Is he happy spraying aftershave now?
The more an intercounty season is drawn out the more opportunities of content for national media weather it be tv or newspapers.
Which benefits the GAA as a whole.
Only in the GAA are there people who think that media coverage is a bad thing.
Could you honestly imagine the IRFU or the FAI or any other sporting body saying something like âoh, but that would bring extra media coverage, which is a bad thing, we want to go as under the radar as possibleâ.
He now owns twitter.
They donât want anyone to even watch the games anymore.
Please point out to me where its been said by myself or anyone else that media coverage is a bad thing? Think your making up stuff again, ofcourse its a good thing but its obvious certain sections of the media would nearly want wall to wall intercounty action 12 months of the year to fill column inches and the running of club championships and players getting some sort of a break over the winter is nearly an irrelevance to them. What people want is fairness to all players both club and intercounty, and remember ultimately intercounty players are club players too, as I pointed out last night its pointless comparing GAA to professional sport so bringing bodies like IRFU and FAI which govern professional games is a almost a null and void comment.
Wexford squad members going off playing junior soccer the week before a Leinster Championship match.
This is the reality when you dumb down a spectacle so much.
Your posts imply from their framing that media coverage is a bad thing.
The GAA is competing against professional sport. If youâre in the business of trying to fill stadiums and get media coverage for the matches you want to fill stadiums, professional sport is exactly what youâre competing against.
The last two rounds of the Munster round robin last year were competing against the final two weekends of the Premier League, when Liverpool were involved. That is an insane choice by the GAA and they lost heavily. Only the absolute diehards were talking about the hurling the following day, it was blown out of the water for media coverage.
They donât imply that at all just pointing out the motives of the the most vocal critics of the new calendar.Right so if your drawing up a national calendar club and intercounty for 2024 is a last day of the premier league season a factor in your decision? Youâll always have clashes their unavoidable, if the All Ireland Finals were on in September as per tradition this year theyâd be clashing with the rugby world cup. The reason the Munster championship final day last year was a damp swib was Waterford downed tools and Tipp were shite.
If youâre the GAA the biggest fixtures in other sports should always be a factor in your decision making. This is why the new timing of the season itself is such a disaster. You want your biggest fixtures in the months where they have the playing field to themselves the most. That has traditionally always been June to September.
These months are when the floating Irish sporting public are in a GAA mindset. An All-Ireland final in September or a big All-Ireland semi-final in August can take on and defeat any any counter-attraction, be it a Rugby World Cup, an Olympics or Liverpool v Manchester United. When Ireland beat Australia in the 2011 Rugby World Cup it was completely overshadowed by the Dublin v Kerry final. Why? Because it was the third Sunday of September and there is over a century of history and tradition backing up that occasion. The timing is an integral part of that. You donât fuck with tradition. And because the public is invested after four months of the championship. Competitions build their own momentum over the weeks and months.
By scheduling key fixtures for April and May, youâre heavily increasing the chance of a wipe out in terms of public attention - and by the end of May, before the floating Irish sporting public has even grappled with the fact the championships are on, the majority of fixtures have already taken place. Going head to head with the final weekends of the Premier League is suicide, because the Premier League has all the momentum, itâs the competition coming to the boil after nine months. The GAA championships canât build momentum because theyâre overshadowed.
Other sports arenât going to make their schedule around the GAA because theyâre international sports. So the GAA has to box clever and maximise the period when it has the advantage.
Certain people in the GAA understand this. Thatâs why Kerry v Galway in the 2006 NFL final was moved so as not to clash with Leinster v Munster in the Heineken Cup semi-final, or Kildare v Offaly was moved so as not to clash with Ireland v Spain in the World Cup.
But latterly, pig ignorance and stupdity is winning out again. Kerry v Galway in 2018 was not moved despite clashing with the World Cup final, and so attracted a paltry attendance and derisory TV viewership, as did Ballyhale v Ballygunner, which was the most attractive fixture of the club hurling year by a mile. But nobody watched it.
Thereâs no reasoning or even coherent arguments from these split season zealots. Iâve flagged the player welfare issues of changing the heavy lifting in the inter-county season from June/July/August to March/April/May for young fellows preparing for and sitting state school and university end of year exams. Spilt season zealot @billyocean has labelled me as a headbanger and disingenuous for my troubles.
The split season zealots didnât care one iota for Ballyhale v Ballygunner.
@Perez2017 and a few more made it loud and clear they were going to be watching the soccer
Post split season, they run off the county hurling championships in Wexford in a 6-week clay court style season in the middle of the summer. The split season was purportedly to give the club player a fair crack of the whip, yet most teams are well below full strength for the 6 weeks in June and July because many players are on their summer holidays. They have partners and families and canât solely prioritise their hobby for a whole 6-week block. And some lad who gets a grade 1 or 2 hamstring or calf strain might miss the entire club championships. Absolutely bizarre carry on. At least when the club championships were completed on a haphazard basis over an 8-month period, you wouldnât miss all your club games with a relatively minor injury or because you were going to a campsite in France with your partner and kids.
In fairness, that is absolute madness from the Wexford county board.
In Waterford last year the split season 6 week hurling club championships ran from the August bank holiday weekend to finals weekend 10/11 September. One of the split season zealot crew on here, possibly @the_man_himself had little sympathy for those tied into builders holidays, the first two weeks in August. Take the kids out of school in June and go on holidays then was the suggestion.
Ratified by the clubs down there. Killing hurling but theyâve had a bounce in the junior & intermediate provincial club football championships, as football is run off second in an 8-week Premier League Darts style blitz in September & October & teams are usually quite match fit entering the provincial competition. On the flip side of that, the senior club hurling representatives have taken huge hammerings in their provincial openers as they havenât played competitively in months.
So their was no club matches in August in previous years? What a spoofer.
I agree on the last 2 paragraphs but thatâs just daft and very little to do with an overall calendar, thatâs just cop on to fix a game for Saturday rather than Sunday or 2pm Sunday rather than 4pm. You actually make a valid point too that things clashing is not ideal but i believe you have to be fair to everyone and have a set intercounty and club window so lads can plan other parts of their lifes rather than not knowing in January for the following August or September weather their in club action or not. Unfortunately I think to get a fair balance for everyone sacrifices will have to be made.
Fact i was mate. All Gaa had to do was play it on the Saturday.