Friday Fashion Thread aka The blind leading the blind

Some rack.

some craic there today, they fucked up at work and paid me nealry a grand extra, just blew half it on that Jasper Conran mac pictured above, trainers and a load of aftershave in Debenhams

I absolutely killed it at the wedding last weekend.
Received more than a few compliments, and not just your generic “you scrub up well” type comments.

what were you wearing?

[quote=“backinatracksuit, post:900, topic:6182, full:true”]Paul Galvin range in Dunnes is all seriously reduced, picked up a lovely hoodie this morning.

You’re nobody until you pick up one of his capes. That’s where it’s at - Cape Town.

I had a nice navy slim fit suit, with waistcoat and my new chocolate brown shoes, a bright blue tie then with match bright blue socks just to bring a bit of colour to proceedings.
The shoes were a game changer. My being on trend with the move away from tan shoes really saw me stand out from the crowd in a refined and stylish way.

Well done pal

These stories are what the fashion thread is really all about

fucking love this look, I’ve spent the last 15 minutes standing in front of the mirror admiring my jacket

Spring is arguably the toughest time of year to dress with any great confidence. You can leave the house under thick grey clouds and a wall of drizzle, only to find yourself enjoying your lunch on a sunlit terrace, and making your way back home in the bracing cold come evening.

The Trench Coat
If you find yourself suited and booted while April’s showers are looking their most threatening, you could do worse than cover up with the classic trench coat.

Offering more coverage than a cotton blazer and traditionally featuring an adjustable belt that helps cut a flattering figure, the trench is the only outer layer you’ll need as the weather starts to warm up.

As this is a timeless piece that will potentially last you a lifetime, Burberry should be the first brand on your hit list if you’re eager to add something truly iconic to your wardrobe. However, Parisian label Sandro is offering an impressive version this season at a much more affordable price point.

Deviating from the classic double-breasted (DB) style, there are plenty of excellent single-breasted trenches out there, too. While perhaps not as inherently flamboyant as a DB version, they are nonetheless smart alternatives to wear over a work suit. Personally, I think the Italian brands work this style best, so look for versions by the likes of Zegna, Canali, Brioni and Herno.

When it comes to hue, you can never go wrong with a timeless camel or beige version, yet there are a wealth of striking colour ways available on the current market – our favourites come in bolder shades of blue, which look extremely contemporary but retain a sense of versatility.

As for length, let your body type guide your choice: tall gents should be looking for longer styles that finish a couple of inches above the knee, breaking up their considerable height, while shorter men would do well to opt for slightly cropped styles, which offer full suit jacket coverage while providing a much-needed lengthening effect.

Lookbook Inspiration
If you’ve opted for a belted style, there are two key ways you can wear it: fully done up and fastened across the waist so that you achieve that desirable ‘V’ shape silhouette, or left open and relaxed with the belt loosely knotted behind your back once the weather picks up.

Of course, tailoring (whether a full suit or separates) is the perfect partner to a trench coat, but don’t be afraid to dress yours down at the weekend with a pair of jeans and a T-shirt. This smart and casual juxtaposition was one of the key styling tricks we witnessed on the AW15 runways and is a technique that can be applied all year round:

You literally cannot go wrong with a trench coat.

they go very well with a nice pair of trainers and a a pair jeans, only someone stylish like myself could pull it off, as I float around the coffee shops of Wimbledon, with a copy of the times

The Trenchcoat Times?

Shocked that anybody with an interest in fashion would even find themselves in the men’s dept of Debenhams, never mind leave 500 quid with them.
That coat looks like something my ould fella wore in the 1980s tassotti.

Mate, its the Spring 2016 look, its all over London, ye’ll be wearing them in Ireland in 4 years as usual

Nothing against the trench coat mate, I’ve seen some lovely Burberry ones pictured recently, you wouldn’t see many around Limerick, that Jasper Conran one doesn’t look great though

I suppose North Face and Super dry jackets are all the rage in Ireland?

@TheUlteriorMotive - looking for suggestions on a budget pair of boots please mate

What’s your take on these?
http://www.schuh.ie/mens/peter-werth-nesbitt-chukka-dark-brown-boots/3200716120/

What would they go with?

And what about these?
http://www.schuh.ie/mens/ohw-roc-tan-boots/3207806220/

Second ones are awful

What do you normally wear

Nice wallabee boot maybe

http://www.clarks.ie/product/26116262/

ZAra do great value boots that are nice

Example here but lots others

http://m.zara.com/ie/en/man/shoes/boots-and-ankle-boots/leather-desert-boots-c358059p3230662.html

I think zara is place to go. Schuh tends to have a lot of dodgy fashion brands and unless you know what you are at you will end up looking like dog shit

Places like ZAra are more classic and the in house designers/buyers have done a lot of the work for you once you steer away from the obvious eurotrash/camp man stuff

Thanks pal. I usually wear slim jeans or slim chino-type slacks + shirt at work. Ideally a boot that could double for work and socialising (some family events coming up, so could do with some new clobber).

Any suggested outfits - photo would be fine, but again low cost if possible!

Uniqlo jeans pal. Buy them online

http://www.uniqlo.com/uk/store/goods/162146?r=1682653127965612317

Uniqlo v neck merino wool sweater in Navy or dark grey

http://www.uniqlo.com/uk/store/goods/149114?r=6771799659705375601

That with the first ZAra boot - great outfit

Over time add slim Chinos in a khaki or beige colour from uniqlo and a shirt from gap in blue and you have

Chinos plus jumper
Jeans plus jumper
Chinos plus shirt
Jeans plus shirt
Jeans plus shirt and jumper
Chinos plus shirt and jumper

Get two light slim fit t shirts in gap in dark grey and light grey and wear with jeans and Chinos casually

6 items plus boots and a capsule wardrobe that is not expensive and looks good

Will dig out a jacket later but probably something field jacket ish in olive maybe depending on Chinos for spring summer

Magnifique!