They all take it a bit too seriously anytime we lose a match half of them go into a spiral of depression.
It was hilarious the time it was closed down for a few weeks after someone made claims about missing
gate receipts from club games and the guards investigated it.
Iano and Laz rule the place with iron fists never afraid to hand out internet beatings.
I must go back over and see if I’m still on a warning, the admin doesnt like strong language in front of the kids
Jesus, a bit early this year, but here we have it, Locke’s annual “sure we haven’t a hope in the final” post. Good man Locke, you’re nothing if not consistent
Any of ye hear Codys interview with Brian Darcy on Radio 1 today…? Didnt hear it myself but the lads on Galway Bay FM reckon he more or less told Barry Kelly how he’d like the game reffed!
The mind games begin.
[quote=“Kinvara, post: 704563”]
Yep. More or less laid down the law to Barry Kelly about what wants from him in the final.
Ripped the anus out of Tipp, all the dirt in the semi final was their fault apparently.
[quote=“Kinvara, post: 704563”]
Father Brian Darcy?
Sorry mate, the other galoot Brian Carthy…
The Faustino V is kicking in obviously.
Just secured my ticket for the 9th Of Sept
:guns: http://cp12-eu.stablehost.com/~thefreek/board/public/style_emoticons/default/2guns.gif http://cp12-eu.stablehost.com/~thefreek/board/public/style_emoticons/default/pint.gif
Tickets secured also. If it’s near as good as last three finals I’ll be happy.
By the way, the last team to beat Kilkenny in successive Championship matches was Wexford in 96/97.
That stat to be broken by Galway?
[font=tahoma][size=3][font=Verdana]I’ve been assessing things and I think there’s 12 key points required for Galway to win this game.[/font][/size][/font]
[font=tahoma][size=3][font=Verdana]1. Donnellan and in particular Tannion to maintain and even improve upon their current levels of form. A letup from either in this regard and they’re goosed. They also need Cyril to be as accurate as he was the Leinster Final day and have the likes of Andy Smith chip in with 2 or 3 points.[/font][/size][/font]
[font=tahoma][size=3][font=Verdana]2. Joe to have a big day.[/font][/size][/font]
[font=tahoma][size=3][font=Verdana]3. A great display from Skehill with no mistakes, stupid or otherwise.[/font][/size][/font]
[font=tahoma][size=3][font=Verdana]4. Younger lads, like Niall Burke, Donoghue, Cooney etc to get stuck in from the off and not display the slightest hint of allowing the game to pass them by.[/font][/size][/font]
[font=tahoma][size=3][font=Verdana]5. High tempo game with their lads using their pace to their adavantage with the likes of Hayes and David Burke setting the tone here.[/font][/size][/font]
[font=tahoma][size=3][font=Verdana]6. Faultless fully focused 70 minutes from their full back line. Be as cynical as ye like lads. You know sure as hell Kilkenny are gonna be.[/font][/size][/font]
[font=tahoma][size=3][font=Verdana]7. A sober and eagle eyed display from the officials. Sober in the sense that their vision isn’t impaired by the bright light from all the Kilkenny stars (granted this one is out of Galway’s hands).[/font][/size][/font]
[font=tahoma][size=3][font=Verdana]8. Quick and quality distribution from their half back line with again the likes of Hayes and David Burke coming deep so they have support in offloading the ball when Kilkenny apply their swarming tactics.[/font][/size][/font]
[font=tahoma][size=3][font=Verdana]9. An intelligent and proactive showing from their management team. We must assume they will have done all they can to have their lads 100% tuned in for this game. Their approach from the sideline during the heat of battle will go a long way to ensuring that is not lost on them on the day.[/font][/size][/font]
[font=tahoma][size=3][font=Verdana]10. Goals. They will not beat Kilkenny unless they get some of these. I have full confidence that they can.[/font][/size][/font]
[font=tahoma][size=3][font=Verdana]11. A bit of luck. Y’all know what they say about luck.[/font][/size][/font]
[font=tahoma][size=3][font=Verdana]12. A full 70+ minute consummate team performance with no one looking anywhere near the scoreboard until after the final whistle. This is imperative whether they concede a goal or two in quick succession or even manage to score one or two themselves, play on regardless and play hard and be aggressive no matter what the scoreline.[/font][/size][/font]
[font=tahoma][size=3][font=Verdana]As you can see some of these are quite obvious and some the minimum you’d expect from a county team but they are playing Kilkenny and that means even the simplest things can prove quite difficult as their league performance against them already this season reflect.[/font][/size][/font]
[font=tahoma][size=3][font=Verdana]Kilkenny will certainly not be complacent and are probably the greatest team ever but there were signs during the year that one or two of their stalwarts were finding the going a bit tougher than perhaps they were used to, Tommy Walsh for example has yet to reach the dizzy heights this year we’ve become accustomed to albeit he’s clearly a man for the big day. Shefflin too looked rusty at times and I’m far from convinced he’s the player he was 3 years ago. He might not need to be of course to beat Galway but in no way whatsoever should they fear this Kilkenny side in the slightest, no team is ever invincible.[/font][/size][/font]
[font=tahoma][size=3][font=Verdana]If they bring their ‘A’ game they have a chance here, otherwise forget it. When they have been good this year they’ve been very good and if they can replicate or please God even manage to improve on that come Sunday they have the talent to exploit any potential signs of wear and tear on this Kilkenny team and carve out a result that could surprise an awful lot of people.[/font][/size][/font]
[font=tahoma][size=3][font=Verdana]Gaillimh Abú.[/font][/size][/font]
Bandage, cutting edge original thoughts as always.
I love it. Cyril used it to great effect last night aswell.
The first 10 minutes of this game is going to be absolute hurling warfare. This is the period where we landed the knockout punches in the Leinster final and KK will refuse to let this happen again.
The middle third of the field will be packed and it will ultimately come down to who wants the sliotar more. I assume Galway will go with their batting style game again which will leave an almighty battle for the ball at ground level.
I believe Galway can still better Kilkenny in this sector, The difficult bit however is trying to manufacture scores from this possession. Any of our forwards simply cant have an off day, if you strike you either find a guy in a better position or you take a score yourself. Because even with limited possession KK will still convert that possession into scores.
We are complete outsiders in the majority of predictions and the task is Everest like, however its September and we are still hurling and all expectations have been exceeded but… we’ll never have a better chance in closing that 24 year gap.
A few analysts reckon, Joyce will be given the job of sticking to Canning which would allow Delaney and Tyrell to mind the FB line.
Presume you’d get tickets handy enough on the day of the game around Croke Park?
No bother I’d say Dunph. In fact the biggest danger for some greed merchants is getting stuck with extra tickets on the day. A lads Sunday morning could be badly disrupted trying to offload tickets.
We have our 4 already. Usually takes much longer.
Should be plenty around.
Revenge factor, we have a fucking barrel full of revenge to sort out ourseleves with these fella’s… :guns: :guns: :guns:
- What Galway fan can ever forget this…
[i]Cody prowling the sideline barracking the referee and sideline officials as his team set about pulping Galway. Six Kilkenny players were cautioned in the first half alone and two significant incidents and images reflected the game; Fergal Moore running out of defence and having his helmet violently removed by a high tackle, and the sight of the Galway “hardman” Eugene Cloonan on all fours having received some special attention from his marker.
In another hugely critical incident in the first half Brian Cody found himself at the back of the Kilkenny goal remonstrating with the two officials. Galway had won a very scorable free and Eugene Cloonan stood over the sliotar. On noticing Cody the referee stopped the free taker and instructed Cody to move away from the goalmouth area. Cody slowly walked one way, then turned and walked back across the goal area in the other direction"
[/i]
[quote=“Kinvara, post: 704576”]http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF142/146554.jpg
Cody prowling the sideline barracking the referee and sideline officials as his team set about pulping Galway. Six Kilkenny players were cautioned in the first half alone and two significant incidents and images reflected the game; Fergal Moore running out of defence and having his helmet violently removed by a high tackle, and the sight of the Galway “hardman” Eugene Cloonan on all fours having received some special attention from his marker.
In another hugely critical incident in the first half Brian Cody found himself at the back of the Kilkenny goal remonstrating with the two officials. Galway had won a very scorable free and Eugene Cloonan stood over the sliotar. On noticing Cody the referee stopped the free taker and instructed Cody to move away from the goalmouth area. Cody slowly walked one way, then turned and walked back across the goal area in the other direction"
Wexford beating them in 2004 was the best thing that ever happened that KK team. Turned Cody into a completely different beast.
Post of the year
Have any bookies priced up the overs on this yet? I’d expect Otto be priced at 43 and if it is I will be plumping for over that total.