Further Things That Are Wrong (Part 2)

Why are you linking the young greens and Russell Brand? Is that the sort of carry on ye get up to ?

All of those ads for Verisure alarms.

You don’t find it absolutely bizarre that people introduce themselves through their “preferred pronouns”? 🫨

I’m not batting for Brand at all. Merely stating that a person is entitled to the presumption of innocence until it is otherwise proved. Radical isn’t it!

This is wrong on every level. As if the poor kids hadn’t suffered enough. They bought stuff in a hardware shop to use in surgery on kids.

I don’t bother using pronouns myself but what fucking harm if someone else does? I’d a (third level) student before that had changed name and I was unsure about their gender anymore. I said “good man” to them one day and then checked myself. They didn’t take any umbrage with it, but it makes fuckall difference to me if they want to be known as he/she/it etc., and if they want to tell me, even better. That way I won’t be left trying to figure it out myself.

This is the thing for me. What fucking difference does it make to me if someone wants to be referred to as he she it they?

100% Fagan. Often they are people having a particularly difficult time of it. If you can make them feel a tiny bit more comfortable in their surroundings, then most people with any bit of empathy would.

I’d suspect a lot of them are going through hell with their families, work whatever. It isn’t an easy road to go down. Nobody does it for the fun of it. So as you say a tiny bit of empathy wouldn’t go astray.

No, its quite common now

Agreed

Agreed. But I don’t appreciate how offensive some get when people make a mistake in relation to it. Habits are hard change. We all need to be kind.

It all seems very weird and strange to us and completely alien to anything most of us have experienced and the world we were brought up in. But id imagine the idea of some average fella saying my pronouns are he/him is saying he is raising awareness of the fact that not everyone who looks like a fella wants to be referred to in this way. It’s an awareness and support thing of the fact that some people are different and feel different.
Obviously there is an element of look at me types getting involved but sure what harm there are also those with genuine intentions. The lads who are vocally against it are at the same attention seeking craic.
I can safely say it has had literally zero impact on my life so far and I could care less about it tbh and don’t give it a seconds thought from day to day. If it comes knocking on my door with something in relation to my kids or close family ill cross that bridge when I come to it until then I’ll literally live and let live.

I went on two dates with someone who’s preferred pronouns were it. True story. I didn’t go home with it due to the team of large snakes slithering around the apartment. Terror.

I often find that people tend to get more offended on behalf of people who’ve changed pronouns. The perma-rage people. Trans and non-binary people in my experience are for the very most part used to misgendering. If someone apologies and isn’t a constant offender or doesn’t make an effort to learn their pronoun if meeting regularly, that can piss them off.

The reality of life is below in the comments. They’ve them turned off to just alleged allies.

Are you disappointed you couldn’t fire an abusive comment or two in?

I’ve never come across it in my 39 years on this planet. Its bizarre.

There was a time when you wouldn’t have come across a black lad riding your sister, but most of us are ok with that nowadays. Times change mate, yesteryear’s bizarre is tomorrow’s normal.

Its changed mate, its getting more common and people dont really care

I’d say there’s a heavily overlapping Venn diagram between people who demand the right to bully trans people and people who think being cruel to animals is funny.