Gaa split season,killing Meath football since 2011

I played golf with 3 fior gaels this morning and Iā€™d say this was the main topic of discussion for majority of the roundā€¦winners in descending order are the pubs, the dodgy box fellas, Munster rugby and the GAA for the paltry few quid they get for gaa go

Kildare-Down in Parnell Park tonight after the Wexford game in Croker.

We need to go back to straight knock out and just the All Ireland finals and maybe the odd provincial final on tv. In black and white, if possible.

The under-21 (which is what they should be) championships should be knockout summer midweek competitions. Every Wednesday and Thursday night from mid-June to early to mid-August should have an under-21 game live on TG4.

Sample format:
Wednesday June 14th: Connacht under-21 football quarter-final: Roscommon v Galway from Dr. Hyde Park
Thursday June 15th: Leinster under-21 hurling quarter-final: Offaly v Kilkenny from Tullamore
Wednesday June 21st: Munster under-21 hurling quarter-final: Waterford v Clare from Ennis
Thursday June 22nd: Ulster u-21 football quarter-final: Armagh v Down from the BOX-IT Athletic Grounds
Wednesday June 28th: Leinster under-21 hurling semi-final: Galway v Kilkenny from Athenry
Thursday June 29th: Leinster football u-21 quarter-final: Meath v Dublin from Navan
Wednesday July 5th: Connacht under-21 football semi-final - Galway v Mayo from Tuam
Thursday July 6th: Leinster under-21 hurling semi-final - Dublin v Wexford from Parnell Park
Wednesday July 12th: Munster under-21 hurling semi-final: Clare v Tipperary from Ennis
Thursday July 13th: Ulster under-21 football semi-final: Tyrone v Derry from Omagh
Wednesday July 19th: Ulster under-21 football semi-final: Monaghan v Down from Castleblaney
Thursday July 20th: Munster under-21 hurling semi-final: Limerick v Cork from the Gaelic Grounds
Wednesday July 26th: The Leinster under-21 hurling final: Wexford v Kilkenny from Wexford Park
Thursday July 27th: The Munster under-21 football final - Cork v Kerry from Pairc Ui Rinn
Wednesday August 2nd: The Munster Under-21 hurling final: Clare v Limerick from Ennis
Thursday August 3rd: The Connacht Under-21 football final: Sligo v Mayo from Markievicz Park
Wednesday August 9th: The Leinster Under-21 football final - Kildare v Dublin live from Portlaoise
Thursday August 10th: The Ulster Under-21 football final - Derry v Down from the BOX-IT Athletic Grounds

Two months of a midweek magical mystery tour.

Its no coincidence Tedros and the WHO announced the end of the global emergency on the eve of Tipp Cork. Hoards of Tipp supporters down here already. Craic is ninety. Glorious day for it as well.

While the other 99% pf players in these counties scratched their collective hoops wondering when they would get to play a match.

The split season is a minor inconvenience for a few armchair supporters (not there is anything wrong with armchair supporters) but a godsend to anyone who plays or coaches the game at club level.

Itā€™s the best of times

Thatā€™s a load of shite. Players are leaving in their droves for other sports as bandage explained.

Youā€™d to tackle the inter county season which was too long. Instead itā€™s gotten longer and somehow folk think itā€™s a victory for the clubs.

More lies

Maybe in Wexford but what they are doing is nuts. Not anywhere else as far as i can see. Club players have a fixture calendar in january and can plan their lives around it. This was unheard of before. Club players are loving it. Leaving in droves my hole.

Heā€™s a born liar that fella

You are talking rubbish. There was no reason to expand the inter county season.

The only reason club games were moved was because of the insanity of the inter county structure.

You wouldnā€™t make prisoners set down and watch tomorrows offerings.

Association football and rugby football manage just fine playing different competitions across each other.

Premier League, Champions League, FA Cup, League Cup, internationals.

The GAA canā€™t do it because it chooses not to. The GAA chooses terrible administration.

Youā€™ve a load of inter county fans masquerading as club people to justify elongated inter county season.

Well donā€™t watch it so. Youā€™re a casual armchair gaa supporter. Youā€™re opinion is pretty irrelevant to the people making these decisions and rightfully so.

Iā€™ve little or no interest in the inter county scene.

Iā€™m interested in protecting the clubs.

Even the weaker counties like Waterford, Clare and when Limerick were at a low ebb the 21s all Ireland was a huge lift.

It probably keeps the thing going in a lot of counties as itā€™s their best hope of a bit of silver and theyā€™ve destroyed that.

More lies, the clubs are thriving

Thereā€™s a strong element of truth in that. Iā€™ve seen with our football team this year. Lads havenā€™t been anywhere near as committed because that championship doesnā€™t start until late August/September. A few players only starting to filter back from soccer/rugby now who would have always played GAA first from the get go.

From a personal perspective Iā€™ve never played as many matches. Itā€™s suiting me perfectly. I reckon Iā€™ve been togged out for 23 matches and started 20 between football, hurling and soccer in 2023 so far. But I can see the bigger picture and the inter-county game doesnā€™t have the same buzz at all as it used. No build up to games. Kildare almost ended the Dublin monopoly in Leinster last Sunday and it didnā€™t garner much attention at all.