Fuck it lads, bit of a situation here. Wearing a pair of Asics gels and need to attened a funeral on the way homeā¦ advice?
Take off your socks and pull them up over them.
I mean, seriously, how often do you really look at a mans shoes?
Fly into a two euro store and get a pair of thongs. People will have a lot more respect for you wearing them than asics gels, you roaster.
This is a rural funeral. No makeshift urban suggestions please.
Just go ahead. The bereaved have more concerns than your footwear. Wipe the shit off them though.
Roll around in a load of grass before entering, and have grass stains all over your hands and face, then the people will say, jaysus he must have been at the silage today, fair play to him for making the time to come here
Do you not have a pair of Wellington boots in the boot?
Thats more like it.
Be sure to turn them down though
Asics gel are the running shoes, is that correct?
if it was a pair of Asics Tigers Iād say fire away but I agree that you are in a real pickle here
He could pretend heās called in while heās out on his evening run, keep jogging on the spot while sympathising
The most important thing is that you were seen there. You and yours are good now with that family until the next death.
I stumbled across this old classic and it contains some keening in it starting at 33.53 ā¦ @anon67715551 was it still a tradition when you were a nipper?
No, but I remember clay pipes being a feature of wakes in my youth. I was at a wake once where a hoor of a row broke out in the corpse house and had to be taken outside to the haggard where some semblance of sense and propriety eventually prevailed.
All blamed on another neighbour over the quality of the poteen.
Our next door neighbour was 83 and was a strong independent woman. We moved in beside her 18 years ago this very weekend as the first house of a pretty large estate where there had been a fine limestone dairy farm. She took a while to get used to people living so close, particularly having kids put sliothars and footballs into her garden. She got to kmow us and we became great old friends.
She died yesterday morning after a short battle with cancer and was removed this evening. We are shaving a small wake for her tonight with some good whiskey. We will miss her.
101 was a fair age mate. May she RIP
Shaving a wake?
the whiskey was working