I just listened to that. I like tomas but the whole argument he is making is just so weird when you apply any kind of scrutiny to it. It’s actually laughable. How can an amateur sport have any say whatsoever with choices people make with what to do with their lives?
There is LITERALLY nothing the gaa can do except make it more attractive for players to stay. Giving out in any way about the Aussies is farcical.
All they need to do is get the afl to ringfence a few bob from each tv deal to give a club a few bob as a courtesy. Everyone’s a winner. It’ll be done shortly
Tomas wouldn’t be too worried I’d say about it only there’s so many Kerry players are gone and it’s costing them All Irelands. There isn’t much you can do about it and the new rules are making that prototype of tall, lean quick fellas who are made for AFL
The new rules in Gaelic football and the split season are a godsend.
Players are now basically already training like professionals plus with so many games it’s easier for Aussie clubs to identify if lads can stand up to the rigors of the professional game.
100%. As soon as I heard Joe say on Bits and Bobs the other day that a high profile GAA figure had contacted him concerned about the threat of AFL I knew it was Tómas. Kerry potentially losing two U20 midfielders being the reason. That’s accentuated because he see’s himself as Kerry Senior manager from 2028 onwards.
You have to wish him all the best. Is it any different to a good player getting a shot at being an athlete or basketball or soccer? Good luck to him and use him as you can to inspire the next young lad like him
But the GAA need to find some way to sweeten the deal. And we’re not talking big money but something whereby the Club can say, well that part of the grounds is purely down to Kobe or Colm etc