Stanislas Wawrinka - French Open Gentleman Singles Champion 2015
Heās done it.
Last 6 slams:
Djokovic (2)
Wawrinka (2)
Nadal (1)
Cilic (1)
The era of the Big 4 is well and truly over.
[QUOTE=āNembo Kid, post: 1155356, member: 2514ā]Last 6 slams:
Djokovic (2)
Wawrinka (2)
Nadal (1)
Cilic (1)
The era of the Big 4 is well and truly over.[/QUOTE]
Federer and Nadal are both shot. Djokovic and Murray are the top two now and Stan is on a level where he can take out anyone when heās in the mood.
Wimbledon will be interesting. That is a crippling blow for Novak and he could struggle to pick himself up. Pat Cash called it in the Sunday Times this morning. He said that Novakās fixation with winning the French Open had turned into the same kind of unhealthy obsession that Lendl had with winning Wimbledon, was stiffling his game and tipped Stan to win today.
Horseshit.
Novakās performance levels against Murray and Stan today were well down on what heās produced all year. Thereās been widespread comment on how uncharacteristically tetchy he has been in Paris over the past two weeks.
Heās human (although you wouldnāt know it sometimes). His levels werenāt being questioned when he won every clay court warm up and swatted everyone aside including an admittedly below par king of clay at RG. Murray was in great form coming in so itās hardly a surprise that he had a tough match but he managed to get through. Today Stan was simply awesome - you hit the nail on the head above - he can batter anybody when he gets in the zone.
I wonder does Cash actually have any insight into Novakās mentality or is he just guessing.
[QUOTE=āClarkeyCat, post: 1155405, member: 15ā]Heās human (although you wouldnāt know it sometimes). His levels werenāt being questioned when he won every clay court warm up and swatted everyone aside including an admittedly below par king of clay at RG. Murray was in great form coming in so itās hardly a surprise that he had a tough match but he managed to get through. Today Stan was simply awesome - you hit the nail on the head above - he can batter anybody when he gets in the zone.
I wonder does Cash actually have any insight into Novakās mentality or is he just guessing.[/QUOTE]
Cash can come out with a lot of sh*te but in fairness to him, he called it right today, he fancied Stan to win and there wasnāt too many making that call. Presumably the insight he can offer is the 1987 Championship final. With Lendl facing the 11th seeded Cash instead of a Becker, Edberg, Wilander, McEnroe or Connors, the common consensus before that final was that Cash would be brushed aside by a destiny man.
Stan was sensational today and like the Australian last year, he has beaten the No 1 & 2 seed in winning it (that hadnāt happened previously in a Grand Slam since Sergi Brugera in the French in 1993). There was a real sense though that Novak was tensing up in the semi final and final. It seemed to happen to him last year as well in the semi final against Gulbis and in the final.
I gave Stan a chance today but thought we would probably go the distance with Noleās superior stamina coming through in the end. I kind of wrote Stan off after losing the first set though. I would still contend that Djokovic didnāt tense up. I havenāt seen an unforced error count but I donāt think his was high at all. He was simply blown away by the crispest ball striker out there. And I think Djokovic will get a French under his belt eventually. Wimbledon should be a great watch now - way more contenders than usual.
Fair play to Stan. Didnāt see that coming with his performances leading up to the french. It seems he isnāt to bothered with the tour events but seems to switch it on in slams.
Hopefully he keeps it going for Wimbledon. @ClarkeyCat who do see as contenders for Wimbledon? I see only Djokovic, Murray and Stan. Nadal will get to the second week, Federer will do the same but will run out of steam. Tsonga and Berdych donāt have the mentality. Grass wonāt suit nishikori.
[QUOTE=ātazdedub, post: 1155616, member: 312ā]Fair play to Stan. Didnāt see that coming with his performances leading up to the french. It seems he isnāt to bothered with the tour events but seems to switch it on in slams.
Hopefully he keeps it going for Wimbledon. @ClarkeyCat who do see as contenders for Wimbledon? I see only Djokovic, Murray and Stan. Nadal will get to the second week, Federer will do the same but will run out of steam. Tsonga and Berdych donāt have the mentality. Grass wonāt suit nishikori.[/QUOTE]
I guess the 3 you mention plus Iād add Federer as an outside chance if the draw favours him. You might drop Cilic in there also. Contenders may have been a poor choice of words - probably thereās more scope for a different shakeup. You also have Raonic coming back, Dimitrov and a few young bucks like Kyrgios, Thiem, Coric, Kokinasses etc. It feels a bit like the landscape is changing. That said, it feels like Djokovic should win I suppose. But no one saw Stan coming for the Aussie Open or Cilic for the US - it would be nice to have a new name on the trophy. Murray will be ripping now that Stan has tied him up too.
I would rank Murray as favourite for Wimbledon. Heās more of less back to the level he was at 2012/13 after that career threatening injury and long lay off. Its hard to know with Djokovic. He admitted after he lost the Wimbledon final two years ago, the nature of the 9-7 fifth set defeat to Nadal in Paris was still preying on his mind. Last year he reacted positively to losing the final in Paris. That was a crushing defeat him today, probably the toughest of his career, so will be interesting to see how he reacts. Its always a tough transition from the clay court to the grass courts which is manifested by how quick the turnaround is.
Stan has a bad record at Wimbledon. Last year was his first quarter final in his 10th attempt. Dimitrov has a game thatās tailor made for grass, but heās really flattered to deceive and needs to start delivery now. The likes of Raonic, Kyrgios and Cilic all have good grass court games and could be a handful on any given day.
I donāt see either Federer or Nadal winning it.
[QUOTE=āManuel Zelaya, post: 1155645, member: 377ā]I would rank Murray as favourite for Wimbledon. Heās more of less back to the level he was at 2012/13 after that career threatening injury and long lay off. Its hard to know with Djokovic. He admitted after he lost the Wimbledon final two years ago, the nature of the 9-7 fifth set defeat to Nadal in Paris was still preying on his mind. Last year he reacted positively to losing the final in Paris. That was a crushing defeat him today, probably the toughest of his career, so will be interesting to see how he reacts. Its always a tough transition from the clay court to the grass courts which is manifested by how quick the turnaround is.
Stan has a bad record at Wimbledon. Last year was his first quarter final in his 10th attempt. Dimitrov has a game thatās tailor made for grass, but heās really flattered to deceive and needs to start delivery now. The likes of Raonic, Kyrgios and Cilic all have good grass court games and could be a handful on any given day.
I donāt see either Federer or Nadal winning it.[/QUOTE]
murray is shit mate
[QUOTE=āManuel Zelaya, post: 1155645, member: 377ā]I would rank Murray as favourite for Wimbledon. Heās more of less back to the level he was at 2012/13 after that career threatening injury and long lay off. Its hard to know with Djokovic. He admitted after he lost the Wimbledon final two years ago, the nature of the 9-7 fifth set defeat to Nadal in Paris was still preying on his mind. Last year he reacted positively to losing the final in Paris. That was a crushing defeat him today, probably the toughest of his career, so will be interesting to see how he reacts. Its always a tough transition from the clay court to the grass courts which is manifested by how quick the turnaround is.
I donāt see either Federer or Nadal winning it.[/QUOTE]
Iām not sure anyone would guess the next player on that list. Del Potro only 50/1 - does somebody know something I donāt?
(Allegedly) banging that young one from the womenās tour seems to agree with Stan.