Foreign travel during Covid-19. What's open?

As ye know I’m a bit slow when it comes to foreign travel.
So non-essential travel is allowed from July 19th…

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0528/1224365-covid-19/

But there’s flights to Spain since last week if you have a test done. Some fellow on here flew back in with Dannel O’Donnel last week.

So in theory Spain will let you in, but Ireland won’t let you out.
What gives @Batigol?

You can go, but you can’t go

You can go but you shouldn’t go. You might be fined. You might not be left back in but you definitely will. You need a test, even if you’re vaccinated. There’s variants already here but you can’t go unless you bring one in.

Is there restrictions on getting out?

It’s no wonder there’s queues expected so…

Yeah there’s a Garda checkpoint in your way to the terminal and another before the departure gates.

So what do you need to get past those?

I didn’t encounter one in the end. Maybe they’ve become more ad hoc.

A reasonable excuse for travel. What you’d need on arrival depends on where you are going

I’ve seen there there in T1 pretty constantly but I rarely go near them in T2 (staff entrance isn’t near departure gates) so haven’t noticed

Is there a list of reasonable excuses?

I passed the cops in T2 in February ,both times they were sound…once you haven’t got a beach ball in the car and Hawaiian shirt on you’ll be fine…

God knows how @LionelRitchie got out so, not to mind getting back in.

I’ve no idea. Tell me when you arrive at the airport and I’ll come hold your hand if you like

I think they avoid US flights. At the end of the day you can’t get in if you aren’t a citizen or have a specific visa and if you come back, you have to be vaccinated or you’re put in detention. I had asked you before and asked another couple of people and they never saw the Guards. One said he encountered them but US passport and you’re waved on.

If you really want to travel abroad, not hard to come up with a reason. Just say you’re emigrating and give them some booking in Spanish they won’t understand. I’ve heard of people going to the U.K. with fake interview emails.

The brother (mine not Larry o gorman) due on holiday home from England in late July. What will he need to get in? Will his kids need vaccines ?

This says July 19th, so I’m none the wiser as to who is getting on these flights to Spain.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0528/1224528-covid-travel-restrictions/

@LionelRitchie might be able to chip in here

Pay for fast pass. No guard checks.

I contacted a commercial real estate agent over, set up appointments for viewings of properties, printed documents. Was never asked but alibi was ready if needed.

Bring me back a stick of rock candy