[Frontpage] Germany v England Preview

The match of the World Cup so far takes place on Sunday afternoon with our near neighbours and good friends England taking on old foe Germany…

Read more…

View the full article

That’s my avatar you prick.

You can use Ozil you Turkish bastard.

I expect it to go to penalties, probably after a 1-1.

I would support the Germans regardless of the opposition (Spain excepted). But facing the English it becomes an altogether more glorious occasion. I cannot wait for the land of Cromwell, Mountjoy, and Churchill to be taken apart. It will be fantastic.

Your best article :clap:

I expect Gareth Barry to be exposed as a holding midfielder of international class in the game. England have noone to track Ozil and will be outnumbered in midfield.

England might have a chance if Johnson and Cole get on top of the German widemen early on and start pushing them back but with Rooney and Lampard totally out of form I see an English exit.

I have an awful feeling that after struggling badly in the group stage and limping into the knockout rounds Ingerlund will actually start to perform.

I hope i’m wrong.

I’m not looking forward to sunday at all,if England win the streets will be full of pissed up numptys knocking fuck out of each other as usual.

If Germany win the same applies but anyone unfortunate to own a German car will be ringing his/her insurance company on monday morning.

England (and many English club teams) tend to struggle against opponents who have a bit of depth or movement to their midfield. Despite years of playing defensive midfielders alongside more attacking midfielders they’ve never really adapted to coping with little passing triangles or movement around the park.

I’d be as worried as others about England suddenly rediscovering their form after the group stages but even if they improve this won’t be an easy game for them. I saw plenty of English commentators refer to their slow start to Italia 90 the other day and how they only really came alive in the quarter finals late on with Platt’s goal. That’s all well and good but you might stutter to victories against Cameroon and Belgium but Germany (and Argentina then presumably) are a different prospect.

This game is going to be shite. Lord Donovan and Co. on the Saturday night is the one to watch.

That may just be the most German picture ever taken. Sums up the man and the country, tremendous.

Hard to call this one.

I have seen Germany in two matches and was very impressed with them in both (the two matches they won obviously).

This game is perfectly set up for England though. They will be the underdogs given their performance thus far and if they will be well motivated for a match against their old enemy.

The question is - are they better than Germany? I think they are, particularly if Bastian is out. I agree with Rocko that he is a top player, and quite underrated in the overall scheme of things.

A lot will have to do with Capello’s selection as well. If he goes with Rooney up top by himself then they have the best chance but if he plays someone with him then he is taking away from their chances. I didn’t see the game with Slovenia when Defoe played but with Heskey in the opening two matches, the tendancy was to knock it long. This becomes even more apparent when Carrragher is on the pitch. The German defence is suspect but will clean up the long ball all day.

England to win in extra time and to hold out with some heroic blocks by JT. Messi to prove their undoing in the quarters though.

Nobody cares.

I don’t think England are underdogs in anyone’s books Farmer. They’re favourites in the betting, they have more “household names” (i.e. names that will be familiar to Jimmy Magee etc), they have a coach with a better reputation.

I expect Schweinsteiger won’t be out. He trained yesterday apparently.

I think Heskey or Crouch up front would work if the rest of the players didn’t use it as an excuse to lump it long. As bad a player as Heskey has been he was possibly their best player in the first two games. That’s as much a reflection on everyone else as it is on him but I can understand Capello’s frustration with Terry when he complained about Cole not playing (instead of Heskey being the implication) when the rest of the team were the guys that decided to lump it long, not Heskey himself.

Great article that.

Problem for England is that in the absence of Hargreaves they have noone capable of playing as a defensive midfielder. Gareth Barry’s best position is actually as an attacking midfielder. His best form for Villa was when he was at the apex of a central three supporting Agbonlahor. He cant tackle and isnt that athletic. I can see the Germans getting a lot of joy testing him. Some English teams have struggled alright, none more so than Aston Villa who typically get outnumbered centrally but if the full backs push forward it can even the numbers up. Arsenal under Wenger played with widemen such as Pires who werent slaves to the touchline and could be counted on to drop in if needed too. An intelligent centre forward or treq could also drop in occasionally. Strict formations are overrated imo. But England seem unable to play any other way but the three lines of 442.

A team as history proves are capable of switching it on seemingly out of nowhere. Kerry’s performance against Dublin last year comes to mind. England do have very good players not playing well at the moment - Rooney and Lampard in particular. If out of nowhere they suddenly turn it on it is likely England will win. Lampard though thrives best of a centre forward in form. Think Rooney in Euro 2004 and Drogba and Anelka at club level. As Giles was saying recently Lampard even at his best doesnt get involved too much in the play generally. England have a big problem in that Defoe is essentially there as a poacher. He wont bring anyone into the game but will force the opposition to defend deeper and provide a goal threat. Rooney in his current form is only a negative influence and a good bet to get a red card I reckon. Therefore what Lampard is best at, breaking into the box or feeding off knock downs isnt likely to happen. His game is not pressing in midfield and taking the ball off the back four which is likely to be his role against the Germans. I just cant see Lampard and Barry being able to stem the German three in midfield. England are likely to try and bypass the midfield altogether at times and look for Rooney to feet. If he can settle early and look for the likes of Johnson, Cole and Gerrard England have a chance. If not they will be solely relying on a set piece goal.

Great article and breakdown Rocko. But i disagree England are favourites, most non-English pundits and football people are going for Germany. Wouldn’t take any notice of the bookies, most are Brittish based and those eejits always back themselves.

I see Germany winning 1-0 in regular time. Unless Capello chages his mindset altogether. I think the English should play an English way, with lots of pressure and a fast paced game, but not with the players in the positions they have now.

I think this team below would serve England better, with Carrick instructed to just break up the play as much as possible and stay close to Ozil when England have the ball at all times, not leaving an outlet should they lose it.

James (only because i wouldn’t change the keeper again, i’d have Hart from the start)
Johnson Terry King Cole
Milner Carrick Lampard Lennon
Gerrard
Rooney

No left winger in the squad is retarded, as is not bringing Scott Parker. A grafter who won’t let the opposition with too much time on the ball.

Cacau is out of the match tomorrow with a stomach muscle problem.

He was unlikely to start but he was probably going to feature at some time and his pace would have caused different problems for the English centre halves. Between Gomez and Kiessling now to replace Klose probably if and when he tires. Gomez is probably the preferred choice though Kiessling had a far better season. Not that this German team is picked on domestic form at all.