Iād say the GAA want to make extra money by pressurising people to buy tickets in advance that they might not use.
But I donāt think GAA crowds work that way.
Iād say the GAA want to make extra money by pressurising people to buy tickets in advance that they might not use.
But I donāt think GAA crowds work that way.
I decided to head to Galway v Monaghan at the last minute. It was a grand day so I decided to Get the bus in to Eyre Sq and walk to the stadium from there. Rather than go over the pre match permutations in my head I spent the majority of the journey trying to purchase the fecking match ticket on the Ticketmaster app. Infuriating and not user friendly. A complete no no for the likes of my father. It would definitely dissuade the likes of him from going up to a match last minute. The spontaneity of it was often half the craic.
Jesus Iād say itās the opposite if anything actually happens.
Itās a total cluster fuck working off that stupid website.
Any club worth its salt will look after loyal, elderly fans for club games and even county games. In our club weāve a lad on the executive who sorts out the elderly lads who donāt have a smart phone and canāt/wonāt download tickets.
Itās a bit of work but necessary to facilitate lads who kept the club and country going when it didnāt have a pot to piss in.
Thereās no doubt it is having an effect on lads going to matches. My own father has all but given up going to matches, he wants to just arrive on at the gate and not walk in sheepishly beside another lad who has two tickets on his phone (he still has the same Nokia 3310 for God knows how long and will never, ever upgrade - when that eventually gives up heāll do without a phone)
Most auld lads are embarrassed to ask someone younger and more able to buy a ticket.
I know my own father wonāt go to any game now unless myself or the brother buy the tickets for him. The concept of buying a ticket in a supermarket is also foreign to him.
Itās a disgrace.
Thereās a Super Valu in Blackrock, on the way to Mahon.
On the other side of the ground from the city? Hardship in the rain. We were lucky enough.
Yep, away from the city. 15 mins walk from PuĆC
The Waterford U14A Football Final was played tonight. Thatās Gaelic football done for the year now for that particular age demographic after a short burst in the mud and rain across January, February and March. Most of the underage football will be played off by Easter across all grades in the County.
One feature of the split season is how the lesser sport in particular counties is getting completely downgraded.
What the fuck does a carlow Cunt care about U14 football in Waterford? Weirdo.
That would have happened split season or no split season.
Why would u14 football be affected by the split season?
An ai poem - itās no porter laureate
In the land of the GAA, where the games are played with pride
Thereās a new season on the horizon, and itās time to decide
The split season is upon us, a change thatās long overdue
And the players and fans alike are wondering what it will do
No longer will the football and hurling seasons overlap
No more will players be stretched thin, with no time for a nap
The footballers will have their time, from February to July And then the hurlers will take the stage, with their skills to apply
The winter months will be for rest, for healing and for training
And then the footballers will begin, with their passion unrelenting
The stadiums will be alive, with the roar of the crowd
As the players take to the pitch, with their heads held proud
The hurlers will wait their turn, with their sticks at the ready
And when their time comes, theyāll be fierce and steady
The split season is a change, but one thatās for the best
For the players and the fans, itās a chance to truly invest
So letās embrace this new season, with all that weāve got
And let the games begin, with passion and with thought
For in the land of the GAA, where the games are played with pride
The split season is a new chapter, and itās time to decide.
Presume they are publicising this service on Twitter, insta and the other social channels.
Waterford v Clare, Munster Minor Hurling Championship match in Dungarvan postponed 15 minutes before throw in tonight.
This is the inevitable consequence of playing them off this time of the year.
Bad aul land in Waterford
These clowns will have all these games played off in Fethard if weāre not careful.
The Lowrydome
How does hurling fare out in the dome I wonder