count. If your trainer is just a football/hurling manager I wouldn’t really be too hard on his fitness knowledge. It’s hard to expect guys like this to have the all round knowledge. If he’s passing himself off as a S&C coach then he is a chancer. Not sure of his role.

He could still be a great coach or football manager if you get my drift? He might be just extending himself too far, under pressure to stay up with standards.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 753003, member: 273”]One thing Count. If your trainer is just a football/hurling manager I wouldn’t really be too hard on his fitness knowledge. It’s hard to expect guys like this to have the all round knowledge. If he’s passing himself off as a S&C coach then he is a chancer. Not sure of his role.

He could still be a great coach or football manager if you get my drift? He might be just extending himself too far, under pressure to stay up with standards.[/quote]

Im not going to unload both barrels on him… Lots of things wrong with our training at the moment. Very frustrating.