Liam Rushe, Johnny McCaffrey, Paul Ryan, Dotsy O Callaghan spring to mind
I’ll give you 3/4. Rushe is exceptional
hes exceptional at catching the ball from centre back. thats all he can do, his touch and striking are hopeless, the catching makes him look better. the game two years ago against kk in portlaoise when he was played up the field made him look junior standard. he can read it when its happening directly in front of him, make him turn or force him to hurl and hes fucked. just watch him.
Rushe was exceptionally poor in a recent challenge I saw v Clare, Kelly scored 0-5/6 he was no where. definitely doesn’t like to be taken for a “walk”
[QUOTE=“Lazarus, post: 960641, member: 286”]*solid at the back
*KK over-rated
*Joe and David Burke will have their game faces on
*Conor Cooney will make absolute shite of Jackie Tyrrell
*Mannion or Flynn or maybe both will be having their introduction party
*Thou shall not pass the Turlock Burkes
*Paraic Brehoney is a Hurling God
*Played KK twice this year, getting much closer the 2nd time, we have the barrel-faced
cunts right where we want them
*Best keeper in the land
*The Galway hurlers are a nice bunch of lads[/QUOTE]
They’ve played three times this year- probably our time has run out now. The maroon wall will blitz us-
I fear Galway
Name one centre back that does.
[SIZE=4]2 exclusive quotes from Hoganstand…[/SIZE]
It would go someway to explaining Cannings forlorn disposition against Laois.
“Lads we will not win players fighting among each other again… apparently its not a happy camp again this year heard from a very reliable source”
“Heard they were on a training camp the weekend, was a pure disorganised mess…”
Liam Rushe is overrated? Fuck off.
I’ve never heard anyonr say Johnny McCaffrey was a top class hurler.
Brendan Maher, Conor Ryan also very comfortable playing MF/CF. Chris Joyce has no issued re moving across the park
There’s 3
Brick walsh was also very comfortable out of position, less so now
[QUOTE=“Kid Chocolate, post: 960727, member: 553”]Brendan Maher, Conor Ryan also very comfortable playing MF/CF. Chris Joyce has no issued re moving across the park
There’s 3[/QUOTE]
Maher sits deep in front of his full back line, he’s mobile and could could move, but doesn’t. Ryan has the luxury of Donnellan as a sweeper most of the time. Joyce is no longer even a centre back and was arguably the weakest centre back in last years championship.
Basically a wandering centre forward will cause problems for any 6. Unless a man marker has been assigned, or a sweeper is in place, a 6 following his nominated marker around the park leaves the centre of defence wide open (obviously). The observation that any centre back “doesn’t like to be taken on a walk” is so obvious it’s plain dumb.
Bre[QUOTE=“glasagusban, post: 960739, member: 1533”]Maher sits deep in front of his full back line, he’s mobile and could could move, but doesn’t. Ryan has the luxury of Donnellan as a sweeper most of the time. Joyce is no longer even a centre back and was arguably the weakest centre back in last years championship.
Basically a wandering centre forward will cause problems for any 6. Unless a man marker has been assigned, or a sweeper is in place, a 6 following his nominated marker around the park leaves the centre of defence wide open (obviously). The observation that any centre back “doesn’t like to be taken on a walk” is so obvious it’s plain dumb.[/QUOTE]
Maher doesn’t sit, you are thinking of Omahony! Maher sweeps all over the place and is very comfortable being moved about.
Ryan had no sweeper in front of him for the AI final an was voted MoTm while also storming forward to score and covered massive ground all over the park. Same in replay, he had no sweeper in front of him.
Joyce is not a good striker but is very comfortable being moved about, which was the specific question you asked.
Brick Walsh dominates wherever he’s dragged.
Wayne Mac never knows where he is, so position doesn’t really matter in that situation and in any case he’s not effective and mostly a danger to himself
[QUOTE=“Kid Chocolate, post: 960768, member: 553”]Bre
Maher doesn’t sit, you are thinking of Omahony! Maher sweeps all over the place and is very comfortable being moved about.
Ryan had no sweeper in front of him for the AI final an was voted MoTm while also storming forward to score and covered massive ground all over the park. Same in replay, he had no sweeper in front of him.
Joyce is not a good striker but is very comfortable being moved about, which was the specific question you asked.
Brick Walsh dominates wherever he’s dragged.
Wayne Mac never knows where he is, so position doesn’t really matter in that situation and in any case he’s not effective and mostly a danger to himself[/QUOTE]
Ryan did a man-marking job on Harnedy for the entire first game at left half back. I can’t remember what happened in the replay.
yes he did, and Harnedy isn’t what you’d call a "stand under it " no 11 , he goes all over the place
Well my point was that Ryan played left half back and Pat O’Connor actually played centre back. As the soon to no longer be @chewy louie said elsewhere, it’ll be interesting to see if Clare go with specific defensive match-ups again and have the same players tracking Cork forwards even when they move around.
[QUOTE=“Lazarus, post: 960641, member: 286”]*solid at the back
*KK over-rated
*Joe and David Burke will have their game faces on
*Conor Cooney will make absolute shite of Jackie Tyrrell
*Mannion or Flynn or maybe both will be having their introduction party
*Thou shall not pass the Turlock Burkes
*Paraic Brehoney is a Hurling God
*Played KK twice this year, getting much closer the 2nd time, we have the barrel-faced cunts right where we want them
*Best keeper in the land
*The Galway hurlers are a nice bunch of lads[/QUOTE]
o_O
[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 960674, member: 686”][SIZE=4]2 exclusive quotes from Hoganstand…[/SIZE]
It would go someway to explaining Cannings forlorn disposition against Laois.
“Lads we will not win players fighting among each other again… apparently its not a happy camp again this year heard from a very reliable source”
“Heard they were on a training camp the weekend, was a pure disorganised mess…”[/QUOTE]
:(:mad:
[QUOTE=“Turenne, post: 960678, member: 232”]Liam Rushe is overrated? Fuck off.
I’ve never heard anyonr say Johnny McCaffrey was a top class hurler.[/QUOTE]
Name dublins top class hurlers so
Most of the Dublin team are top class hurlers as these things go.
They are in their fuck.