GAA today

I don’t think you can look past the favourites today.

Galway and Dublin don’t need any explanation but Derry and Tipperary are tougher calls.

For all Monaghan’s progress and their win gainst Down I still think Derry will be too physical, direct and have too much scoring power for them too.

I think it’s about time Tipp showed their extra class and put Limerick away too. Can’t believe how they couldn’t hold a lead the first few days but they’ve 6 good forwards, including Kelly of course, and I think they’ll put Limerick to bed today.

It works out at just over 3/1 so it’s not great value but I’ve had a dabble I must confess.

Post edited by: Bandage, at: 2007/06/24 18:15

might put a wager on that myself. do you fancy tip-3 at 8/5 Bandage? I prefer Limerick but from my limited knowledge I think Tip have far more class.

What about the Wexford minors last night, massive disappointment. Looked like a bag of nerves compared to the Dublin lads. Hate to admit it, but by the looks of things Dublin will overtake Wexford in hurling within a few years.

Looks like we’ll have to wait for the the u14 team that won the Tony Forristal Cup.

Dublin completely outclassed Wexford yesterday apparently.

Just looking at the qualifier draw there - should we lose to Laois next week then we’ll be off up to picturesque Enniskillen like last year. Would love a crack at Dublin in a provincial final so that’s some incentive to avoid a trek up north.

Fair play to Limerick today - superb heart and belief. I thought Geary was awesome again and he’s been given a lot of criticism in the past.

Dubs comfortable, Galway get though despite spirited Leitrim, bit of a shock in Ulster I would think. I thought Derry would have too much in the tank for Monaghan despite Monaghan’s good win over Down.

The hurling was exciting, the standard was very poor early on but improved. Still get the impression that both teams could be better than they showed today. Especially Limerick, they’ve finally won a match now so maybe this could be the catalyst for them to build on some of the talent that they clearly have. This new found confidence, coupled with the eloquence of inspiriational boss Richie Bennis should mean a decent Munster Final against Waterford.

Babs will be raging. 2-13 in 95 minutes hurling is a poor return. That along with the leads his team lost over the course of the trilogy.

And the ref…generally I don’t criticise referees in hurling matches because most of them are decent but McMahon had an absolute ‘mare today. He should have played a minute’s injury time after the pitch invasion but panicked and blew it up. And also, when TIpp were 1 down they had a clear free denied on the Lim 21, a play from which Oliver Moran ended up scoring to put the Treaty county 2 up. Terrible stuff. Can’t wait to hear Babs’ comment on it.

Yeah Bandage - good point re Geary. Played to his strengths. Good reader of the game and a good stricker if a bit caught for pace. Was very good for the most part of the 3 games and chipped in with some crucial scores. Ollie is the man for Limerick though.

The ref was pretty poor alright. I thought he gave Eoin Kelly a couple of dubious frees in the second half but that was a definite foul on Corbett that you mention Appendage. What was with his habit of lining up 2 lads for a throw in and then turning 45 degrees or 90 degrees and throwing it backwards to 2 other players that weren’t expecting it? Clown.

Players get a lot of criticism when they compalin about stuff but 2 things today really pissed me off.

Firstly, up in Carrick the Leitrim defence had nicely worked a bit of space through a series of handpasses and were coming up the field with the ball when the ref blew. Everyone stopped and waited to see what was going on and it turned out his ear mic’ had come loose so he went over and got the lino to fix it. Then he resumed with a throw up ball which Galway won and pointed from the resulting move. Could the fooking imbecile not have waited til the ball went dead before stopping play? Leitrim are in possession but then end up conceding a point becasue of the sheer stupidity of the ref. Totally unacceptable and I don’t care what anyone says.

Secondly, Seanie McMahon restarting play when the Limerick medical team were trying to remove Damien Reale on a stretcher. The lad appeared to be unconscious and then gradually came around but when he tried to walk off his legs just buckled so they had to put him on a stretcher. At least have the fooking human decency to wait til he’s off the pitch before you have the sliothar flying around by him.

Good to see that Dublin won without ever getting out of 2nd gear against a poor Offaly team. The last 15 mins of the first half was the worst football I have ever seen played. Wide after wide after wide. The goal by Vaughan killed the game early 2nd half and I was glad because I could escape the 10 minute wait I had to endure to get out of Croker at the first Meath game. Dont mind if its Laois or Wexford in the final.

Those two decisions were laughable today Bandage. I thought it was a poor day for refereeing. Tipp were definitely denied a free to level it in injury time before Moran’s last point for Limerick and I think the ref bottled it.

The decision in Carrick to stop the game to get an ear-piece fixed was just plain stupid. No excuse for that at all - just utterly pathetic.

Didn’t think much of Michael Collins either in the Dublin-Offaly game. He decided from the start he was going to punish overcarrying and players not retreating after conceding frees and he turned the game into a bit of a joke. Some of the frees for overcarrying were nonsense and ruined the game because it just gave defenders an excuse to crowd and pull at the guy in possession, knowing they’d get the free.

Performance itself from Dublin was adequate but it was hard to be much better against a dreadful Offaly side. Offaly’s gameplan appeared to be to try and get Vaughan and Whelan sent-off: every time either of them kicked a point or wide or won a free they were hit in the back. All well and good but it’s useless if you only have one player who shows up.

A special mention for Collie Moran who is out of his depth at half forward anyway.

therock67 wrote:

Didn’t think much of Michael Collins either in the Dublin-Offaly game. He decided from the start he was going to punish overcarrying and players not retreating after conceding frees and he turned the game into a bit of a joke. Some of the frees for overcarrying were nonsense and ruined the game because it just gave defenders an excuse to crowd and pull at the guy in possession, knowing they’d get the free.

Performance itself from Dublin was adequate but it was hard to be much better against a dreadful Offaly side. Offaly’s gameplan appeared to be to try and get Vaughan and Whelan sent-off: every time either of them kicked a point or wide or won a free they were hit in the back. All well and good but it’s useless if you only have one player who shows up.

A special mention for Collie Moran who is out of his depth at half forward anyway.

Have to agree with most of that. Collie Moran had a shocker of a game. The forward line of Dublin still lacking something. Quinn did nothing bar an early point. The ref was shocking I thought That yellow card for the Offaly guy pulling down the Dublin player(couldnt make him out) on top of him was shocking. I think Dublin conceded more than double the frees Offaly did.

I didn’t see the Dublin but with that idiot Michael Collins refereeing then I’m not surprised if he was over officious and just downright incompetent because that’s been his way for years. And still he’s there each and every summer. Huge win for Monaghan - they haven’t been to an Ulster Final in years.

I hate GAA but I did see a bit of the Dublin game today. Amatuer rubbish, the ref was a disgrace, laughable decisions. Offaly player pretty much punches a Dublin player in the face with the ref standing beside them and he does nothing about it. Joke

Bandage wrote:

Huge win for Monaghan - they haven’t been to an Ulster Final in years.

The gate receipts were robbed by a group of masked men after GAA official took them away from Casement at half time. Apparently a very large sum was taken. Looking forward to hearing Gay Mitchell’s views on it. N doubt he will keep an open mind as to who was involved. Only pity is that John O’Donoghue can’t speak on the matter.

Dublin: Colin Moran and Paul Casey are two terrible footballers. They are great athletes and will do a job for any team but they are very limited (especially in the kicking department). I know that Paul Casey is under strict instructions from Caffrey not to kick the ball unless he absolutely has to. I counted one kick pass from him over the two Meath games for example. A similar limitation will need to be imposed on Moran.

Dublin half forward line is very weak. Caffrey knows this and has the team almost bypassing them completely with long ball straight into 13, 14 and 15. Bernard Brogan is very eager with hops and solos. He seems to play the ball every three steps. His brother on the other hand does this thing where he really puts an emphasis on his bouncing of the ball, thus gaining a valuable extra step…surprised he hasn’t been called up on this before.

What is the story with Whelan? He seems to stick his fist into someone’s head in every single game he plays and gets away with it. A lot of trash talking from Whealan and the rest of the Dubs this year which is really annoying me.

I hear there is some amount of drug dealing going on in the Hill during the Dublin games. Anyone see that coin thrown at Michael Collins as he was booking McConnell and Ward? It looked like a coin to me anyway.

McStay managed to bring up the McHale sending off in the 1996 final during today’s commentary. Such a prick…he is ruining Sundays for me now at this stage. I am thinking of starting a campaign to get this clown removed from RTE’s panel.

you hear from the sunday world about drug dealing-?
Collins was terrible -
bad game but had 2 funny biffos beside me which made it entertaining
Pitch invasion a disgrace in limerick
bad week for midlands football with both offaly & leitrim losing
Monaghan are Liam Hayes tip for Ulster - piossed off i didnt back them

humbug wrote:

Dublin: Colin Moran and Paul Casey are two terrible footballers. They are great athletes and will do a job for any team but they are very limited (especially in the kicking department). I know that Paul Casey is under strict instructions from Caffrey not to kick the ball unless he absolutely has to. I counted one kick pass from him over the two Meath games for example. A similar limitation will need to be imposed on Moran.

Dublin half forward line is very weak. Caffrey knows this and has the team almost bypassing them completely with long ball straight into 13, 14 and 15. Bernard Brogan is very eager with hops and solos. He seems to play the ball every three steps. His brother on the other hand does this thing where he really puts an emphasis on his bouncing of the ball, thus gaining a valuable extra step…surprised he hasn’t been called up on this before.

What is the story with Whelan? He seems to stick his fist into someone’s head in every single game he plays and gets away with it. A lot of trash talking from Whealan and the rest of the Dubs this year which is really annoying me.

I hear there is some amount of drug dealing going on in the Hill during the Dublin games. Anyone see that coin thrown at Michael Collins as he was booking McConnell and Ward? It looked like a coin to me anyway.

McStay managed to bring up the McHale sending off in the 1996 final during today’s commentary. Such a prick…he is ruining Sundays for me now at this stage. I am thinking of starting a campaign to get this clown removed from RTE’s panel.

Neither Casey nor Moran can kick the ball but at least Casey is in a position where it’s not as obvious because he can break forward with the ball and lay it off. Moran just has to run at goal. Coupled with Ryan’s ineptitude at kicking (though he’s one of Dublin’s best players) that’s a lot of guys who have to rely on the hand pass.

Whelan did nothing yesterday - he was getting thumped after every stoppage and all he did was shrug a guy away. Every other player in the match got 13 yards when there was a delay in taking a free but this time the ref decided to throw the ball up. If he was consistent then there wouldn’t have been a problem but Offaly were clearly trying to wind up both Whelan and Vaughan and the officials (and commentators) should have copped onto this. Complaining about Whelan after yesterday is nonsense.

I saw something thrown at Collins alright when he was booking the two lads. I thought it was too big and white to be a coin but it might have been - no idea really what it was. There’s a load of messing on the Hill alright.

humbug wrote:

I don’t use the word lightly but I hate Kevin McStay and his smug attitude. I’m well up for helping out in this campaign in any way possible.

I also hate Paul Casey for a number of reasons and I’m surprised he’s still in their side after the way Stephen Bray destroyed him the last day.

I didn’t see the game yesterday but I heard mixed reports about which team was more to blame for the dragging, digging, ‘trash-talking’. A few lads were adamant Whelan was targeted but others were saying he was acting the prick himself.

On the trash-talking it’s noticeable that Dublin are doing this way more this year. Are they trying to convince themselves that they’re double hard bastards or what? Keaney was at in both games against Meath - running up and screaming in lads’ faces after pointing - and would have lost all his teeth and a few organs if he’d have ever tried to do similar to Mick Lyons back in the day. Shane Ryan, who’s having an excellent season, is at it too as is Bryan Cullen which is unfortunate as I always liked him as a footballer.

I just hope Laois get right stuck into them in the final.

Whelan is guilty of slightly more than mere “shrugging”. He seems to be sticking a clenched fist into opposition faces as much as he can. He’s not really punching but I think a rule needs to be introduced whereby you get an automatic yellow card if you have your hand in someone’s face. There is a similar rule in hurling, I think, if you interfere in anyway with someone’s headgear. Geraghty is at this crack all the time as well…

Bandage wrote:

humbug wrote:

[quote]Dublin: Colin Moran and Paul Casey are two terrible footballers. They are great athletes and will do a job for any team but they are very limited (especially in the kicking department). I know that Paul Casey is under strict instructions from Caffrey not to kick the ball unless he absolutely has to. I counted one kick pass from him over the two Meath games for example. A similar limitation will need to be imposed on Moran.

I don’t use the word lightly but I hate Kevin McStay and his smug attitude. I’m well up for helping out in this campaign in any way possible.

I also hate Paul Casey for a number of reasons and I’m surprised he’s still in their side after the way Stephen Bray destroyed him the last day.

I didn’t see the game yesterday but I heard mixed reports about which team was more to blame for the dragging, digging, ‘trash-talking’. A few lads were adamant Whelan was targeted but others were saying he was acting the prick himself.

On the trash-talking it’s noticeable that Dublin are doing this way more this year. Are they trying to convince themselves that they’re double hard bastards or what? Keaney was at in both games against Meath - running up and screaming in lads’ faces after pointing - and would have lost all his teeth and a few organs if he’d have ever tried to do similar to Mick Lyons back in the day. Shane Ryan, who’s having an excellent season, is at it too as is Bryan Cullen which is unfortunate as I always liked him as a footballer.

I just hope Laois get right stuck into them in the final.[/quote]

Keaney celebrated that point like that because McKeigue had screamed in his face earlier when a free out was given against him.

humbug wrote:

Whelan is guilty of slightly more than mere “shrugging”. He seems to be sticking a clenched fist into opposition faces as much as he can. He’s not really punching but I think a rule needs to be introduced whereby you get an automatic yellow card if you have your hand in someone’s face. There is a similar rule in hurling, I think, if you interfere in anyway with someone’s headgear. Geraghty is at this crack all the time as well…

I don’t deny that Whelan acts the prick sometimes on the pitch but on Sunday he was targeted from the very start with hits in the back off the ball and when play was stopped. He did nothing other than what the Offaly guys were doing all day which was pushing guys away so he could take a quick free. There are times when criticising his actions might be justitified - Sunday was not one of those. Offaly couldn’t match him so they set out to try and get him and Vaughan sent off. Why no criticism for them? 3 times on tv even you could see Vaughan getting hit in the back. Nobody mentioned it.