Fitness XL- Your training routine

Good man your on the right track so. Interval Training will bring the the fat burning to a new level. Its savage tough but well worth. I hate the thoughts of it myself and have been subconsciously avoiding it but I am thinking of playing a bit of Junior C next month now that the ankle is healed up so I’ll have to face into it soon.

[QUOTE=“the mixer walsh, post: 983896, member: 245”]Started an interval training programme last night to accompany the gym prog that I’m currently doing.

2 laps of a hurling pitch. Place a cone at the half way line and sprint to it from the end line. On reaching the cone, walk to the end line and repeat 10 times. Absolutely bollixed after it and it only took 20 mins or so.[/QUOTE]
Good training. Are you actually hurling as well? Nothing like actual sport for fitness.

Edit: just saw your other posts.
Mix it up with longer ones at a slight slower pace and full walk back.

Cones 20 m apart
Min 1: Run to cone and back and rest. (10 sec or so sprinting)
Min 2: Run to cone and back twice. (20 sec sprinting - 40 sec rest)
Min 3: Run to cone and back 3 times. (30 sec sprinting - 30 sec rest)
Min 4: Run to cone and back 4 times. (40 sec sprinting - 20 sec rest)
Min 5: Run to cone and back 5 times. (50 sec sprinting - 10 sec rest)
Min 6: Run to cone and back 6 times

[QUOTE=“Thumper, post: 983946, member: 2305”]Cones 20 m apart
Min 1: Run to cone and back and rest. (10 sec or so sprinting)
Min 2: Run to cone and back twice. (20 sec sprinting - 40 sec rest)
Min 3: Run to cone and back 3 times. (30 sec sprinting - 30 sec rest)
Min 4: Run to cone and back 4 times. (40 sec sprinting - 20 sec rest)
Min 5: Run to cone and back 5 times. (50 sec sprinting - 10 sec rest)
Min 6: Run to cone and back 6 times[/QUOTE]

thanks thumper

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 983929, member: 273”]Good training. Are you actually hurling as well? Nothing like actual sport for fitness.

Edit: just saw your other posts.
Mix it up with longer ones at a slight slower pace and full walk back.[/QUOTE]
Longer sprints, like the whole length of a pitch? That’s a bit beyond me at the moment chief. Doing kettlebells and barbell lifting 3 mornings a week at the moment the also. Diet is good during the week but goes off the rails a bit (few pints) at the weekend. There’s no doubt about it but doing a bit of exercise is great for the mind.

The strength training is actually better for weight loss.

For the longer runs go at 80-85% of full sprint pace. You don’t have to go full belt.

Any swimmers here? Want to do a mile or so seawater swim next month. I’m a good swimmer and fairly fit but haven’t done as much as a few lengths in ages. Will a few swims in advance do me? Be grand?

No. Get up to about 2km in the pool first.

Do 2/3 sessions a week in pool, 50m if possible, pymarids are good i.e… 100, 200, 300, 400, 300, 200, 100m at decent pace. Try and keep stroke smooth and long, do not bate the shite of the water. Definitely do a weekly swim or 2 in ocean, need to get used to sighting etc, bilateral breathing also very good for swimming straight line.

Cheers lads. I just jumped in the sea and did about 800m/1k there I’d say. Need a pair of goggles as I went off course very fast. My stroke is still alright, think along with my ability to cover distance it’ll improve quickly with a bit of practice. Freezing now.

practice in open water the big thing if you are a decent swimmer. If you go off track like that you are adding a whole pile of distance to your swim. Just give a quick glance up every 6-9 strokes when you are breathing. follow mick jones advice to get faster

Anyone know anything about Turkish get ups and if they are any good? This fella I’m going to swears by them. I don’t see the big deal myself. Maybe I’m not using enough weight at the minute, just as well as I fell arse over head the other morning doing them

they’re fucking deadly

Deadly fucking dangerous if you ask me

They are very good, you shouldn’t need weight for a while though. They are very good for teaching you to use your core.

I’ve been running 5km every morning for the past few weeks and achieving very satisfying results. I am putting this down to positive mental visualisation. My routine goes something like this:

1km
Backing track:
Fatboy Slim - Right Here Right Now
Mode: I’m Ciaran McKeever, I’m striding confidently and with purpose - chest out, chin up leading my county out of the Croke Park tunnel with the ball gripped tightly to my chest. I fear nothing and will back down from nobody. Right now I am laying a marker down, the next 7 km will have to bring my body to hell to better this one.

2-3km
Backing track:
Primal Scream - Loaded
Mode: I’m Francesco Totti, it is 2006 and I need to prove my fitness in order to carry the hopes of millions of Italians worldwide and lead us to World Cup glory. I’m suffering now but I know that if I suffer this pain I can bring joy to millions

4km
Backing Track:
Mason Williams - Classical Gas
Mode: I’m Rafa Nadal, I’m off colour and I’ve just managed to cling on for a tie-breaker but I am shattered. I can barely muster the energy to lift my legs but my mind tells me to ignore my body and I now have tunnel vision with only the endline in sight. I am reinvigorated and steadfast in my refusal to acknowledge the signs my body is giving me.

5-7km
Backing Track:
Hans Zimmer - The Battle (Gladiator)
Mode: I’m Franco Baresi. I’ve been barely passed fit to play in the Wolrd Cup Final but I’m everywhere, I am giving the performance of a lifetime, I’m getting through this on pure adrenaline. The more the games goes on the stronger I get.

8km
Backing Track:
Vince DiCola - Training Montage (Rocky IV)
Mode: I’m the collective Tyrone team of 2003-2008 in an All Ireland final, I am a well oiled machine now and I am running on undiluted confidence. I know I’m going to finish this out and I’m going to do it with an earth shattering intensity. I’ve got a pep to my step now and the finishing line is coming.

[QUOTE=“Il Bomber Destro, post: 991793, member: 2533”]I’ve been running 5km every morning for the past few weeks and achieving very satisfying results. I am putting this down to positive mental visualisation. My routine goes something like this:

1km
Backing track:
Mode: I’m Ciaran McKeever, I’m striding confidently and with purpose - chest out, chin up leading my county out of the Croke Park tunnel with the ball gripped tightly to my chest. I fear nothing and will back down from nobody. Right now I am laying a marker down, the next 7 km will have to bring my body to hell to better this one.

2-3km
Backing track:
Primal Scream - Loaded
Mode: I’m Francesco Totti, it is 2006 and I need to prove my fitness in order to carry the hopes of millions of Italians worldwide and lead us to World Cup glory. I’m suffering now but I know that if I suffer this pain I can bring joy to millions

4km
Backing Track:
Mode: I’m Rafa Nadal, I’m off colour and I’ve just managed to cling on for a tie-breaker but I am shattered. I can barely muster the energy to lift my legs but my mind tells me to ignore my body and I now have tunnel vision with only the endline in sight. I am reinvigorated and steadfast in my refusal to acknowledge the signs my body is giving me.

5-7km
Backing Track:
Mode: I’m Franco Baresi. I’ve been barely passed fit to play in the Wolrd Cup Final but I’m everywhere, I am giving the performance of a lifetime, I’m getting through this on pure adrenaline. The more the games goes on the stronger I get.

8km
Backing Track:
Mode: I’m the collective Tyrone team of 2003-2008 in an All Ireland final, I am a well oiled machine now and I am running on undiluted confidence. I know I’m going to finish this out and I’m going to do it with an earth shattering intensity. I’ve got a pep to my step now and the finishing line is coming.[/QUOTE]
What time you doing this 5k around?

Around 7am each morning.

[QUOTE=“Il Bomber Destro, post: 991793, member: 2533”]I’ve been running 5km every morning for the past few weeks and achieving very satisfying results. I am putting this down to positive mental visualisation. My routine goes something like this:

1km
Backing track:

2-3km
Backing track:
Primal Scream - Loaded

4km
Backing Track:

5-7km
Backing Track:

8km
Backing Track:
Mode: I’m the collective Tyrone team of 2003-2008 in an All Ireland final, I am a well oiled machine now and I am running on undiluted confidence. I know I’m going to finish this out and I’m going to do it with an earth shattering intensity. I’ve got a pep to my step now and the finishing line is coming.[/QUOTE]

It’s actually 8k, did it in 37 mins this morning.

that’s very decent:clap: