Bit of a peculiar quote from the wife. Fair touch of paganism with the nature and God references.
Shur what harm
None what so ever, just curious insight
Dunno if itâs been mentioned yet but the original GAA maverick was Kerryâs Mick o Connell, dissapeared a time or 2 with Sam , told no one just fecked off, he wasnât into speeches and press etc , he legged it back to Valentina island
Heâs a spiky fucker
Genius in his day though, I holiday near him, and my close friend introduced me , he was fine , think heâs just a quiet unassuming man
Positive news story, good to hear of his improvement
Is he going in goals?
Irony not lost that Lazarus posts it. Incredible recovery, must all be thrilled
âOnce I was hurling down in Ballinasloe against Galway in the league and marking Joe Cooney. It was snowing. I was shivering with the cold and he had his sleeves rolled up. He went to a ball one time and I was coming flying and he just bent over and turned his arse and I cracked three of my ribs off his arse. The worst one I remember was hurling with the club and we were playing Glynn-Barntown in New Ross and I was after having a flu or a bit of a cold, so I wasnât in great form. The boys decided to pick me midfield. Three quarters of the way through the game Willie Carley - he played football for Wexford - got the ball. Willie was a big hardy fucker now . He went on a solo run down the field. I saw him coming and said I am not going to be able to run after this fella so I went for him, I went with a half-hearted effort with my eyes kind of closed and he hit me, Iâd say I turned head over heels five times before I stopped. He absolutely flattened me. And the referee gave me a free! It shook every bone in my body. Back then it was different, you didnât let on you were hurt if you could breathe at all. Itâs the one thing that really bugs me now about the present day hurling is this cynical hurling where a lad gets a bit of a flick and he rolls around and takes off his helmet and tries to get the fella booked or sent off. I just canât bear that in hurling and that is coming in. And this tugging at lads off the ball. You have a good skilful player and you keep at him and at him and next thing the ref comes down and books the two of them. They talk of pulling down a forward going for goal. I would prefer something done about that. This hitting him in the back with the hurl when the play is down the far end of the field, jabbing at him the whole time. I personally believe if a fella is allowed do that you should be allowed turn and pull across him. Thatâs what I think should happen. I know you couldnât do that. But I do believe if a fella is driving the handle of the hurl into me I feel I should be allowed turn and pull across him. And fuck him. Thatâs what would have happened years ago. Heâd be laid down on the ground and he wouldnât do it any more."
A gifted stickman
Dr. Diarmuid Couch @onthecouchandoffit@gmail.com
to dfarrell@dublingaa.ie
Dublin Football Team End Of Year Squad Self-Evaluation Report 2022:
All panel members have completed this questionnaire.
Results:
Hardest working player: Mick Fitzsimons
Most inspirational player: Mick Fitzsimons
Player most helpful to other players: Mick Fitzsimons
Easiest player to get on with: Mick Fitzsimons
Best craic on a night out: Mick Fitzsimons
Most intelligent player: Mick Fitzsimons
Best conversationalist: Mick Fitzsimons
Player most likely to be on a high salary: Mick Fitzsimons
Least boastful player: Mick Fitzsimons
Most honest player: Mick Fitzsimons
Most self-deprecating player: Mick Fitzsimons
Funniest player: Mick Fitzsimons
Most hygienic player: Mick Fitzsimons
Player that smells nicest: Mick Fitzsimons
Cleanest/fairest player on the pitch: Mick Fitzsimons
Player most likely to burst an opponent if needed: Mick Fitzsimons
Most stylish player off the pitch: Mick Fitzsimons
Player most likely to personally welcome new panel members: Mick Fitzsimons
Player least likely to ever beat a woman: Mick Fitzsimons
Player most dedicated to their club: Mick Fitzsimons
Most handsome player: Mick Fitzsimons
Player least likely to ever go bald: Mick Fitzsimons
Most obliging player with supporters for selfies and autographs: Mick Fitzsimons
Player most likely to become Dublin manage in the future: Mick Fitzsimons
Player most popular with potential in-laws: Mick Fitzsimons
Whoâs that?
Flood
I doubt Mickey Linden was there.
Heâs a gent. Remember being out with DOB and met him andDan Gordon. Great craic ensued
Prob the only Cross member left without a criminal record