He totally influenced Diarmaid Kirwan before at half time during a KK Galway game a few years back. Kirwan later played with KK in the final 2 years back. If he gets the replay Galway should be worried. he was linesman yesterday so must be in with a shout
[quote=âKIB man, post: 705200â]He totally influenced Diarmaid Kirwan before at half time during a KK Galway game a few years back. Kirwan later played with KK in the final 2 years back.
Kirwan gave more frees to Tipp than KK that day.
Watched it there in full last night as i was stuck in work yesterday.
Cody looked seriosuly rattled allright at the time the free was given walking up behind the linesman and Cunningham shouting stuff in their ears.
Who was the other forelock tugger with the pot belly and the glasses he was using as a cheerleader at the time? it reminded me of The Field with The Bird following the Bull Macabe into the local pub as Macabe tried to ensure proceedings ran according to his wishes.
Cody is a bully , id say he models himseld on a Catholic bishop back in some diocese in the 50âs who when he barked his orders the members of the congregation would just meekly fall silent and nervously shuffle their feet without making eye contact as he read them his tirade. The KK team, most referees and all their supporters play the role of that nervous congregation today and this is what Cody is used to and what he thrives on, he knows his team and the county in general are nothing without him and this almost Godlike sense of totalitarianism has gone to his head.[/quote]
We can not forget he is good mates with Mickey Harte. Opus Dei members no doubt.
Tense close game, but not great on quality. Was a decent fare, and in fairness, the second half, for me anyway, flew by. Shefflin for all his plusses yesterday, looked to me like he has lost a lot of confidence. Spurning chances, passing simple goal chances heâd have buried a few years ago. Not sure if he will be back again after this year.
Galway for the most part had KK tactically rattled. Tommy Walsh in at full back on Donnelan, he hadnt a clue where to go or what to do. Kept looking over to the line and was getting nothing back. Only lucky it wasnt exploited more. Same for leaving Hogan on Tannion. The difference in height should have been used more on puck outs, it wasnt aimed to Tannion enough of times. Great goal by Canning, took a heap of steps though, but he was been given advantage. It seems to be the case nowadays that if you are being fouled or pulled back, you can take as many steps as you want.
Galways tactics though for the middle to end of the second half were atrocious, it was like the backs and forwards werent in sync at all. The forwards were all pulled back really deep, but yet the defenders were launching balls up to the KK half back line, with no one next or near them to challenge for it.
Should be a good replay. Again, cant really call it, didnt really learn anything new from yesterday. If Galway can play a full 70 minutes, they should win it, but if KK can combat their roving forward line and rotation of players, then that will see them through. But which of them will get it right on the day? Iâd probably go with KK again, just.
a lot of KK big names mis-fired, Larkin, Fennellyx2, Walsh and especially Richie PowerâŚ3 week gap should help them more, were it next weekend you would have to feel it would be adv Galway wrt their obvious edge in youth, hunger and fresher legs
Good game yesterday, decent atmosphere at it. I missed all the Cody stuff so I must have a look at it.
Iâm too hungover to go into any in depth analysis but it was a game of backs, with only Shefflin & Reid for KK and Canning and Burke for Galway making any impact.
Murphy was super in corner back a great defender. Tannion was good in midfield for Galway.
Good: We got out of Jail. Paul Murphy, Brian Hogan & the King
Bad: Power, Hogan, C Fennelly
Ugly: All the nerves from both sides.
Wreaked tired so no long analysis. Have only seen the Sunday so canât comment too much yet. Shite tickets didnât help. Just happy to still be in it.
Galway threw that away yesterday with scratch the head tactics. They were fitter, faster and first to the ball when they hurled man for man in the first half. Its amazing how things are reported in Ireland. Anthony Cunninghm is regarded as some sort of tactical genius because he essentially copied the game plan he had at Garrycastle, one that Mick Dempsey & Brian Cody perfected in 2006. If Davy Fitz had left 2 men up front yesterday and hit aimless ball after aimless ball into Paul Murphy or Brian Hogan heâd have been lambasted, but that is exactly what a dominant team did yesterday⌠They didnât deserve the draw in the end as they didnât go for it. Only for 2 KK lads going for the same ball they would have been well beaten and nothing would have been said to Cunningham for his crazy tactic.
I tipped Galway all along as I genuinely believe this KK team are living on reputation and I still think theyâll win the replay but god almighty please fcukin play your forwards up front !
just watched it back there. Canning had the ball in his hand once from open play in the second half. It wasnt as if his marker Delaney had a great second half either. At one stage he got hooked in the second half and hit the ball along the ground out of play like a junior b full back might do. Canning failing to turn up for the second half was a huge problem for Galway.
The occasion was too much for Damien Hayes also. Anonymous in the extreme. The decision to take off Niall Burke, a complete brainfart from the management. Definitely the wrong Burke went off. When watching it live I thought Shefflin had been superb in the second half but watching it back he didnt have as big an impact as I thought. One great point from play but the rest were frees. Along with the penalty had two fairly handy point chances to win it too, that he missed.
MoTM was between Murphy and Tannian.
Someone else mentioned that the other 4 or 5 counties that play hurling will be encouraged by the final yesterday. Id agree with that. KK are far from the team they were. Their forward line apart from Shefflin and TJ Reid malfunctioned fairly badly. Richie Power looks a shadow of the player he was and Larkin hasnt much left in the legs either.
Brian Hogan was abysmal in the first half. Anything good Galway put together came through the middle. But he certainly improved after the break.
The quality of the game didnt improve watching it second time around. A shoot out between two free takers essentially. Dont think Canning took too many steps and Iâve watched the replay a few times. Certainly not the 10 steps or so some lads are on about.
watching it live I thought he had, only saw a replay this morning, and hadnt noticed the tap of the ball off the hurl, so it didnt look like he took too many steps there at all.
Yea, I dont know where that 10 steps thing came out of, seemed a perfectly legit goal. Thought that statement a bit bizarre tbh.
The empire has been showing signs of weakness for a while now, no shame in that, all empires fall. Iâd say Cody and Shefflin really want to get out with a win in this one. Dobt think it will happen.
They donât look like they can cope with the pace of the Galway backs. Theyâre just excellent markers. Never do you see a Kilkenny player get a ball in an ocean of space like you do in a lot of their other games. The Galway backs are quick enough to get to the ball with them and skillful enough to break it to their advantage. That really stood out in the Leinster final and the fact that theyâve done it twice suggests thereâs a big problem there that Kilkenny might not be able to fix.
[font=Verdana] The GAA is happy to confirm the following ticket reductions for the 2012 GAA Hurling final replay between Galway and Kilkenny at Croke Park on September 30; Stand âŹ50 (down from âŹ80) and Terrace âŹ25 (down from âŹ40).[/font]
[font=Verdana] The GAA will also make available childrenâs tickets costing âŹ10 in the usual designated areas within the stadium and expect to sell in excess of 5,000 of these tickets.[/font]
[font=Verdana] The Association can also confirm that the replay date for the hurling final was part of its fixtures master-plan that was finalised last December.[/font]
[font=Verdana] The minor final replay meeting of Dublin and Tipperary will also take place on the same day as the senior replay and throw-in times will be the same as yesterday â minor 1.15 and senior 3.30.[/font]
[font=Verdana] Match officials for both fixtures will be confirmed in due course.[/font]
I have only seen the game live because I came home and watched NFL from 6pm until about 1am.
I just have a few points to make and apologies if people have already made them.[list=1]
[]Kilkenny were surprisingly nervous out the gate. A lot of topped striking. One point given straight to Joe. Also a quick puck out after the first goal hit straight to a Galway man. Lucky to get it back.
[]Richie Powerâs disputed point early in the second half was wide. I was right behind it in the Cusack.
[]I was fine with Henry going for point with the penalty. Take the lead when it is there to be taken. You only need to win by one. We were 20 seconds from it being a masterstroke.
[]The whole Kilkenny comeback came from Henry pushing the pace of the game at the end of the first half. Henry was as good as I have even seen him play yesterday. For the love of God start him 11 in the final and leave him there.
[]I just didnât get the big man small man dynamic at midfield. Hogan on Tannion. Fennelly on Smith. It worked totally in Galwayâs favour. Next day go like for like. Push Fennelly onto Tannion.
[]Both teamâs distribution was criminal at times. I know lads are tense and want to just get rid of the ball but when you have the space take a second and find an area to put the ball into that gives your man the best chance of winning the ball.
[]2 thing made a massive difference. The EXCELLENT save by Skehill from Fennelly and the defensive error by Kilkenny for the goal. Thatâs a huge swing. The Galway goal was a haymaker from a desperate boxer on the ropes. If a Kilkenny player calls that ball I donât see how Kilkenny wouldnât be champions now. Again it was Shefflin who made the Kilkenny goal chance.
[]This is the first time that Kilkenny have failed to score a goal in a championship match in 5 years. 2007 semi-final vs Wexford.
[]Tyrrell was stupid to engage with Glennon. He should have backed off a tad put his hands out to show the ref he has no intention of pulling him and forced him to shoot or pass. Barry Kelly should have been aware that the player would try draw a free but it all happens so quickly itâs very hard to criticise. Looks like a massive dive though and itâs coming into the game more and more which is sad to see.
[]Barry Kellyâs refereeing style bugs the shit out of me. [Whistle] [Little Jog to the spot of the foul] Is everyone looking at me? Good, now Iâll point in the direction of who got the free. There were multiple occasions where the crowd had no idea which way the free was going. He got a lot right but he got some important stuff wrong.
[]Should the Colin Fennelly save, goalie dives on ball, hurl thrown chaos been a penalty for Kilkenny for the thrown hurl? Any rules scholars here have an opinion?
[]Kilkenny will be bookies favourites for the replay but it will be 50/50. I was confident going in yesterday but Kilkenny looked jaded at times.
[/list]
Canning definitely took 10 steps after collecting the ball first.
Then put it on the hurl and back to the hand before taking 3/4 steps and burying it. Iâve seen it a few times now.
OâGrady make a great point today when he said the presence of JJ and Fennelly yesterday was going to constitute a major difference between this game and the Leinster final, but both of them were beaten. A huge event in itself. He referred to Galwayâs distribution as well and that it spoiled a lot of their outstanding defensive work.
Really the question for Galway is how do they feed David Burke and Damien Hayes more often instead of just launching it long all the time. Their scoring return needs to better reflect the amount of ball they are winning at the back.
Cld is right about Burkeâs goal as well, it was a massive break that came exactly when it needed to. Fair play to Cyril Donnellan, it was a testing ball but it still had a fair whack of good fortune about it. Kilkenny were on their way to winning that game by 4 or 5 before that particular twist, with or without goals of their own.
And on that point, Skehillâs save was excellent but it was a terrible miss from Fennelly. I think Shefflin did exactly the right thing but Fennelly telegraphed where he was putting it, hit it at the right height for the goalkeeper, and hit it very centrally. With the acclaim thatâs been heaped on him this year youâd have expected better.
Based on the chances they got yesterday youâd think thereâs a goal or two in them for the replay, and if there is then 15 scores will surely not be enough for Galway.
there were two blatant dives by KK players yesterday in the second half. Power just after half time and Tyrrell coming out with the ball around midfield. Shefflin pointed both frees.
Ref also missed two hurl throwing incidents. The second of which should have resulted in Coen getting a second yellow. Paul Murphy threw a hurl at Burkeâs goal shot also.
What was your view of the tactics employed by Cody? Surely Buckley should have been introduced?
My only worry for Galway before the game was that when they were in a winning position against Cork in the semi final, they kind of fell over the line. Pat Croninâs goal chance could well have changed everything. That was kind of written off in the build up to the final and seen as a positive to dampen down expectation. After Niall Burkeâs point just after half time, it was there for Galway to drive on for victory but they crumbled particularly up front and on the sideline. There was a fear of winning that seemed to paralyse them. KK just kept on tacking on frees from Shefflin to get them back into it and bar a disaster of an error from Tyrrell would have gone on to win comfortably.