We had food and fresh milk though so it wasnt all bad. Poor old townies and they reared on tayto sandwiches and the chipper. They didnt have the fortitude to survive the beatings
One lad in our class who was from the country actually but who had townieish parents would eat a packet of custard creams for lunch. Poor lad dropped dead of a heart attack the other year.
I got a slap from a nun in junior infants but it was a once off and she turned out to be sound but no doubt a few years earlier so was doling it out, and she was one of the nice ones⌠I took it in good spirit⌠The auld lad went to CBS⌠Anytime he hears christan brothers mentioned he just says Bastards and says no more⌠The religious orders on this island were every bit as bad as nazis.
The mother sent us to elocution lessons around 10, brother was 7⌠The Limerick accent was coming on and she didnt like it.
Two retired teachers running the show and they were absolute cunts⌠They were late 60s and it was early 90s so they were passed belting kids but not humiliating them⌠As the newbies who didnt want to be there we got the brunt of it, calling you all sorts and screaming at you in front of the classâŚi remember a lady in her 20s being part of the class which was odd⌠But one day one of the dragons was humiliating my 7 year old brother for not remembering a line in a poem and i snapped, jumped up and called her a fucking old bitch and to FOAD⌠Told the brother get his jacket and we left⌠. Luckily mat an aunt outside kranks corner and got the bus fare home and let the mother off to call in to collect us not knowing what happened⌠We never went to elocution again.
I went to a presentation brothers school ( CSN) Bishoptown,and can honestly say that bar one prick all were kind ,and with a mix of non religious teachers I had an enjoyable time there - ( as does my youngest now) some were kind - got a few days off one of the brothers but it was the exception rather than the rule
[quote=âchocolatemice, post:3393, topic:26694â]
We never went to elocution again Kiiiiiid
Look at your wan above, electrocution lessons sheâs sendin dem to.
Electrocution, wats dat?
Dâya know to speak all posh and dat
God t help us, she thinks shes the queen of Sheba
Thelpis
We showed em tho kid⌠No surrender.
Elocution lessons .Fair play to your ma,she obviously wasnt a townie and was mortified when the auld accent stared to come out
She was after moving to Clare to better her familyâs situation, she couldnât have the two lads going round with Moyrosstitute accents on them
This was prep for the big move
An elocution teacher came to our primary cbs school in the 80âs. Sure we didnât know we had an accent
Ok. Whatâs a townie?
The auld townie dietâŚdaily chips with their grey skin
As Flatty says I shouldnât but I did. Good one lad, there must be thousands of tragi-comedies from school days.
Poor @anon61878697âs mother spent a fortune on getting him elocution lessons and he going around with a fake Cark accent now
In the late 80s I often had the misfortune of getting the last 40 bus to Finglas from Parnell st on a Friday night. The last stage coach out of Dodge city would pale in comparison. Drinking, smoking, pissing and fighting and that was just the mots. Anyway I was upstairs one Friday and the bus going up Dorset st when a load of scobie teenagers down the back reefed the long back seat out of its casing and threw it out the back window into the oncoming traffic. The driver jammed on the brakes and ran upstairs and addressed the bedraggled masses with a question that has stayed with me to this day. âWhich one of you cunts thrun the fucken seat out the fucken windowâ?
âThrunâ would have been common enough in Limerick. âWho thrun dâappleâ was common in school after someone getting an apple core hopped off their head.
âWho fired the rockerâ, was the old Limerick one.