GAA Managerial Merrygoround Thread

They’d be stupid not to bring in Ciaran Carey and Mark Foley.

I think he’s involved with balinteer this year. Think he’d be a disaster for Dublin.

Wexford haven’t been the same since he left.

He has not moved on himself. You can see it in his articles.

Dublin need to theow the bank at John Myler or someone similar.

Too soft, too molly coddled, too many notions of themselves.

And you want us to appoint John Meyler who started blubbering on live television after winning a Munster u21 semi final?

The parallels between Justin McCarthy and Ger Cunningham are uncanny.

Two individuals with the man management skills of a warthog who took over promising enough sides with potentially decent players coming through before running them into the ground after falling out with all and sundry, backed by complicit, gutless CB’s which ultimately ended in shame, ridicule and relegation to 1B while the two lads depart into the sunset having been handsomely remunerated for their reigns of terror.

Go the full hog and get TJ to make up the ultimate Troika.

Funny. Justin was a brilliant coach to Waterford for 5 years. Played thrilling hurling and made us the most loved team in Ireland. I remember his reign so fondly.

Christ almighty, if Justin’s career is to be summed up by a ill advised move to the most car crash hurling county of all where he still conducted his business with dignity then it’s a fucked up world of sports.

Another wxample of the locals not able to accept responsibility

Justin may have got outdated, but jesus he was a great coach for a very long time. He coached my Uncle in 1977 to win a South East.

I’d say he has been involved in mire successes than any hurling coach alive.

Limerick people really don’t get it. Its a very strange thing.

Passion fella. Ye wouldn’t know it in hurling if ye got whacked across the head with it.

Dublin is Dublins problem.

Is that the Cork footballers you refer to?

Proof positive you have no idea about anything with the Cork footballers or indeed the psychology of sport. They are the exact opposite. They do not get looked after at all.

You are anti-proof. You were found out red handed telling lies about the Cork footballers yesterday, you don’t even know the meaning of the word.

Seriously?

What lies?

Cork played Waterford 8 weeks ago. A number of their players have played bit parts of games. No club games and or are coming back from or actually are injured. The full backline is very open to this. All 3 players have played very little or nothing. Cadogan has played zilch. Loughery was named but did not play one game. Sullivan is a liability, both are in fact as numerous black cards indicate.

Conducted his business with dignity?

Whereby he got us relegated, divided clubs, players, officials and supporters and didn’t even have the guts to face the media after the C team he was responsible for lost heavily to Cork, instead sending out a young lad to face the fire on his behalf?

Not interested in his record elsewhere, all I know is what while he was with us he was a hungry cunt who set us back years.

Well he is coaching since shortly after his accident. Exact age i could not be sure of, think he was 26. He coached so many club teams to wins its unbelievable. He was winning divisional championships all over the place in the 70’s and i think more than once coached 3 different teams, one each in junior,intermeduate and senior. He won titles in other counties too i think, although i am hazy on that.

He made teams better everywhere he went

I suppose at IC there is only one man worth discussing, Cody.

But other than that who? I’m sure there are people i have forgotten or may be unaware of. But Justins length of activity makes him stand out

Ye set yourselves back years.

I mean cop the fuck on a d think about it logically.

Why did ye need an outsider at all ffs.

And if he wasn’t a good fit, it was Limerick men who brought him in.

Same for Dublin. Grow a pair of balls and accept responsibility.

Derek McGrath is taking a 3 year sabbatical from his new teaching job in Rathfarnham