remember ger henderson in '87 rubbing his blood soaked hand all over Joe Cooney, it looked like they were both battle of the somme victims after ~15mins. Henderson definitely spooked him. Then inside in the corner harry ryan decided he wanted his own game with Sylvie Linnane, even Sylvie seemed surprised but took to it pretty well after a few minutes
This morning on Morning Ireland they were down in Tullaroan for a report about Tommy Walsh and hurling in general. The piece ended up with the reporter asking Tommyās 8 year old cousin a few questions.
Reporter: What do you think of your cousin Tommy?
Youngfella: Grand
Reporter: Do you think that heās a great player?
Youngfella: Yeah
Reporter: What do you want to do when you grow up?
Youngfella: Hurl
Brought a tear of pride to this listeners eye, the futures bright for us. Jaysus we might even take these Matties on Sunday!!!
'Mon Kilkenny, 'mon Tommy bouy, throw it inta dāMatties booooooooouuuuuuuuuuuuyyyyyyyyyyyy! 'MONDLOCKES BOUY!
Great to hear locke has moved away from 2fm for his sports reports, progress.
Definitley the same gene pool anyway
I got badly burnt by that bitch from 2fm MBB, badly burnt I tells ya
Fennelly is a massive factor. Thereās just no way Galway are going to dominate the Kilkenny puckout in the manner of the Leinster final and without that platform the game is completely different.
If you were making a case for Galway youād probably look to the physicality they displayed in general play in that game and how capable they looked of matching Kilkenny in the tackling stakes. Similarly their movement and distribution befuddled the Kilkenny backs and they created a huge amount of chances in different areas in the first half. If they can somehow get a grip at the back they might well be able to create a sufficient portion of those chances again.
The worry is at the back though. Kilkenny got two goals playing badly in the second half of the Leinster final. If theyāre winning a regular supply of primary ball in the half-forward line and turning the Galway backs on their heels it remains to be seen if those backs can cope. Thatās before you even talk about Skehill, and given Galwayās luck with goalkeepers thereās a strong possibility of a meltdown there as well.
It didnāt rain in that high scoring game in '03 (at least I think it was '03), when Tennyson was destroyed by some Hayes or Healy lad and Ger Farragher ran amuck.
Thanks chewy
Do the KK lads here know what the half-forward line is going to be? TJ was dominated by Regan in the early exchanges of the earlier game this year. Donohue gave Shefflin very little, and nothing at all came down the other flank. The match-ups were crucial for Galway in the Leinster final and they will be again. If their backs could do as well in the 50-50 exchanges again itād give them a lot of confidence.
As I said before I would think that TJ will be in midfield so the half forward line could be named as
10. The King
11. Larkin
12. Hogan
then full forward line of
13. Fennelly
14. Power
15. Taggy
Iād hazard a guess at Reid - Power - Larkin. Donāt think Shefflin will be near there. Larkin will interchange with Fennelly & Fogarty Iād guess.
I donāt think Richie Hogan will start.
Who comes in for Rice?
It pissed rain all morning and up to the start of the match in 2005.
I think you take trivia to far sometimes Sydneyā¦
Galway to win by two points.
High scoring game, Joe Canning to be installed as the greatest individual hurler of our time
(Henry is differen;t and cannot be categorised
Buckley
I must say, itās the worst build up to an All Ireland I can remember. Hardly any buzz about it at all.
Well, I got that wrong.
KK Team
[font=arial][size=4]1. David Herity [/size][/font]
[font=arial][size=4]2. Paul Murphy [/size][/font]
[font=arial][size=4]3. JJ Delaney[/size][/font]
[font=arial][size=4]4. Jackie Tyrrell [/size][/font]
[font=arial][size=4]5. Tommy Walsh [/size][/font]
[font=arial][size=4]6. Brian Hogan [/size][/font]
[font=arial][size=4]7. Kieran Joyce [/size][/font]
[font=arial][size=4]8. Michael Fennelly [/size][/font]
[font=arial][size=4]9. Richie Hogan [/size][/font]
[font=arial][size=4]10. Henry Shefflin [/size][/font]